Customer Reviews for

The Outpost: An Untold Story of American Valor

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

I am the mother of Spc. Stephan L. Mace, KIA COP Keating, 10/3/0

I am the mother of Spc. Stephan L. Mace, KIA COP Keating, 10/3/09. Jake Tapper has done an outstanding job telling the story of COP Keating, and the soldiers who were deployed to that hellish nightmare. The book is written in a manner that everyone can understand it, ...
I am the mother of Spc. Stephan L. Mace, KIA COP Keating, 10/3/09. Jake Tapper has done an outstanding job telling the story of COP Keating, and the soldiers who were deployed to that hellish nightmare. The book is written in a manner that everyone can understand it, even if you don't have a military background. Jake Tapper has done what no other journalist has done since the war in Afghanistan started. He has told the truth the horrors of this war. I highly recommend this book to anybody who wants to understand what our military is going through while fighting to protect our country.

posted by spcmacesmom on November 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

refyfhrdgdhd

Xbdhhhrdyfefffhfhhhdffhdhdvgfhfhdffgfgfhfgfgfgfgdhfgdgfgfgfgfgdhhejdhehdgdgdhfgdgfhfhfffhhffhfhfbfhbfvfbhfbfbfbfbc c cbc ryerttreefeteeeegcdggfgffdfgchfffvdgxfhcbdvcvcvvxvdvdgchchxvxvgcvffhjwdvbcbfhrygeqbfbfbcgffeehfhrydewheggyrey

posted by Anonymous on December 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    I am the mother of Spc. Stephan L. Mace, KIA COP Keating, 10/3/0

    I am the mother of Spc. Stephan L. Mace, KIA COP Keating, 10/3/09. Jake Tapper has done an outstanding job telling the story of COP Keating, and the soldiers who were deployed to that hellish nightmare. The book is written in a manner that everyone can understand it, even if you don't have a military background. Jake Tapper has done what no other journalist has done since the war in Afghanistan started. He has told the truth the horrors of this war. I highly recommend this book to anybody who wants to understand what our military is going through while fighting to protect our country.

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    I served at Camp Keating for 15 months. Jake Tapper has done an

    I served at Camp Keating for 15 months. Jake Tapper has done an incredible job on The Outpost. This book is well-researched, well-written, and accurate. If you want to know what our Soldiers are experiencing while fighting in Afghanistan, read this book.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    If anyone is wondering why Afghanistan has become America's long

    If anyone is wondering why Afghanistan has become America's longest war - you need to read this book. The story is a microcosm of the struggling US military efforts to contain the Afghan insurgency while building up the local governments. This book also highlights the underlying flaw in US military strategy in Afghanistan - in that we're not fighting an 11 year war - we are fighting eleven 1 year wars.

    The Outpost is a true chronological tale of 4 US cavalry units rotating through the most dangerous corner of Afghanistan. As one of the soldiers who served at COP Keating, I can attest to this book's authenticity and accuracy. The focus is on a remote US cavalry outpost that was supposed to be a gateway for local reconstruction efforts. Instead, intensified enemy presence and Counter Insurgency plans fell apart resulting in an epic "last stand" battle in October, 2009, which essentially closed this corner of Afghanistan to US forces forever. The book has some useful commentary from the author, but generally the narrative is told through the eyes of the common rifle-wielding soldier, the battle hardened NCO, or the matter-of-fact company-grade officer - not from the perspective of NATO commanders or national security strategists. It's evident that the author's journalistic prowess, his research and interviews, amounted to a herculean effort to make sure this story was told right.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    Well researched book. By focusing on a particular place in Afgh

    Well researched book. By focusing on a particular place in Afghanistan over the span of several years and not just an individual unit or person, Jake Tapper is able to paint a better overall picture of the evolution of the war in a remote corner of the country. As a soldier who was there I can say that Jake tells our story well. The Outpost will introduce the reader to many fine heroes and leaders that we can never forget.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    With extensive research and interviewing more than 225 people, M

    With extensive research and interviewing more than 225 people, Mr. Jake Tapper does justice with a well written, very detailed book about Combat Outpost Keating and the stories of Soldiers (and family of the fallen Soldiers) who lived and died on this remote outpost. Details as LTC Fenty heard his daughter wailing while speaking to his wife; when President Bush announces a 3 month extension and it's effects, the horrifying reality of those Soldiers who thought they would be returning home alive to surviving another 3 months in hell; as CPT Stoney Portis accepts his path of death and makes peace knowing Allison will be taken care of to CPT Chris Cordova and his team of medics, Courville, Hobbs and Floyd performing a blood transfusion to keep Mace alive.

