Customer Reviews for

The Parent's Guide to Texting, Facebook, and Social Media: Understanding the Benefits and Dangers of Parenting in a Digital World

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    A must read for any parent

    I am so glad I read this book. Even though I use technology extensively there were many hidden dangers I was unaware of. This guide provided great insight into what is really going on in a teen's cyber world and how best to deal with it. Parents need to start young and start right when enabling their children with the tools of today and this will help them do it with ease. This is everything a parent needs to know in one book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    You must check this out! Great information!

    I'm in my late 20's and my daughter is getting around that age where she wants to get Facebook and join other online social media sites. At first I wasn't comfortable with it but I heard Shawn Edgington talk about Social Media and ways to protect our children and I feel more comfortable with idea of her having a Facebook! I can't wait for the book to come out i'm sure it will be able to ease my worries!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    A Great Read for Parents! Can't wait to get my copy!

    I saw Mrs. Edgington on Fox business news during the holidays and she really opened my eyes to what type of cell phone to get my daughter. She explained the dangers that can happen with social media, and I'm looking forward to her insightful and informative book. I also recommend checking out her website with incredible resources and information. Thanks for keeping our children safe!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    Fame Whore Beware!!

    If I could give this book a ZERO, I would! This women is a sham and knows nothing about this topic. She is such an idiot it boggles the mind. Insurance, really? That has nothing to do with cyberbullying, and she herself is a bully. Read the work of a bad mother and CEO of insurance. Let's see if she can write a book about that without law suites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    What a Joke!!!!

    What bull, this is the most rediculous thing I've ever read and seen....Don't waste your time! This women is a sham and a real idiot!! She should really be called on her lies! Who is this women to give advice on parenting with NO education?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    A Definate "Must Have" for Parents!

    Shawn Edgington's guide for parents is a must have for any parent with children ages 6 to 18. Shawn objectively identifies the dangers associated with uncontrolled access to social media and texting for kids/teens and gives practical advice to parents on how to dramatically reduce the risks and keep their children safe. She even provides sample parent/child contracts and outlines suggested acountability measures to use to correct behavior. All in all, this is an excellent resouce that parents will refer to over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Something everyone needs!

    As an uncle I never really thought about my nephews and nieces doing wrong on my computer. But this book took me to new heights of security and made sure my friends, sisters, and children, took light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    The book to buy!

    Really! This book can save you SO much! It made me rethink my facebook account in many ways!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Totally great!

    I was very happy with this book, I got so much more out of this then i thought i would! Very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    An interesting read....

    I thought this book was very informative. I'm an avid social media user and this book gave me many tips on how to protect my online information and image. I suggest this book highly to social media users.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Great advice for all parents!

    Thank you Shawn! A quick way to get up-to-speed with today's technology and keep your kids safe!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Great Resource For Parents

    As a school principal for for 24 years and as someone who has given dozens of parenting and Cyber Safety seminars I highly recommend Shawn's book. Shawn clearly explains the problem, then gives solid, easy to follow solutions. She does not scare parents, but honestly presents the dangers. Then explains how parents can be wise to the dangers and implement solutions as well as wise practices for prevention. I found Shawn's understanding of children to be realistic which caused her advice to be right on. If you are looking for good solid advice on handling the many mine fields that today's technology brings you should avail yourself of Shawn's book. Mark Strohm CyberSafetySeminar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Every Parent, Teacher, and Politician Needs to Read This Book!

    The Parent's Guide to Texting, Facebook, and Social Media is a must-read for every parent. Shawn Edgington has done a phenomenal job at tackling a 21st century parent's worst nightmare - cyberbullying and harassment. The book is well researched and loaded with compelling, if not shocking, statistics about the extent of the problem and its devastating effect on our children. Shawn offers simple solutions and common sense approach to protecting children from cyberbullying and harassment. And if that's not all - she includes helpful resource links and sample parent-child contracts throughout the book. It's an easy read for a very difficult subject. The Parent's Guide to Texting, Facebook, and Social Media should be put in the hands and desks of every parent, politician, and teacher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    A must-have for today's parents

    This book contains real stories, the latest statistics, and useful solutions for parents. Perhaps what I liked best was how realistic the advice is. Clearly, Edgington understands the serious dangers kids face online, and she offers smart advice that parents can use to protect their children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Not just for parents of kids

    Ok, I'll admit, I don't have kids. But I read this book. I think I'm pretty savvy about the Internet too. I don't walk down dark alleys at night and keep my keys handy to use as a weapon in dark parking lots. Forewarned is forearmed.

    But I read this book because I do know that what I can't see or don't pay attention to can get me. If I don't choose to learn more, then I'm at risk.

    Shawn Marie's book is for all of us! We don't know what's happening in the dark of the Internet and apparently there is much more than I would have thought that I needed to pay attention to. Scary wisdom. Scary good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Great Book - Not just for parents

    Finally a book that breaks down social media for all of us. I really liked the parent's guide tips, warning signs, stories and resources. I found the information on privacy settings and friending your teen very helpful. All I can say is that if you know a teen or soon to be teen this is a must read. It is not just for parents, we all need to understand the new way our teens are communicating .....aunts, uncles, grandparents, educators and friends. The sooner we all get up to speed on this Social Media thing the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    A valuable source for parents

    The world is changing at such a fast pace, especially in the technology field, it's difficult to keep up. But, there seems to be no end to how people use every opportunity to be deceitful and malicious. Yes, Facebook and other social media sites are great in keeping us connected, but there are many pitfalls. This book gives great detail on those pitfalls as well as information on how to deal with each of them. This is a terrific source for parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    A big thanks to the AUTHOR!

    All I can say is thank you!! You helped me out SO much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    A very good book...

    As a father I surprised of this book, I didn't think it applied to me. But after seeing the news and reading the forward of this book. It changed my views on social media and Facebook. My son enjoys Facebook so much but I never thought I should make sure he makes good decisions on posts. Thanks to this book I don't have to worry about that. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    Highly Reccomend for Any Parent!

    Good information and tips for how to keep your children safe on the internet. This book should be read by every parent even if you were raised in the digital age like myself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3