Customer Reviews for

The Partner

Average Rating 4
( 690 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(247)

4 Star

(239)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Partner

After dancing around Grisham for awhile I finally grabbed The Partner and became hooked on his novels. The power of greed and ultimately the impact on people caught up in it are showcased in this book. I enjoyed the characters and the book flowed so well I had to forc...
After dancing around Grisham for awhile I finally grabbed The Partner and became hooked on his novels. The power of greed and ultimately the impact on people caught up in it are showcased in this book. I enjoyed the characters and the book flowed so well I had to force myself to put it down at night. A legal thriller that was fun to read.

posted by Praetor on January 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not one of Grisham's better efforts

I must make an admission...I have been a big fan of John Grisham for a long time. I know that this book was written over a decade ago. I'm still playing catchup with my reading. I have four entire shelves of books to be read and I keep adding to the stack faster than I ...
I must make an admission...I have been a big fan of John Grisham for a long time. I know that this book was written over a decade ago. I'm still playing catchup with my reading. I have four entire shelves of books to be read and I keep adding to the stack faster than I can read them. Such is the burden of a lover of books. Anyway, as with most of John Grisham's other books, this one revolves around a lawyer and the wranglings of the legal system. I have read all of his novels prior to this one (the others are in the "to be read" column). At 366 pages, it is a pretty quick read. As with all of my reviews of fiction, I won't ruin the ending. The story is of a former lawyer - Patrick Lanigan - turned thief...a thief to the tune of $90 million. Stolen from his law firm after faking his own death. the story picks up from the time he is apprehended, 4 years after he fled, first by those who want the money back and then by the FBI. The story twists around through a web of agendas including his reasons for leaving his wife and child. It is a page-turner that keeps a rapid pace with a great deal of action, especially early on. However, compared with the rest of Grisham's legal thrillers, this one is somewhat weak in two areas. The story is pretty far fetched. A great deal of bungling by an awful lot of people is required for this story to work. In addition, it is pretty predictable, especially from the mid-point of the book forward.


While I would not go so far as to say that the book was a disappointment, it was not one of Grisham's better efforts. In spite of it's problems, though, it is still a pretty good story.

posted by ChadAaronSayban on August 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    Not one of Grisham's better efforts

    I must make an admission...I have been a big fan of John Grisham for a long time. I know that this book was written over a decade ago. I'm still playing catchup with my reading. I have four entire shelves of books to be read and I keep adding to the stack faster than I can read them. Such is the burden of a lover of books. Anyway, as with most of John Grisham's other books, this one revolves around a lawyer and the wranglings of the legal system. I have read all of his novels prior to this one (the others are in the "to be read" column). At 366 pages, it is a pretty quick read. As with all of my reviews of fiction, I won't ruin the ending. The story is of a former lawyer - Patrick Lanigan - turned thief...a thief to the tune of $90 million. Stolen from his law firm after faking his own death. the story picks up from the time he is apprehended, 4 years after he fled, first by those who want the money back and then by the FBI. The story twists around through a web of agendas including his reasons for leaving his wife and child. It is a page-turner that keeps a rapid pace with a great deal of action, especially early on. However, compared with the rest of Grisham's legal thrillers, this one is somewhat weak in two areas. The story is pretty far fetched. A great deal of bungling by an awful lot of people is required for this story to work. In addition, it is pretty predictable, especially from the mid-point of the book forward.


    While I would not go so far as to say that the book was a disappointment, it was not one of Grisham's better efforts. In spite of it's problems, though, it is still a pretty good story.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Great book

    Must read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Good but not great

    First, I will admit that I am probably the biggest of Grisham's fans, as far as his legal thrillers. He really knows his subject matter as was evident in greats such as A Time to Kill and The Rainmaker. But for some reason, I didn't particularly care for the characters in this novel. Patrick Lanigan is not in the same realm of protagonists as Jake Brigance, Darby Shaw, or Rudy Baylor, just to name a few. It was a pretty quick read packed with your typical Grisham suspense, but the lack of sympathy I had for the characters kept it from getting 4 or 5 stars from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Please read this book,i will not be dissapointed.

