Customer Reviews for

The Paladin Prophecy (The Paladin Prophecy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

The Paladin Prophecy rocks the young adult scene with the latest

The Paladin Prophecy rocks the young adult scene with the latest and greatest hero - Will West. Opening with a quiet intensity, Mark Frost adds a humorous plot and deep, endearing cast of characters to a brilliant world of mystery and adventure.

Peaceful Southern Calif...
The Paladin Prophecy rocks the young adult scene with the latest and greatest hero - Will West. Opening with a quiet intensity, Mark Frost adds a humorous plot and deep, endearing cast of characters to a brilliant world of mystery and adventure.

Peaceful Southern California sets the stage for the beginning of Will's journey. After spending his life following his Dad's 'Rules to Live By', rules that have kept him unnoticed and under the radar, Will's anonymity is threatened. The results of a test given to students nationwide sheds light on Will's extraordinary mind. Approached by Dr. Robbins, Will is offered a scholarship to a prestigious private academy that could possibly hold the answers to the questions that suddenly arise as his life is thrown into chaos. His parents are compromised and he's chased by men in black caps, proof if he ever wondered why his parents always lived so cautiously during his childhood.

Taking a chance on The Center for Integrated Learning is either the worst, or best, choice Will makes. Here he discovers the physical and mental potential his body may have and forges friendships with kids he can finally relate to. The Center also seems to be the place that does grant Will answers to his questions while dredging up many more for consideration. Frost puts Will and his new comrades: Nick, Ajay, Elise and Brooke through the toughest obstacles, but their teen resilience and comedic interludes keep all sane, including the reader! There's a strong connection between reader and the story, even when the plot picks up in action. Frost crafted Will and his friends, in particular, with such skill that it's too hard to believe that they're only fictional characters. Their lives and personalities are so relatable that every reader can find something in them that mirrors their own life.

The first title in what is sure to be a thrilling trilogy, The Paladin Prophecy demands attention. Frost gives readers more than just an entertaining novel that mixes ingenious supernatural lore with science-fiction elements. Will West will become part of every day lives and inspire young teens, especially, to explore themselves while reaching out for something more. Frost excels in speaking directly to the younger audience through characterization and hip dialogue, but any age group will enjoy and gain appreciation for The Paladin Prophecy!

*I received an ARC via Random Buzzers' Ambuzzador program in exchange for an honest review*
Also posted on Lovey Dovey Books

posted by Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks on December 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

Fast moving, mysterious, engaging. Liked it alot. I hope the next book comes out soon.

posted by 123MK on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Paladin Prophecy rocks the young adult scene with the latest

    The Paladin Prophecy rocks the young adult scene with the latest and greatest hero - Will West. Opening with a quiet intensity, Mark Frost adds a humorous plot and deep, endearing cast of characters to a brilliant world of mystery and adventure.

    Peaceful Southern California sets the stage for the beginning of Will's journey. After spending his life following his Dad's 'Rules to Live By', rules that have kept him unnoticed and under the radar, Will's anonymity is threatened. The results of a test given to students nationwide sheds light on Will's extraordinary mind. Approached by Dr. Robbins, Will is offered a scholarship to a prestigious private academy that could possibly hold the answers to the questions that suddenly arise as his life is thrown into chaos. His parents are compromised and he's chased by men in black caps, proof if he ever wondered why his parents always lived so cautiously during his childhood.

    Taking a chance on The Center for Integrated Learning is either the worst, or best, choice Will makes. Here he discovers the physical and mental potential his body may have and forges friendships with kids he can finally relate to. The Center also seems to be the place that does grant Will answers to his questions while dredging up many more for consideration. Frost puts Will and his new comrades: Nick, Ajay, Elise and Brooke through the toughest obstacles, but their teen resilience and comedic interludes keep all sane, including the reader! There's a strong connection between reader and the story, even when the plot picks up in action. Frost crafted Will and his friends, in particular, with such skill that it's too hard to believe that they're only fictional characters. Their lives and personalities are so relatable that every reader can find something in them that mirrors their own life.

    The first title in what is sure to be a thrilling trilogy, The Paladin Prophecy demands attention. Frost gives readers more than just an entertaining novel that mixes ingenious supernatural lore with science-fiction elements. Will West will become part of every day lives and inspire young teens, especially, to explore themselves while reaching out for something more. Frost excels in speaking directly to the younger audience through characterization and hip dialogue, but any age group will enjoy and gain appreciation for The Paladin Prophecy!

    *I received an ARC via Random Buzzers' Ambuzzador program in exchange for an honest review*
    Also posted on Lovey Dovey Books

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Amazing

    Gret book super enjoyable and extremely thrilling and for those who want to know its 539 pages in hard cover

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    I had a pleasure to start reading Mark Frost¿s The Paladin Proph

    I had a pleasure to start reading Mark Frost’s The Paladin Prophecy over the past two days. I was greeted with a well written, engaging story-line. This book was reminiscent of others within the Young Adult Fiction genre. Much like I am Number Four or Percy Jackson and the Olympians, we have a story that centers on youth who are supposed to save the world. The cover of Paladin is what first intrigued me to take a chance on the book, which coupled with the title promised to at least be an interesting story. 

    Paladin far exceeded my expectations. We’re introduced to Will, a teen who for his whole life has been on the move. Unlike most parents, his parents pushed him to be mediocre. For most of his life, Will did not understand that, what was the purpose? Why would they hold him back? Some of the answers to those questions comes crashing into his reality and starts him off on a journey where he must make new friends to survive. Who is friend and who is foe? Who can he trust when even his own parents are suspect?

