Customer Reviews for

The Partner

Average Rating 4
( 690 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(247)

4 Star

(239)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Partner

After dancing around Grisham for awhile I finally grabbed The Partner and became hooked on his novels. The power of greed and ultimately the impact on people caught up in it are showcased in this book. I enjoyed the characters and the book flowed so well I had to forc...
After dancing around Grisham for awhile I finally grabbed The Partner and became hooked on his novels. The power of greed and ultimately the impact on people caught up in it are showcased in this book. I enjoyed the characters and the book flowed so well I had to force myself to put it down at night. A legal thriller that was fun to read.

posted by Praetor on January 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not one of Grisham's better efforts

I must make an admission...I have been a big fan of John Grisham for a long time. I know that this book was written over a decade ago. I'm still playing catchup with my reading. I have four entire shelves of books to be read and I keep adding to the stack faster than I ...
I must make an admission...I have been a big fan of John Grisham for a long time. I know that this book was written over a decade ago. I'm still playing catchup with my reading. I have four entire shelves of books to be read and I keep adding to the stack faster than I can read them. Such is the burden of a lover of books. Anyway, as with most of John Grisham's other books, this one revolves around a lawyer and the wranglings of the legal system. I have read all of his novels prior to this one (the others are in the "to be read" column). At 366 pages, it is a pretty quick read. As with all of my reviews of fiction, I won't ruin the ending. The story is of a former lawyer - Patrick Lanigan - turned thief...a thief to the tune of $90 million. Stolen from his law firm after faking his own death. the story picks up from the time he is apprehended, 4 years after he fled, first by those who want the money back and then by the FBI. The story twists around through a web of agendas including his reasons for leaving his wife and child. It is a page-turner that keeps a rapid pace with a great deal of action, especially early on. However, compared with the rest of Grisham's legal thrillers, this one is somewhat weak in two areas. The story is pretty far fetched. A great deal of bungling by an awful lot of people is required for this story to work. In addition, it is pretty predictable, especially from the mid-point of the book forward.


While I would not go so far as to say that the book was a disappointment, it was not one of Grisham's better efforts. In spite of it's problems, though, it is still a pretty good story.

posted by ChadAaronSayban on August 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Partner

    After dancing around Grisham for awhile I finally grabbed The Partner and became hooked on his novels. The power of greed and ultimately the impact on people caught up in it are showcased in this book. I enjoyed the characters and the book flowed so well I had to force myself to put it down at night. A legal thriller that was fun to read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Maria A.

    I am an avid reader and carefully select my reads. This book had a great story line, and I had a hard time putting it down.there was no way to figure out how the character would make out until it was actually told. I'm only disappointed in the ending, because once it started to unravel, it ended quite quickly. I'd read it again.


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    definitely recommend it

    an excellent Grisham novel. Couldn't put it down..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Pretty good book.

    Sucked me in very quickly! Wich was great because my hisb and kept reccomending it and just because he did I refused to read it for a long time but it was pretty damn good! Just read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Good book

    I like this book, my first book i ever read by him. The ending still has me wondering and wanting to know more about what happened to him. Wish the author would have wrote more so i wouldnt have to come up with my own ending but overall it was good and kept me turning the pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Great book

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Great read!

    Great book. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Story

    I enjoyed reading this, lots of twists and turns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Must read, if you are a John Grisham fan

    John Grisham is one of my favorite authors, ever since I read the book, "The Firm". I enjoy his descriptions of locations in the South. This book has a different twist, one I think most readers will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Predictable

    Predictable but a good reading....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Very good

    I am always glued to every page of a Grisham book and this one did not let me down,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Great

    Think this book is great so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    Edge of Your Seat

    Typical Grisham that you cannot put down. I did not want my flight to end and found myself thinking about it long after I finished the book. Instantly grabs you and keeps you engaged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    3.5 stars

    I would really give this one 3.5 stars. The story is interesting amd quite suspeseful at times but his nail in the coffin resolution wasn't very fulfilling. It was a decent enough travel book, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Turnabout is fairplay I suppose

    An excellent story that kept me turning the pages quickly from start to finish. Ironic ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    If you enjoy John Grisham novels this is definetly one to add to the list. If you haven't read any yet.. definetly a good one to start with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Very Good - but not Grisham's best

    Don't know how I missed this book (paperback) the first time around. We've read all of his books. This one had a great plot and kept you reading on and on. However, my husband and I were both really disappointed in the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Surprise Ending

    kept me wanting more until the end which left it open for a possible sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    Unpredicable

    I would recommend this book to anyone that loves to read mystery books or even likes to watch them one TV. For example say you like watching Law N Order, I would tell you to read this book because I love watch TV shows where they have to solve something and I couldn¿t put this book down. I use not be a reader because usually the books I read I would always got bored with them in the middle and they just wouldn¿t keep my attention long enough. Throughout this book it kept me on my toes and it was even hard for me to stop reading it. Every time I would put it down I would pick it right up again to see what happens next. This book was mainly about this one man named Patrick went from being convicted with multiply chargers to only a few chargers! He went missing for four years. He left his perfect wife, daughter, and his great job. Lets just say he had everything he wanted and life, so we thought. Read the book to see why he all of a sudden decides to leave everything. Lindsay O.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Great For All Young Adults

    He knew he would get caught. The question is: ¿Did he plan his capture well enough to still walk away with the money?¿ The book I read was The Partner, by John Grisham. I give this novel four and a half stars. The author¿s audience is for young adults to adults. Danilo Silva ran from his past for years. He planned his escape from his home and office right down to the wire. What would a good escape be without missing money. John Grisham¿s argument in the book is to not trust even the closest of people. That¿s right, when you¿re on the run, you can only trust yourself. Danilo Silva was a hard edged person on his fight to freedom. When he went looking for a lawyer to help him with his money he found Eva Miranda. She lived in Reo but came from Brazil, the place where Danilo was hiding out. When she heard that he was captured, she did what she was trained to do, move and separate the money to places where Danilo or anybody else wouldn¿t know where it would be. This event sparks an ongoing search for the money. Some people will go to great lengths to find a great deal of money. Grisham does a excellent job of portraying the ways to legally snake your way through the law. He is very descriptive while, at the same time captivating the readers attention and never letting go. I like to think of the book like a snake that grips its prey and squeezes harder and harder. Each chapter gets more intense and you don¿t want to put the book down. The book has many twists and turns but the end of the book takes the biggest twist of them all. If you like this book, I would recommend the book The Broker, also by John Grisham. This book was riveting with every turn of the page. I¿ve read more than half of Grisham¿s books and I believe it is his second best book (his best book is hands down, The Broker). This book goes on my best books of all times list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12