Customer Reviews for

The Pact

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    The world should never grow tired of reading about the triumpha


    The world should never grow tired of reading about the triumphant tales of "real life" heroes. In the modern tradition of celebrating mediocrity and outlandish foolery, it is refreshing to learn of extraordinary quests for success in which an education is prized for the gem it is. An exceptional read with a universal message that transcends time and circumstance. My children are required to read this text at least once per year to remind them that the only limits that exist are those that we create for ourselves. Well done, brothers. Well done!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Best ever ..it really is

    I read this book in school and i am only 13 it vis the best book ever even if it had onbor two bad worbs i loved this book . I love reading about there life which was nothing and
    made something of it . Really i hate to read andbi love this book really

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Excellent reading for Teens thru Adults

    This book is a lesson in how one can come from adverse conditions and not only survive, but thrive. The three young men who made "a pact" to make something of themselves did not have a smooth road nor was the trajectory straight, but they made it. Their story is motivational, inspirational, and meaningful. It should be on every high school reading list as it will resonate with children who come from similar backgrounds as those of the authors as well as teach life lessons to those who come from a spectrum of backgrounds.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Very influential piece!!

    This book is very intriguing and exciting to read. This piece inspires all generations whether low or middle class, that success is reachable despite any obstacles!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    The PACT

    Should be required reading for every parent and HS freshman!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Now that's a Friendship!

    I actually bought this book for my 15yr old daughter, but once I started reading it, I COULD NOT put it down, It's amazing how I could just see it all as I was reading. We must all learn how to weed out the good from the bad,and yes with family too. God was definatley with these young men throughout all their trials. This book is definatley an inspiration.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    Who said three's a crowd

    This book is awesome. This is the best book I ever read in my life and I have read many books. It made me laugh, cry, and think really hard about my life and the lives of my two children. I loved it, if I could afford to give this book to every young boy/man I see I would. I think the book is just that inspirational and motivating. If people would stick together, help each other, and not envy one another the world would be so much better. Keep up the good work Docs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    Who's a Doctor?

    The book is great, it gives young kids of all ethnic backgrounds the strength to push themselves to the next level no matter what their home circumstances may be. My hat goes off to these fine young men. They are role models in more than one way. I think this book should be a source of reading material for all children in middle and high school, because these are the years when most teens are beginning to think about their futures. This book will help built confidence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    This is a great book! I read this book for a class and everyday

    This is a great book! I read this book for a class and everyday we have discussions on the book. This book is very inspiring, and their lives were nothing and then became something. Amazing book and an easy short read.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Where is it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Pact

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Digclan

    Reses dig1-8
    We are a new clan so...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Very good

    This book is very entertaing to red i enjoyed this book i just dont think the book shoulde started with their live as kids it shouldve started at the main point the part about their colleg lives NOT heir childhood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Ok

    Look its a good book but i really am not a fan of bioographys sooooooooooo i would rather watch a plant grow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Best

    This is the best ever. Rameck, George ,and Sam never gave up.They staued strong.NEVER SAY NEVER:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Mikayla

    I saw this movie in school and i wanted to read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    must to read

    very good, touchable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    My son will be entering middle school in the fall and has to complete two books from the reading list. We purchased two copies so that we could read it together and i'm so glad that we did!

    Both of us loved the bond that these three men developed over the years. The fact that they looked out for one and other is a powerful message that should be shared with all yougmen. This book is proof that young blackmen can acheive their dreams and help others along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    EYE OPENER ! !

    As another fellow High School student. I found this book incredibly motivational. If three kids for one of the toughest neighborhoods in their city, can make it out to be successful doctors and lawyers. Why? cant I or even other students that are blessed enough to have wonderful life¿s. <BR/>From my point of view. George, Sam & Rameck has one very unbreakable friendship. They stuck with each other through thick & thin. Through drugs, sex, money & gangs. That¿s something very rare to find these days. Lastly, after reading this book cant is NEVER an option. Sam, George & Rameck didn't have the most supportive families in the world. All three of them didn't have a father in their life & all of their mom's were drug addicts. Man after this book I¿m going to strive myself one hundred times more to reach my goals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    THE START OF SOMETHING NEW....

    This was an amazing book. Once i began reading it was very difficult to put it down even for a second. It was very real and i am sure every one who reads this book can find something to relate to. A friend of mine asked me how i, a female, could relate to a book like this, about 3 young men... Well after explaining it to him he now understands. It's is about more than just 3 young men making a pact... It's about trust, determination, life, hurt, triumph, the streets, survival, going against all odds, staying focused ... Should i keep going? :) this is absolutely one of my favorite books and i would love to meet these men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3