Customer Reviews for

The Paladin Prophecy (The Paladin Prophecy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

The Paladin Prophecy rocks the young adult scene with the latest

The Paladin Prophecy rocks the young adult scene with the latest and greatest hero - Will West. Opening with a quiet intensity, Mark Frost adds a humorous plot and deep, endearing cast of characters to a brilliant world of mystery and adventure.

Peaceful Southern Calif...
The Paladin Prophecy rocks the young adult scene with the latest and greatest hero - Will West. Opening with a quiet intensity, Mark Frost adds a humorous plot and deep, endearing cast of characters to a brilliant world of mystery and adventure.

Peaceful Southern California sets the stage for the beginning of Will's journey. After spending his life following his Dad's 'Rules to Live By', rules that have kept him unnoticed and under the radar, Will's anonymity is threatened. The results of a test given to students nationwide sheds light on Will's extraordinary mind. Approached by Dr. Robbins, Will is offered a scholarship to a prestigious private academy that could possibly hold the answers to the questions that suddenly arise as his life is thrown into chaos. His parents are compromised and he's chased by men in black caps, proof if he ever wondered why his parents always lived so cautiously during his childhood.

Taking a chance on The Center for Integrated Learning is either the worst, or best, choice Will makes. Here he discovers the physical and mental potential his body may have and forges friendships with kids he can finally relate to. The Center also seems to be the place that does grant Will answers to his questions while dredging up many more for consideration. Frost puts Will and his new comrades: Nick, Ajay, Elise and Brooke through the toughest obstacles, but their teen resilience and comedic interludes keep all sane, including the reader! There's a strong connection between reader and the story, even when the plot picks up in action. Frost crafted Will and his friends, in particular, with such skill that it's too hard to believe that they're only fictional characters. Their lives and personalities are so relatable that every reader can find something in them that mirrors their own life.

The first title in what is sure to be a thrilling trilogy, The Paladin Prophecy demands attention. Frost gives readers more than just an entertaining novel that mixes ingenious supernatural lore with science-fiction elements. Will West will become part of every day lives and inspire young teens, especially, to explore themselves while reaching out for something more. Frost excels in speaking directly to the younger audience through characterization and hip dialogue, but any age group will enjoy and gain appreciation for The Paladin Prophecy!

*I received an ARC via Random Buzzers' Ambuzzador program in exchange for an honest review*
Also posted on Lovey Dovey Books

posted by Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks on December 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

Fast moving, mysterious, engaging. Liked it alot. I hope the next book comes out soon.

posted by 123MK on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    The fourth prophecy...

    If Burning and Venom and Dragon and the fire in the Thistle all agree... a great ally Lillystar could be... you see... strong is she... owning every Ember of the clan... the fire in the Thistle would be fair... unlike the blood of BloodClan... she would share... and if times were despret... she would ask... ever so kindly... for aid... and if the fire in the Thistle turns into the star of the Thistle... the star of the Lilly shall be rewarded greatly... so ally the fire in the Bush while she is young and not yet a Thistle... and... good Lillystar shall be rewarded... when ThornClan rises... they will kill the kill... and the tear of the Lion will be rewarded for saving Dragon from a wolf... when ThornClan awakens from their slumber... ( the fifth prophecy is in Venomkit's and Dragonkit's secret hideout, you have to find it!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Darkkit's story

    I awoke. I never had a name... my father padded in the camp with a vole in his mouth. My mother yawned,"Little one... it's too early to be awake. Go back to sleep." Reluctantly I curled back up and closed my eyes and went to sleep...

    LATER...

    I awoke to a feeling lthat I was moving... my eyes opened and I shrieked because the sent that I smelled wasn't my mother or even my father's... I stuggled and then felt teeth dig into my scruff,"Stop stuggling." a gruff voice growled...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    A note

    The young dragon awakes, the peacock calls, the pheonix rises from the ash, all to greet the new stag. A queen takes her place, a battle is won, only to begin another. The black queen broods, and a fated tree stretches tall... Just a few lines for my book i am writing in real life, and, hopefully, will get it published! When i come up with tye full thing, i will post the prophecy at this result! The title of the book will be of the Hidden Kingdom series, (or something related,) and the title will be The First Battle. I will post if it is published, amd then i you can look for it. It. Will. Be. AWESOME! i have so many ideas for the whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Anonomus

    AMAZING!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Omc

    Btw omc srands for oh my cow
    Only on page 153 but it us grrrrr8!!!!! Love it love will
    Also hi stacey i know your on here
    ~thor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    awesome!!

