Customer Reviews for

The Panther (John Corey Series #6)

Average Rating 3.5
( 337 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

It's the journey, not the destination!

While I'm disappointed on behalf of the author in some opinions of the earlier reviewers, I can understand their views. I appreciate the storytelling and character development in this book. I guess we'll have to agree to disagree about the customer reviews to this poin...
While I'm disappointed on behalf of the author in some opinions of the earlier reviewers, I can understand their views. I appreciate the storytelling and character development in this book. I guess we'll have to agree to disagree about the customer reviews to this point. If you think about it, Demille's past books have always had a high ratio of background and story development to action sequences. Some reviewers consider Corey's dialogue in The Panther to be vapid and predictable, I view his character as remaining true to his nature and mellowing slightly with age, experience, and growing into himself. His wife, Kate, acts as a foil and has a calming effect on John, injecting some literary estrogen into an otherwise potentially out of control, testosterone-loaded John Corey. I would tell you not to leave this book unread if you're a fan of Demille and/or John Corey. Demille builds significant tension throughout, and paints a vivid picture of the human condition from a perspective rarely seen by us mere mortals. If you need non-stop action scenes, then yes, you might try another book. I enjoyed The Panther very much, and while I guess it's not for everybody, it will remain on my bookshelf for a future repeat read!

posted by Anonymous on November 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Painful!

Have read just about every Demille novel and loved them all, especially the John Corey series. This one though? 576 Nook pages and maybe a dozen pages of action. The rest is monotonous filler, including 30+ pages alone devoted to a desert cross country drive. An overdo...
Have read just about every Demille novel and loved them all, especially the John Corey series. This one though? 576 Nook pages and maybe a dozen pages of action. The rest is monotonous filler, including 30+ pages alone devoted to a desert cross country drive. An overdose of Corey sarcasm and clowning. You could read the first 10 pages, skip the next 500 and tune in for the last 50-60. Skip this one, you're not missing a thing.

posted by 3898794 on October 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 337 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Painful!

    Have read just about every Demille novel and loved them all, especially the John Corey series. This one though? 576 Nook pages and maybe a dozen pages of action. The rest is monotonous filler, including 30+ pages alone devoted to a desert cross country drive. An overdose of Corey sarcasm and clowning. You could read the first 10 pages, skip the next 500 and tune in for the last 50-60. Skip this one, you're not missing a thing.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    A little less talk and aa lot more action

    I love to sit down with a good John Corey book and I was thrillrd that Paul Brenner was in this book, but this was not my favotire DeMille book. I wanted more action. The background and history was intetesting but i also would have liked to see more action.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    It's the journey, not the destination!

    While I'm disappointed on behalf of the author in some opinions of the earlier reviewers, I can understand their views. I appreciate the storytelling and character development in this book. I guess we'll have to agree to disagree about the customer reviews to this point. If you think about it, Demille's past books have always had a high ratio of background and story development to action sequences. Some reviewers consider Corey's dialogue in The Panther to be vapid and predictable, I view his character as remaining true to his nature and mellowing slightly with age, experience, and growing into himself. His wife, Kate, acts as a foil and has a calming effect on John, injecting some literary estrogen into an otherwise potentially out of control, testosterone-loaded John Corey. I would tell you not to leave this book unread if you're a fan of Demille and/or John Corey. Demille builds significant tension throughout, and paints a vivid picture of the human condition from a perspective rarely seen by us mere mortals. If you need non-stop action scenes, then yes, you might try another book. I enjoyed The Panther very much, and while I guess it's not for everybody, it will remain on my bookshelf for a future repeat read!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Boring!!!!!!

    I have read every book mr.demille has written,this book goes on and on about nothing.i'm on page 243 and with only a few pages of actual excitement the rest is a bore.what happened to your writing mr. Demille?,do you just give up? I expected so much more from you, i doubt if i will ever buy another book from this author.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Not so hot

    PLEASE! Take John Corey back to the days of Plum Island when he was slightly broken, seriously humerous, and very human. Leave Kate in Yemen or on Mars..or anywhere that her truely staid and boring personality, doesn't turn Corey into a trite hen-pecked cliche. As a female reader, and a long-time DeMille fan, I could be happy with her being knocked off and stuffed in a culvert.

    More action, less Kate, would have made this a much better read.

