BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Outsider: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Jimmy Connors turned tennis into a rock star lifestyle with bad

Jimmy Connors turned tennis into a rock star lifestyle with bad boy antics galore. His story is unconventional and well told. Five stars.

posted by David_Bremmerton on May 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

As a tennis player from back in tennis' heyday, I was excited to

As a tennis player from back in tennis' heyday, I was excited to read Jimmy's story, but unfortunately I have found it somewhat disappointing.   Jimmy writes as he plays, with a chip on his shoulder which I have found tiring.  He has revealed some interesting facts, esp...
As a tennis player from back in tennis' heyday, I was excited to read Jimmy's story, but unfortunately I have found it somewhat disappointing.   Jimmy writes as he plays, with a chip on his shoulder which I have found tiring.  He has revealed some interesting facts, especially about his mom and grandmother, but it's his writing style that has made it a read that I have struggled to finish.   Sorry Jimmy, I enjoyed Agassi's better. I also believe it is better to kiss and NOT tell.

posted by kentuckynook on May 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Jimmy Connors turned tennis into a rock star lifestyle with bad

    Jimmy Connors turned tennis into a rock star lifestyle with bad boy antics galore. His story is unconventional and well told. Five stars.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Jimmy Connors's The Outsider is a fascinating look into the life

    Jimmy Connors's The Outsider is a fascinating look into the life of one of tennis's greatest heroes (or antihero in some cases). Connors is very honest and forthcoming about his personal life and professional life. The stories are all very interesting, particularly his relationship with his mother.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book. Two thumbs up.

    Loved this book. Two thumbs up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    Met Jimmy at the B&N book signing. It was a tthrill to meet

    Met Jimmy at the B&N book signing. It was a tthrill to meet an American icon with such a charasmatic personality. The book answers many questions and is a good read for any tennis fan, especially for us baby boomers. Glad to see Jimbo looking good!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Ilikeit

    Gy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    What made tennis popular

    If you love that era of tennis this a great look back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    I really enjoyed reading this book. Unlike a lot of other autob

    I really enjoyed reading this book. Unlike a lot of other autobiographies, Connors doesn't sugar coat his life story. I was a big fan of his in the 70's and 80's. and appreciated the insights into his values, family, and life on tour. I agree with his assertion that current tennis players don't understand how to entertain the crowd. I haven't been interested enough to watch a match in quite a while. The book was well-written and the content was balanced between personal and professional. I highly recommend it. I never took Agassi seriously, so I never had an interest in his autobiography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book and well worth the read! I've read just about every t

    Great book and well worth the read! I've read just about every tennis book there is and this is my new favorite! It's refreshingly honest and brings a full circle to anyone who was able to see Conners play tennis in his heyday. I certainly was never a Conners fan, though appreciated his fantastic run at his final US Open. It's surprisingly very well written and If there wasn't a "ghost writer", then I hope Conners gets credit for this masterpiece. This is in my opinion, which by the way, is unbiased and from one with a degree in journalism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Excellent read! Connors' take on tennis in the '70s and '80s is

    Excellent read! Connors' take on tennis in the '70s and '80s is just as I remember it - plenty of spirited play and outsized personalities. Today's tennis would surely benefit from even a fraction of the 'playing to the crowd' fun they had back then. Jimmy tells it like he saw it - and lived it. Very frank and entertaining book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    I saw Jimmy in the Tonight Show and I was interested in reading

    I saw Jimmy in the Tonight Show and I was interested in reading the book. I am glad I read the book. It got my T-2000 from storage. He changed the world of tennis and made it a sport for the common person instead of the country club folks. Thanks "Jimbo" for your contribution to the sport.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Great read - you should check it out.

    I loved this book. I found out a lot of interesting facts that I never
    knew about Jimmy Connors and pro tennis. The book was entertaining as well. The pictures were great. I plan on giving this book as a gift to a few of my friends as birthday gifts because I know they will enjoy it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Game, set, Matchless

    Jimmy, your book reads like your tennis; fast, inspired, and thoroughly entertaining. Believe it or not, I even raised my own confidence on the court after reading your book!! Thank you, and please come back to the game.





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Love this book. Great Read

    For an autobiograhy great read. Big Connors fan and really enjoyed this from first page. I could not finish the Aggasi one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    Very interesting story and definitely not a struggle to read. M

    Very interesting story and definitely not a struggle to read. Mr. Connors doesn't write like an author, but his writing style is what makes the book his. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1