    The truth is, all these stories occurred from 2006-2009. I would hope this book broadens your knowledge of the reality of war, the reality of our Soldiers who go to war for our country. Whether your thoughts of this book and the Soldiers who have lived and lost sons and husbands is too mediocre, too average for your taste, the men and women of our military deserve respect and gratitude for all they sacrifice, for their stories to be heard, and Mr. Jake Tapper delivers just that.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Extremely well written story every American needs to read

    I found myself crying through much of this book but it's an important story every American needs to know. In our hurried life of sound bytes and twitter-length news highlights, many of us don't know what's really going on around the world with our military men and women every day. Jake Tapper takes the time to incorporate the history and culture of the area, the politics involved in the military decisions made, and issues ordinary men and women in uniform face daily just to stay alive. It is obvious Mr. Tapper did a tremendous amount of research while writing this and it was very appreciate by this reader that those involved and their families participated in making sure it was told accurately.

    My only disappointment was that I purchased this for my Nook instead of the hard copy book. There are many pictures and maps incorporated that didn't show up well on my Nook (original) and they are essential to understanding the geography, topography, and culture of the story. I just kept putting the book down and looking up maps online. It's the first book in a long time that made me want to learn as much as possible on a subject so kudos to the author!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Great Book, Heartbreaking Story

    I could not put this book down once I started reading. I deployed to Afghanistan in 2002 as a Ranger and spent most of my time in Assadabad so the book is very real to me. I can envision the terrain, sights, sounds, and feelings. I have a huge respect for these troops who sacrificed so much in what was clearly a much more dangerous area, during much longer deployments, and under very trying circumstances. It is frusturating to read about the loss and injury to some of these great soldiers in an outpost that was put in such a horrible location. This book gives me a much different perspective of what the war in Afghanistan was like in the years after I left the Army to civilian life. My thoughts go out to the families and friends of all the injured and fallen.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Somewhat difficult to get absorbed in for the first third of the

    Somewhat difficult to get absorbed in for the first third of the book. When I got to the point where I was absorbing all of the events, I have been unable to put the book down. While reading I have become filled with so much sorrow for all of the lives lost during the time COP Keating was in operation. It became obvious very quickly that Camp Keating should never have been there and should never have been substained. I have become so very angry at the military leaders and the politicians who made the decision. What a very sad, tragic waste of lives, and for what reason? This book has opened my eyes to more in Afghanistan than anything else I have read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    Jake Tapper went to extraordinary lengths to ensure he captured

    Jake Tapper went to extraordinary lengths to ensure he captured as much of this story as possible through the eyes of those of us who served there. In my humble opinion, his efforts to tell the entire story from initial build up to the events of 10/3/2009 have paid a great tribute to those who sacrificed so much. The American people need to read this book so that they can be better informed citizens; more aware of the challenges faced in fighting counter-insurgencies and better prepared to understand the experiences of their servicemen and women when they return home. You won't get this perspective by watching the news. Future military leaders need to read this book so that they can better avoid repeating the lessons of the past.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Very thorough history of Cop Keating and the men who lived and d

    Very thorough history of Cop Keating and the men who lived and died there. Cop Keating has come to symbolize much of what went wrong with the war in Afghanistan.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    Very well researched and very detailed. To most readers it may s

    Very well researched and very detailed. To most readers it may start out slow but these were real soldiers with real lives and stories that deserve to be told in full. It is also very harrowing at times and will really hit home with most readers who like myself never even heard of Camp Keating. Very well done.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    Well written book about the life of Soldiers in remote parts of

    Well written book about the life of Soldiers in remote parts of Afghanistan.  There are political undertones in some of what is written that do detract from the real story of the bravery of these Soldiers.  But, it is a good read. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Anyone who has ever served time in the military service has at times questioned the decisions made by their leaders. This book certainly raises those questions. Outpost Keating was judged by the lower ranks in the beginning of its establishment to be in a poor location for any outpost. Those doubts were certified as legitimate in the telling of this story. The disaster that struck this base did not have to happen. The bravery of our soldiers is not questioned...the question is why did it happen?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I have read a fair number of books on Afghanistan and I think this was the most well written of all. The author manages to lift the characters off the page and transform them into reality for the reader. That is no small feat when writing about actual events that occurred over a span of time covering numerous individuals. We have a tendency to view all soldiers as the same faceless hero, when in fact their stories and lives are richly diverse and deserve our attention.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    refyfhrdgdhd

    Xbdhhhrdyfefffhfhhhdffhdhdvgfhfhdffgfgfhfgfgfgfgdhfgdgfgfgfgfgdhhejdhehdgdgdhfgdgfhfhfffhhffhfhfbfhbfvfbhfbfbfbfbc c cbc ryerttreefeteeeegcdggfgffdfgchfffvdgxfhcbdvcvcvvxvdvdgchchxvxvgcvffhjwdvbcbfhrygeqbfbfbcgffeehfhrydewheggyrey

    2 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Poorly written

    The first third of the book bounces around a lot and does not flow well. Jake Tapper shows his true liberal colors by telling multiple stories of tragic accidents and deadly battles and then throwing in comments blaming George W. Bush and our military leadership. I should have known better than to expect much from a CNN reporter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    A must read

    It tells you what our guys are really up against.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Aspen

    Go to related titles first result at camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Good book

    I liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    an amazing book

    the best book i ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4