    Must read! Very good read can't wait until I get to start the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    FANTASY

    Hi! My name is Arya. I am looking for a nook friend that likes fantasy and/or science fiction. If you are interested( and I hope you are, please respond under the book THE FLIGHT OF THE SILVERS. Title your response TO ARYA (in all capital letters) and include your full name and e-mail so I can send you a request. Check your requests and mine will be there in the next two days. Thank you so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Anon

    This book started out great...and went downhill to the ending that of course wasn't an ending at all. The attempt at teen dialog was pathetic (and that's being kind) no kid I've ever met talks like a grown-up trying to talk like a kid. Then there's the school...it's supposed to be for genius kids...these kids can't even use a computer, or a g.p.s. and ask questions a first-grader could figure out. My review will probably be listed at the bottom of the posts, however, it is an honest review. The only way the other reviews could possibly be so high is if the writer wrote them! Jp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Enjoyable Read

    This book was amazing and I found myself sad that is was over so quickly.

    Right away the book grabbed at me and pulled me in as I tried to figure out everything that was going on. While the book does have mystery to it is also fast paced and never a dull moment. Everything from suspense to awkward teenager moments are included in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Funny, fun, and well written

    Great read! It was humorous, had good solid characters, and a decent plot. Even the different perspectives the teachers posed were interesting. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Standard YA fare

    Quite similar to 'I Am Number Four' but better written. Same too-inviniclbe hero with super powers that conveniently appear when needed. Good story overall but the author got carried away and packed in way too much for one book. I would have preferred more character development and interaction, and less hurtling from one action scene to the next. But I guess that's YA for you. Wonder when the movie franchise will start?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Andre

    BEST BOOK I EVER READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    The Paladin Prophecy opens with mystery and intensity that never

    The Paladin Prophecy opens with mystery and intensity that never stops.  Will is our young hero.  He has lived a solitary life.  His parents move them about every 15 months, his father has created almost 100 rules to live by (that appear to be a little strange) and he was taught to never excel to never draw attention to himself.  No explanation has every been given.




    Things get even weirder as he heads to meet the cross country team for their run to school.  Will realizes that he is being followed by men in black cars with tinted windows.  At that moment he gets a text from his dad telling him to RUN and run he does.  This is the 1st time he has any idea of exactly how fast he can run.




    Things don't slow down when he gets to school.  He is called out of class to attend a meeting.  He has scored the highest ever score on a national test and is being offered a full ride to an very private school which enrollment is my invitation only.  His mom is there ...... but it is not really his mom.  She looks like it but her eyes and what she says is a give away.




    Will runs for good when the men in black come in force to his house.  His dad had sent a video that told him to run and keep running that he would find him somehow.




    Will decided to go the the Paladin school where he thinks he will be safe..... but things are not always as they seem.  He and his 4 pod mates banned together to help save Will and figure out what is going on.  Again, things are not always as the seem.




    The Paladin Prophecy grabs the reader and never lets go until the very end.  Twists and turns with strong intensity keep the reader on the edge of their seat.




    I started this book late last night and finished it early this morning.  I couldn't put it down, though I tried several times.  I am a school librarian (K-8) and went to my local BN and bought 2 copies of The Paladin Prophecy by Mark Frost for the middle school.  This book is going to fly off the shelf and be in extremely high demand.  I can't wait until the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Cant wait for the next book

    Only a few hours to wait!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Fun read

    Great read; fun, humor, friendship, and a little of the super natrual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Excellent!

    Enjoyed this read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Good

    Good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Pages

    How many pages is this on the nook?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Awesome

    I couldnt belive how good it was the begining might be a little iffy but i loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Grreaaaaatttt!

    Exciting, fast paced and I already pre-ordered book 2!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5