BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Paleo Approach: Reverse Autoimmune Disease and Heal Your Body

Average Rating 5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    I am a very busy working mom that has been diagnosed (or diagnos

    I am a very busy working mom that has been diagnosed (or diagnosed myself) with: IBS-C/GERD, anxiety, depression, insomnia, eczema, joint pain, allergy to gluten, egg whites/yolks, dairy and soy. I've been GF for 4 years and egg and dairy free for about a year. I wish I'd have discovered The Paleo Approach sooner, but have only just begun to follow it on facebook, and just received Sarah's book last week. It is very well-written, and there is no question after reading it that my ailments will be addressed by following the course outlined in her book. Similar to going GF 4 years ago, I feel like I'm learning a foreign language. What's different this time is that I have a support network in place, and a guidebook to show me the way. Thank you to Sarah for such a well-written, detailed, easy-to-follow textbook which anyone can follow and implement, and thank you to the support network out there which reinforces to me every day that I am not in this alone. Highly recommend the book to anyone with autoimmune disease, or anyone simply looking to adopt a "real food" lifestyle for their family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    I just lost my review trying to create a pen name! I'm Erin Riba

    I just lost my review trying to create a pen name! I'm Erin Ribar, Crohn's Disease sufferer for over 20 years. This book is a must read for anyone with autoimmune disease. Mainstream medicine just doesn't have the answers for us. I've prayed for ways to help my body heal itself, and HOW to "Let thy food be thy medicine", and found the answers here. Don't wait until you're at the end of your rope before you try this because you think it sounds too hard. Most things in life worth doing are not easy. If I had had this information years ago I wouldn't be as sick as I am now. I found Paleo Mom and pre-ordered this book and today I am starting week 4. Surprisingly I have not lost weight (I'm usually underweight). My bloating and pain are gone and hopefully with continued healing my chronic diarrhea will be gone soon. With Sarah's help and prayer, you can do it, too! Let the healing begin!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Buy the book! :)  This is a wonderful guidebook that I have been

    Buy the book! :)  This is a wonderful guidebook that I have been needing for over 13 years.  I have several autoimmune diseases and despite excellent medical care am feeling worst every year.  Not anymore.  I have been on the protocol for one month now and am finally starting to feel better!  Just bought her cookbook to help me out.  Thanks, Sarah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    It's hard to take the book seriously when it's filled with chees

    It's hard to take the book seriously when it's filled with cheesy stock photography, incorrectly calls it "curing" instead of "treating" (meaning you will have to eat this way for the rest of your life), and doesn't provide much depth of information beyond the basics of how the immune system works.

    I would suggest Dr. Wahl's book, although I do prefer the removal of nightshades from the diet which Dr. Wahls doesn't mention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2014

    Sarah's research and personal experience in addressing autoimmun

    Sarah's research and personal experience in addressing autoimmune conditions with the Paleo autoimmune protocol come together in this very well written and referenced book to make it easy for anyone to follow. Yes this works, but Sarah's book takes that all-important step of explaining how and why it works. That is key. Very detailed but with lots of tables, illustrations, and references to help understand the text. I recommend the hard copy over the electronic version as you will want to follow the cross references, I promise. Much easier to do that with an actual book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    This book helps me make informed decisions on how to feed my fam

    This book helps me make informed decisions on how to feed my family and myself. I had a gastric bypass and have had a lot of trouble eating the foods I used to, thank god! But I needed help to know what I should eat. This book does that. It also helps me to teach my daughter what foods are healthy and what foods are not. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2014

    This book is exactly what I have been searching for. None of my

    This book is exactly what I have been searching for. None of my Dr.s have been able to help me. I have tried numerous diets drugs and this only has made sense to and to my body. I like knowing why and this book answers all my questions. Best purchase ever. Oh and I took it to my Dr. and he is going to get it too.
    Kim

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2014

    This is my go to Autoimmune Bible! It's brilliant, Sarah is bril

    This is my go to Autoimmune Bible! It's brilliant, Sarah is brilliant. I wish I had her brain. So informative, I learn something new everytime I open the book. The cookbook companion is even better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2014