    I think I'll go back and read the Charm School for my next DeMille fix.

    Overall very disappointing.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Out of the six Corey books, this is by far the worst (and my las

    Out of the six Corey books, this is by far the worst (and my last). Corey has turned from a hot dog into a salivating murderer, even to the point of killing an innocent civilian to "test a theory" that they might be targets. The addition of Brennan was nostalgic, but he faded into the background. The "poop chute" was NOT a nice touch. By the end of the book I was completely sickened. Thank you, Mr. DeMille, for a great five-book series. Don't bother with #7, at least on my account.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Not The Best Book by This Author

    Book went on and on without any action. Have read all this author's previous books and could not wait for this one to end.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    No action till last 70 pages (out of 625)!! I love DeMille, but

    No action till last 70 pages (out of 625)!!
    I love DeMille, but except for chapter 1, nothing happened in this book except tons of conversation until the very end!! I did learn a LOT about Yemen. John Corey's smart-aleck-ness dominated the book otherwise. Easy reading. For REAL thrilling non-stop action (and good characters), besides Mr. DeMille's previous books, try Lee Child, Stephen Hunter, Frederick Forsyth, Keith Ablow, Jeff Abbott, Harlen Coben, Robert Crais, C J Box, and Stephen White.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    Nelson DeMille is my one of my favorite authors (the other is De

    Nelson DeMille is my one of my favorite authors (the other is Dennis Lehane). I was anticipating this book and while I did enjoy it, I feel it was written too quickly and Mr DeMille left out quite a bit.
    I wanted to get more into the Panther's head (Corey kept asking how the Panther got where he was, and we never got an answer), and how the heck did they get out of Yemen? There was way too much danger and excitement in Yemen for them to kill the Panther and then simply wake up in NY. I feel like there were about 6 chapters missing. While this book disappointed me, I will not by any means swear off this author. I do agree with some of the other reviewers that his wife is too straight and her personality did not come out at all in this story. I did like the bromance between Corey and Brenner and would like to see the next book with them working together, possibly (hopefully) to find Kate's killer?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    After I read, "Wild Fire", I was convinced then, that

    After I read, "Wild Fire", I was convinced then, that DeMile had run his course with John Corey and thought John Corey should have been retired, or, killed off. When, "The Panther" came out, and being a fan of DeMille's other books, I gave John Corey another try. After 158 pages, I gave up. Corey, once an enjoyable character, is annoying and the story line no longer holds my interest

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Wow

    Such a good title! Good sample.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    I'm a very big fan of Nelson, being from his hometown, and knowi

    I'm a very big fan of Nelson, being from his hometown, and knowing several of his brothers. I have read and own every book he has written. My favorite being Word of Honor. This latest John Corey edition, is boring me to death. I'm on chapter 44, and, other than an attack on their parade of Humvees, nothing has happened, except wise cracks. I would not recommend this book, and it's only because i bought it in hard cover, am I committed to finishing it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    When his next new book comes out, I will wait until it is discou

    When his next new book comes out, I will wait until it is discounted. I will not be ripped off like this again. This book lacks action. Too much filler. I really looked foward to reading this biik but it has been a real let down. Not anywhere near as good as any other Corey books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    a very boring book after the first 10 pages was waiting for soem

    a very boring book after the first 10 pages
    was waiting for soemthing to happen - and waiting - and waiting - and waiting
    you get the point

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Another GREAT John Corey story!

    A GREAT read that entertains and holds your interest from start to finish. If you like the character, John Corey, you must have this book!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Have read all of the John Corey series and loved them all. This

    Have read all of the John Corey series and loved them all. This one did not disappoint. I don't know why so many reviews are unfavorable. Waiting anxiously for #7!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Highs and lows

    I have really enjoyed the JC series thus far. This book lacked the same vigor and zeal as the others. That said; I still enjoyed the book for the most part. Some more action vs. long narratives would have been nice -- a better chase scenario would have been more in line with previous JC adventures. Please return to your character basics with JC.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    I liked it!

    I really liked this book. John Corey is one of my favorite characters and i thought this book fit right in with the series. The witty dialogue and twists and turns of the story made this a very enjoyable read. I can't wait for the next John Corey book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Good book

    Somewhat wordy but good visual desriptions and overall a very good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Really

    Next book, please leave out the whole wify and huddy! The book woud have read better! not working

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 337 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17