Customer Reviews for

The Pact

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    It was a good book

    It inspired me to do better and get good grades. Lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Mikayla

    I saw this movie in school and i wanted to read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Drop the price so i can get it!!!!!!!!

    its only five bucks at the store!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    It was ok but found the play much better

    It was awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    must to read

    very good, touchable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    My son will be entering middle school in the fall and has to complete two books from the reading list. We purchased two copies so that we could read it together and i'm so glad that we did!

    Both of us loved the bond that these three men developed over the years. The fact that they looked out for one and other is a powerful message that should be shared with all yougmen. This book is proof that young blackmen can acheive their dreams and help others along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    EYE OPENER ! !

    As another fellow High School student. I found this book incredibly motivational. If three kids for one of the toughest neighborhoods in their city, can make it out to be successful doctors and lawyers. Why? cant I or even other students that are blessed enough to have wonderful life¿s. <BR/>From my point of view. George, Sam & Rameck has one very unbreakable friendship. They stuck with each other through thick & thin. Through drugs, sex, money & gangs. That¿s something very rare to find these days. Lastly, after reading this book cant is NEVER an option. Sam, George & Rameck didn't have the most supportive families in the world. All three of them didn't have a father in their life & all of their mom's were drug addicts. Man after this book I¿m going to strive myself one hundred times more to reach my goals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    THE START OF SOMETHING NEW....

    This was an amazing book. Once i began reading it was very difficult to put it down even for a second. It was very real and i am sure every one who reads this book can find something to relate to. A friend of mine asked me how i, a female, could relate to a book like this, about 3 young men... Well after explaining it to him he now understands. It's is about more than just 3 young men making a pact... It's about trust, determination, life, hurt, triumph, the streets, survival, going against all odds, staying focused ... Should i keep going? :) this is absolutely one of my favorite books and i would love to meet these men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Change your way of thinking kind of story

    This book gives hope to everyone and it also shows you the ups and downs of life. It gives young man a chance to believe in tomorrow and it shows them a way to get to college and excel in life. This is a great book for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Great book

    In this story, there is an African American teenager named Sampson Davis. He grew up in da hood and got locked up in the slammer multiple times for things he did to look cool to his friends. He moved from town to town, stepdad to stepdad, until he and his family ended up in Newark. There, he and 2 of his other friends made a life-long agreement. The author of this story did a pretty good job of engaging the reader in this story. He wrote alot about the hood and rap and other stuff that interests me and that helped me actually want to read a book for once in my life. However, the author did jump around a lot making it hard for me to grasp the concepts in which he is writing of. I liked this book because this guy was on the edge. It was no fairy tale like Cinderella where life completely sucks for this guy and magically turns out good. This dude had to really work hard and success was the present that was rewarded to him. I think anyone who likes moving stories would definetly love this story. This kid came from virtually nothing at all and being in trouble all the time to being one of the 40 most successful African Americans in our nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    great book

    I think this book is a great title, but it had the result already told to you in the cover. It was a good title about 3 african-americans in the gheto making a pact to become something more than just another student but to achieve there dreams and goals.I liked it because it made want to know what happened to the characters. The result is clear, but its good title anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    A Pretty Good Read

    I just had to read this book in my English class. It was a pretty good book, but definitely not outstanding. However, the authors did a good job describing their lives and such. Also, it was intriguing, in a way, because you want to find out what happens to them. Except, we all know what the ultimate outcome is...but, it was still pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    Required reading for boys

    The Pact is a great illustration of the importance of dreaming. Students can relate to these rather average young men finding a way together to reach incredible goals against the odds. The characters are very believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Loved the whole book

    I thought this book was great to read and i strongly recommend that this book be read to all the young people who are living on the wrong paths of life and think that there is no way out well there is if you put your heart and mind into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    An EXELLENT book!!!

    This excellent book is about 3 African-Americans who are brought up in a poor neighborhood with no fathers. I am a 'white' highschooler and it helped me in SO many ways-so even if your not black or is growing up in the 'gheto' you still NEED to read this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Every Black Young Person Should Read This

    This book is wonderful for any highschool student. It gives you hope and lets you know that where you come from shouldn't make a difference in where you go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    I just could not wait to finish it

    This book was awsome. It really touched me and I think that everyone should read this book. To kids it is an insperation, and to others I think it shows how one person can make a world of a diffrence in someones life. The Pact was beautifully written and it makes you feel as though you are going through the situations with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    I loved it...could not put it down...Still on my mind

    I read this book when I was a sphm. highschool. I read it in one day. And still to this day I can not stop speaking about it. I am in my jr. year of college. Studying Education, and I was asked to speak about my favorite book. The Pact came to mind. No other book that I have read from grade school to college has ever matched The Pact. I did not grow up in an area with Sampson, George or Rameck. But it helped me to keep sight of my goals and dreams. I love this book from top to bottom. Thank you for sharing your story with us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    This is the Best Book I've Read in school!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book because it teaches young people to do their best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    WOW... is all I can say.

    Very good book, I cannot stress it enough!! its a must buy, especially if you are a fan of realistic fiction. Struggling through Newark can be difficult... :-( i give this 4 stars becuase it was kind of difficult to follow who was speaking when... but is veryyyyyyyyyy good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4