Customer Reviews for

The Panther (John Corey Series #6)

Average Rating 3.5
( 339 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

It's the journey, not the destination!

While I'm disappointed on behalf of the author in some opinions of the earlier reviewers, I can understand their views. I appreciate the storytelling and character development in this book. I guess we'll have to agree to disagree about the customer reviews to this poin...
While I'm disappointed on behalf of the author in some opinions of the earlier reviewers, I can understand their views. I appreciate the storytelling and character development in this book. I guess we'll have to agree to disagree about the customer reviews to this point. If you think about it, Demille's past books have always had a high ratio of background and story development to action sequences. Some reviewers consider Corey's dialogue in The Panther to be vapid and predictable, I view his character as remaining true to his nature and mellowing slightly with age, experience, and growing into himself. His wife, Kate, acts as a foil and has a calming effect on John, injecting some literary estrogen into an otherwise potentially out of control, testosterone-loaded John Corey. I would tell you not to leave this book unread if you're a fan of Demille and/or John Corey. Demille builds significant tension throughout, and paints a vivid picture of the human condition from a perspective rarely seen by us mere mortals. If you need non-stop action scenes, then yes, you might try another book. I enjoyed The Panther very much, and while I guess it's not for everybody, it will remain on my bookshelf for a future repeat read!

posted by Anonymous on November 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Painful!

Have read just about every Demille novel and loved them all, especially the John Corey series. This one though? 576 Nook pages and maybe a dozen pages of action. The rest is monotonous filler, including 30+ pages alone devoted to a desert cross country drive. An overdo...
Have read just about every Demille novel and loved them all, especially the John Corey series. This one though? 576 Nook pages and maybe a dozen pages of action. The rest is monotonous filler, including 30+ pages alone devoted to a desert cross country drive. An overdose of Corey sarcasm and clowning. You could read the first 10 pages, skip the next 500 and tune in for the last 50-60. Skip this one, you're not missing a thing.

posted by 3898794 on October 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    It's the journey, not the destination!

    While I'm disappointed on behalf of the author in some opinions of the earlier reviewers, I can understand their views. I appreciate the storytelling and character development in this book. I guess we'll have to agree to disagree about the customer reviews to this point. If you think about it, Demille's past books have always had a high ratio of background and story development to action sequences. Some reviewers consider Corey's dialogue in The Panther to be vapid and predictable, I view his character as remaining true to his nature and mellowing slightly with age, experience, and growing into himself. His wife, Kate, acts as a foil and has a calming effect on John, injecting some literary estrogen into an otherwise potentially out of control, testosterone-loaded John Corey. I would tell you not to leave this book unread if you're a fan of Demille and/or John Corey. Demille builds significant tension throughout, and paints a vivid picture of the human condition from a perspective rarely seen by us mere mortals. If you need non-stop action scenes, then yes, you might try another book. I enjoyed The Panther very much, and while I guess it's not for everybody, it will remain on my bookshelf for a future repeat read!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Wow

    Such a good title! Good sample.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Another GREAT John Corey story!

    A GREAT read that entertains and holds your interest from start to finish. If you like the character, John Corey, you must have this book!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Have read all of the John Corey series and loved them all. This

    Have read all of the John Corey series and loved them all. This one did not disappoint. I don't know why so many reviews are unfavorable. Waiting anxiously for #7!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    I liked it!

    I really liked this book. John Corey is one of my favorite characters and i thought this book fit right in with the series. The witty dialogue and twists and turns of the story made this a very enjoyable read. I can't wait for the next John Corey book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    WOW

    Corey and Brenner toe to toe is totally snarky FUN!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    As usual, Nelson Demille does not disappoint with his new book, The Panther. Once you start, plan on not doing anything but reading this book; you won't be able to put it down. John Corey is at his best, sarcastic as always.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    I have read almost all of DeMille's books. The Panther is 5 sta

    I have read almost all of DeMille's books. The Panther is 5 stars.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    As per usual-couldn't put it down

    Complicated plot, engaging characters, riveting to the end! DeMille does it again with Panther. He way he draws the reader into the scenes is captivating. Emotions rise, hopes are dashed, and values are challenged with each chapter. Never boring, for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Love John Corey

    I love this whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    K

    K

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Zane to wolf

    Go to rise res 7

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Good reading!

    Really enjoyed this one and do recommended it. once started I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Black panther to any of u who want to rp my kits and there father

    Can anyone rp my kits and there father kits names:blackkit darkkit shadowkit and stormkitand there father name is is darknesstorm if u want to rply back to black panther

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    REVENGECLAW

    he sighed."i wanted her to be my apprentnce so badly..."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Panther

    "How comw." She yawned waking up from her small nap.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Cloud

    Nods, "thanks" (where are bios?)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Star

    Star walked tiredly to Midnight the young pup curled up inbetween her paws. Burying her face into Midnights chest fur, makeing soft little whimpers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Keal

    Looked around while Zornona streched

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Midnight

    Sorry i was busy} Midnight stared down at the young pup at her paws and smiled. As the sky darkened she lays down, careful not ti wake you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7