    Sarah Ballantyne has written a true opus here, which I have turn

    Sarah Ballantyne has written a true opus here, which I have turned to again and again for dietary and lifestyle recommendations, many of which have absolutely changed my life! I am not an AI sufferer as far as I know, but have many risk factors for it; this book is a veritable bible of information on resolving (or AVOIDING) AI conditions, It is dense, but very well written and painstakingly researched. Dive in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    If you are suffering from an autoinmune disease or feel that you

    If you are suffering from an autoinmune disease or feel that you have poor digestion problems, this book is for you. It has all the science of this protocol and an unbelievable amount of information to educate and help you understand everything that is causing your health problems. I think this is so wonderful since I am the kind of person that likes understanding all the "whys" specially when it comes to the diet of my family! but also because my doctor never sat down with me to give me the information to prevent and heal my health problems. I feel that this book gives me the information to make daily wise decisions about my health and my family's.
    It also has all the "how to do it"- and this I love. I now feel that all my initial questions were answered in chapter 7, 8 and 9. Reading those chapters provided me the "how" for this protocol.
    This book was an excellent resource for my health journey, and I am recommending it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2014

    this is a great resource for people with autoimmune disease - ev

    this is a great resource for people with autoimmune disease - everything you could possible want to know and more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    The minute I got it out of the package, I was impressed. The cha

    The minute I got it out of the package, I was impressed. The charts & illustrations contribute hugely to information conveyed, and boy is there a lot of it! But it is written in a style that is accessible & only a chapter in I was having "Aha!" moments related to my situation. Thank you so much, Sarah, for this life-changing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    I call this my AI bible. I admit, some things I have to re-read

    I call this my AI bible. I admit, some things I have to re-read a few times because the science is so beyond me... but I think that is a selling point for many people who want to know the WHY behind autoimmunity and food's effect on it.

    Sarah breaks down every detail as to why tailoring your diet and lifestyle will help with recovery of symptoms and even put an autoimmune disease into remission.

    This book was probably one of the greatest investments I could have made for taking back my health. ~ Erin @ Enjoying this Journey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Taught me WHY the Paleo AIP way of eating helps heal autoimmune

    Taught me WHY the Paleo AIP way of eating helps heal autoimmune disease. Learn how eating certain foods affects your body. Very well researched. Would highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    After already switching to a gluten-free diet to help manage the

    After already switching to a gluten-free diet to help manage the symptoms of an autoimmune neurological disorder, I purchased this book based on the recommendation of fellow patients who found success with a more targeted autoimmune diet protocol. The Paleo Approach details an even more specialized lifestyle design that considers diet, stress reduction, healthy sleep patterns, exercise type and intensity, toxin avoidance; and it presents all of this (and more) in 400 pages of mostly manageable chunks backed by science and research. The first half of the book contains foundational information about autoimmune disease causes and effects. It's truly helpful, but I admittedly picked and chose which sections I spent more or less time with. I bought an additional copy for my mom, who's in her 60s and has a different lifelong autoimmune condition, and she felt the first half of the book was a bit too heavy on the science to keep her interested. The second half of the book is where the magic happens, with the lifestyle design recommendations mentioned earlier in this review. Take what you need from The Paleo Approach and you will come away with a deeper understanding of autoimmune reactions in the body and a comprehensive lifestyle design recommendation to help improve your health and quality of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    This book has clear explanations and sound science. It is exactl

    This book has clear explanations and sound science. It is exactly what is needed when you are in auto-immune crisis and need answers and a plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    This is a wonderful resource to use for the explanation of what

    This is a wonderful resource to use for the explanation of what foods do to your system and what food to avoid for your conditions. Written at an academic level but well worth the time to learn the ins and outs and wherefores of how what we eat affects us! Looking forward to receiving the cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2014

    I love this book. It is very detailed but worth the effort to g

    I love this book. It is very detailed but worth the effort to get through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    Ballantyne has really done her research and provides excellent e

    Ballantyne has really done her research and provides excellent explanations as to why it is important to follow the autoimmune protocol correctly if you want optimal results. It is also a good resource for those with food restrictions or who are looking to eat healthier. The charts are a great reference when checking for hidden food ingredients.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6