    This a very good story. i love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Rarher intriguing...

    I wasn't sure about this one, but as I read it I became more intrigued. It had plenty of twists & turns to keep you thinking as only Grisham can do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    More like 3 1/2 stars

    So, I'm thinking like does John Grisham have a thing for over-billing or something? This premise starts out with the same trouble as The Firm. Well, he definitely does hook you with all the action, but this book ending is quite predictable. I enjoy reading about how everything unravels, but it's a pretty straight forward thriller. His writing is similiar to Dan Brown's for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Predictable+ending

    A+good+read%2C+but+the+ending+was+predetermined

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    cleverly thought out plot

    Great story but I didn't like the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    THe ending could have be better.

    This novel by Mr. Grisham was not that bad. It wasn't great and it would have been if the ending had a realistic script. But, overall I enjoyed the story and I liked the characters. If you're a tire=hard Grisham fan by all means enjoy it. If you're not you may find it to be a so-so read. Just my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Pretty good.

    My first Grisham book. A little slow in the middle with too many names but overall was interesting and had a good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    Good, not Great!

    I happen to be a very big fan of John Grisham's works however, I was not such a fan of this book. John Grisham is a master at creating believable dialogue and realistic characters, which is always a good thing. Yet, even in these particular writing skills, Grisham has failed to create an exceptionally interesting story. The plot was sufferable (and really the only thing that held my attention) but, in the grand scheme of things, the story somewhat fell flat in the end. The Testament and The Pelican Brief were much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    Exciting, but left you hanging

    I found the book gripping and suspenseful. I was disappointed with the ending. I felt all loose-ends were not tied up at the end. What happened?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    A fair judgment of 'The Partner' By John Grisham

    When I first opened the story I was amazed at first at how good it seemed to be. It wasn't long though before holes could be found all through the story. It wouldn't have been that easy for the main character to do what he done. Two questions for the beginning of the timed plot. Why didn't he just run around the world until the people chasing him ran out of money. He should have known they couldn't fund the search forever and he had people keeping a watch on them, and why didn't he settle as a free man if he had it all planned out like that? More small holes could be found through the story like illegal documenting that wouldn't stand up in court. (Sigh) And for a book that captivated me in the beginning it sure let me down in the end. This is my second read by this author. After reading 'The Runaway Jury' I am surprised he would isolate his readers with a sad...and I do mean sad and tastless ending that makes you want to hit something. The only word that fits the ending is this. Figures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    I EXPECTED A LITTLE MORE!

    The Partner was okay. The plot was well-developed, but I thought some of the story lines were a little redundant compared to other Grisham novels that I've read. It flowed well, but there weren't any real good unexpected twists like some of his other work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    A bit predictable, but still a great Grisham

    John Grisham's reputation for a great thriller has not been damaged. This is a great, fast-paced read with a little deception and romance tossed in to give it a well-rounded appeal. I felt the ending was a bit predictable, the foreshadowing was too obvious to leave much question as to how it would end, but still a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    It was a good book until the last couple of pages.

    I liked the book, until the end, and it will make a good movie. However, I guarantee you that the ending will be different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2000

    Grisham gets you in the end!

    This book starts off slow...but ends with a bang. Not one of Grisham's best, but a good one to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    Intriguing

    John Grisham is a master story teller. The layout of the Partner is no exception to this fact. However, the ending seemed like it was slapped in for a quick ironic resolve. I would have liked a more detailed plot at that point, and a more satisfying ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    Grisham's mediocre novel

    The story in this book moves extremely slow. The only good thing in it is the ending where you will be throughly suprised.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 1999

    Legal nonsense

    The book is basically legal rubbish. Nothing is legally accurate at all in this book. It is a good read but not one of his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6