Customer Reviews for

The Overnight Diet: The Proven Plan for Fast, Permanent Weight Loss

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The recipes are so good, and I can feel myself slimming down alr

The recipes are so good, and I can feel myself slimming down already. I got this as an ebook and I've already had my first smoothie with stuff I already had in the kitchen—spicy first date. After a trip to the grocery store, I'll be ready for my fuel-up week.

posted by sarahbethchris on April 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I'm skeptical

Does this actually work? All diet commercials have doctors that always say it works. But this one looks luke it mayyy work but IDK. Might be worth a shot.

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    All I can say it it really works.  I am losing weight and feelin

    All I can say it it really works.  I am losing weight and feeling healthier than I ever have.  Thank you Dr. Apovian for devoting 25 years to develop a diet that works

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    The recipes are so good, and I can feel myself slimming down alr

    The recipes are so good, and I can feel myself slimming down already. I got this as an ebook and I've already had my first smoothie with stuff I already had in the kitchen—spicy first date. After a trip to the grocery store, I'll be ready for my fuel-up week.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Like intermittent fasting only better! I tried intermittent fast

    Like intermittent fasting only better! I tried intermittent fasting but it was just too hard to do. I like that the 1-day smoothie day provides the benefits of intermittent fasting… without the hunger! And I love that on the other 6 days of the week, nothing is totally off-limits. It’s something I can see myself sticking with long-term.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I ordered this and another book that my bestie actually used for

    I ordered this and another book that my bestie actually used for my sister. I'm curious to see if it wil help her. She has all but given up. So I hope it works. 

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    I'm skeptical

    Does this actually work? All diet commercials have doctors that always say it works. But this one looks luke it mayyy work but IDK. Might be worth a shot.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Realistic

    Realistic approach and effective. already lost 8.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kristie Ingerto for Readers' Favorite The Overnight

    Reviewed by Kristie Ingerto for Readers' Favorite

    The Overnight Diet, by Caroline Apovian, MD, is an audio book that will hold the listener's attention from the very beginning to the end. This book begins by explaining the author's background and credentials; as well as the amount of research and testing that has taken place to validate this diet as a means of effectively losing weight, building muscle, and improving one's health overall. The concept behind this diet is simple: one day to jumpstart the fat loss and then the following six days are meant to fuel up and continue the weight loss, and build muscle. Then the cycle is repeated until the weight loss goal is reached. The diet is explained in clear and concise terms. 

    I popped in Caroline Apovian's audio book, The Overnight Diet, one morning on the way to work and my attention was immediately caught. I did not want to stop listening once I arrived at work. It is a very easy audio book to listen to as the voices are easily understood and it felt as if I was a part of a discussion instead of just listening. A lot of information is shared at first before the specifics of the diet are outlined, which is good as it validates this particular diet and it also kept me hooked on the book. I like that this diet is overall straight-forward and simple to follow and that it is presented in that manner as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    nothing new about dieting in this book

    I don't understand why this book was so controversial. I guess no one actually read it. It's not just about sleeping. It's about eating right and exercise as well.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    My story please read

    Im twelve years old and im 60 pounds over weight i cant buy any of the books and its embarresing to walk around in a school of skinny people im pre diabetic and im scared ive tried alot of things but not much of anything works im scared that i will get sick and i dont want that please help me i want to not be like this anymore please anyone just tell me anything that would be helpfull like a tip from the book or really anything i dont have any freinds to hang out with and i sit in the office at lunch to not be made fun of and no one talks to me please help someone.?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Good diet book in theory...

    Aside from touting her protein shakes which taste awful, it's a diet nog unlike so many others. Made me feel better knowing she's a physician.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of good advice & information but..

    I find a few things They said I would question - Like for example:

    Agave Nectar is NOT SOLD "natural"... it's processed and not that good for you.

    And in one of the chapters when it talks about the smoothies.
    They say "Everybody loves a Latte"... OMG it has Caffeine in it and NOT EVERY BODY LOVES CAFFEINE. And I am one of them I am sure out of MANY OF US!

    And it yet has gotten me any weight loss. And I have been on it for a week. ARG!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2