    If you enjoyed I am Number Four or the Percy Jackson series, you will love Mark Frost’s The Paladin Prophecy. Due to the exemplary writing, and the enjoyment I derived from the book, I am happy to give Paladin 5/5 swords for a job well done. I eagerly await the next novel in this series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    I need book two!!!

    Someone or anyone please tell me when the next book is coming out! PLEASE!!! This book is awesome! What a great story line! THIS IS A MUST READ!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Shlee

    Kicks your legs out from under you and holds the dagger to your neck (sorry im grounded i wont be on for a week)

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Were's the damn second book?!

    I just finished it, but i can't find the 2!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    My Wife & I both love the book. So it's for the "young

    My Wife & I both love the book. So it's for the "young teen" - so it's still a Great Read - Good Characters, lots of fun, lots of twists, and sometimes it seems it will never pause - it moves along in superb page turned fashion. We devour between 5 and 6 books every week, and this one is a great find. Tell Mark Frost to stop all that non-essential activity like eating and sleeping. Tell him to: " write, write, write" - we want the next book NOW ! We LIKE these characters, and their doings. Signed M & MQ

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    AWESOME

    AWESOMEST BOOK EVER

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Awesomebook!!!

    I lovethis book, I can't wait for the next

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Great!

    I've already read it twice. It's a really good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Lala

    My friend says it is a good book

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Ayame

    Waiting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    Scott Lass Mrs. Ragland English III. 6th  12 Sept. 2014 Book Rev

    Scott Lass
    Mrs. Ragland
    English III. 6th 
    12 Sept. 2014
    Book Review: The Paladin Prophecy by Mark Frost
    This book is called The Paladin Prophecy, and it is a book by Mark Frost a New York Times bestselling author. The first interesting thing about Mark Frost is that he started writing at the age of ten and professionally at the age of fifteen. That is really interesting to be interested in writing at that age. A second interesting thing about him is that he has seventeen Emmy nominations for his show Twin Peaks, and he also received a Golden Globe Award for Twin Peaks also. A third interesting thing about him he wrote the book The Greatest Game Ever Played, which is about the birth of golf in America. He also wrote and produced The Greatest Game Ever Played for Disney.
    This book is about a kid named Will West he is a fifteen year old sophomore in Ojai Valley. He and his parents have been keeping a low profile since he was born, and they have been moving from place to place so they can stay away from the Knights of Charlemagne. The reason why they want Will is because he is special, and there is certain things he can do but no one else can. People in black sedans capture and brainwash his parents, so Will escapes to a prep school called, “The Center”  that he was invited to. The prep school is located in the cold wintery Mountains of Wisconsin, and it mostly set on the campus. There he learns certain Physical and Mental Abilities that no human could be capable of doing. What he figures out is that the Knights of Charlemagne are there too, and they control a deep dark force called the never was. So he and four other friends Ajay, Brooke, Nick, and Elise with their certain abilities investigate the Night of Charlemagne problem. They find out certain students are a part of the origination, and they are dressing up like knights to kill Will and his friends.
    The point of this book was to entertain readers. The storyline never rested it was a consent adrenaline rush the whole time. The author is trying to say that teamwork plays a big part in this whole book. Will, Ajay, Nick, Elise, and Brooke both all need to work together to defeat this evil force, and get to know each other. The plot twist close to the end of the book is very exciting, and Will figures out what he really is.
    Readers will enjoy this book it very exciting, hearts breaking, and gives you adrenaline rush from just reading the book. The readers will love the twisted plot, and they will scary ending of the book. Readers will also fall in love with the characters and the antagonists of the book. Will, Ajay, Brooke, Nick, and Elise are all dynamic characters, and they all change as they all figure out their new abilities.
    Teenagers will love these books especially teenage boys. Teenage girls will also like this book because they will idolize Elise and Brooke. They are such fun dynamic girls that are different in every way. Before readers read this book, he or she needs to be a good reader before they read this book. The plot in the story is hard to follow because the story goes to fast. Readers should love this book because there is so much action and adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Can't wait until the third book-Hurry Mark Frost!

    Can't wait until the third book-Hurry Mark Frost!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Beware of one though

    Sky full of blue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Awesome!!!

    I couldn't put down this amazing book. Kept my mind racing through the begining to the end. In all great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Briarpaw

    I was paying attention! I know where that is, she says sceptically

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    To the fourth prophecy

    Is the Thistle ThistleClan????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    The fourth prophecy...

    If Burning and Venom and Dragon and the fire in the Thistle all agree... a great ally Lillystar could be... you see... strong is she... owning every Ember of the clan... the fire in the Thistle would be fair... unlike the blood of BloodClan... she would share... and if times were despret... she would ask... ever so kindly... for aid... and if the fire in the Thistle turns into the star of the Thistle... the star of the Lilly shall be rewarded greatly... so ally the fire in the Bush while she is young and not yet a Thistle... and... good Lillystar shall be rewarded... when ThornClan rises... they will kill the kill... and the tear of the Lion will be rewarded for saving Dragon from a wolf... when ThornClan awakens from their slumber... ( the fifth prophecy is in Venomkit's and Dragonkit's secret hideout, you have to find it!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Darkkit's story

    I awoke. I never had a name... my father padded in the camp with a vole in his mouth. My mother yawned,"Little one... it's too early to be awake. Go back to sleep." Reluctantly I curled back up and closed my eyes and went to sleep...

    LATER...

    I awoke to a feeling lthat I was moving... my eyes opened and I shrieked because the sent that I smelled wasn't my mother or even my father's... I stuggled and then felt teeth dig into my scruff,"Stop stuggling." a gruff voice growled...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4