Customer Reviews for

The Partner

Average Rating 4
( 688 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(246)

4 Star

(238)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Partner

After dancing around Grisham for awhile I finally grabbed The Partner and became hooked on his novels. The power of greed and ultimately the impact on people caught up in it are showcased in this book. I enjoyed the characters and the book flowed so well I had to forc...
After dancing around Grisham for awhile I finally grabbed The Partner and became hooked on his novels. The power of greed and ultimately the impact on people caught up in it are showcased in this book. I enjoyed the characters and the book flowed so well I had to force myself to put it down at night. A legal thriller that was fun to read.

posted by Praetor on January 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not one of Grisham's better efforts

I must make an admission...I have been a big fan of John Grisham for a long time. I know that this book was written over a decade ago. I'm still playing catchup with my reading. I have four entire shelves of books to be read and I keep adding to the stack faster than I ...
I must make an admission...I have been a big fan of John Grisham for a long time. I know that this book was written over a decade ago. I'm still playing catchup with my reading. I have four entire shelves of books to be read and I keep adding to the stack faster than I can read them. Such is the burden of a lover of books. Anyway, as with most of John Grisham's other books, this one revolves around a lawyer and the wranglings of the legal system. I have read all of his novels prior to this one (the others are in the "to be read" column). At 366 pages, it is a pretty quick read. As with all of my reviews of fiction, I won't ruin the ending. The story is of a former lawyer - Patrick Lanigan - turned thief...a thief to the tune of $90 million. Stolen from his law firm after faking his own death. the story picks up from the time he is apprehended, 4 years after he fled, first by those who want the money back and then by the FBI. The story twists around through a web of agendas including his reasons for leaving his wife and child. It is a page-turner that keeps a rapid pace with a great deal of action, especially early on. However, compared with the rest of Grisham's legal thrillers, this one is somewhat weak in two areas. The story is pretty far fetched. A great deal of bungling by an awful lot of people is required for this story to work. In addition, it is pretty predictable, especially from the mid-point of the book forward.


While I would not go so far as to say that the book was a disappointment, it was not one of Grisham's better efforts. In spite of it's problems, though, it is still a pretty good story.

posted by ChadAaronSayban on August 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 246 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    The Partner

    The Partner is a great mystery about the search for the truth. I loved this book, as I do all John Grisham novels. The Partner is about a new partner, Patrick Lanigan, to a little firm in Biloxi, Mississippi who finds out about an illegal deal in which the other partners are involved. Patrick learns that the other partners plan to fire him right before conducting the deal which is worth ninety million dollars. Patrick decides he will not let this happen, instead he will disappear. Patrick bugs the entire firm and all the partners¿ offices in order to learn everything about the deal before he makes his move. He decides to also take out a two million dollar life insurance policy for his unfaithful wife and infant daughter (who really isn¿t his). Just before the deal is expected to take place and Patrick is going to be let go, he dies in a fiery car crash leaving behind hardly any bodily remains. The case is pretty straight forward and within a couple of days his charred bones are cremated. The morning the deal takes place, right as the money arrives from the client at a bank in the Bahamas, it vanishes. The money disappears. It was transferred from the bank by an imposter without a trace. The client and the firm hire private investigators and after years and years of chasing, they get an anonymous tip that Patrick Lanigan is living in Brazil. From this point on, the novel is a mystery as we find out how Patrick did it and how his life will turn out after his capture (it¿s not what you¿d expect).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    One of his Best ever.

    I really liked the Partner. It was fast moving and always exciting. I have read many of John Grisham's books and would rate this very high on the list. If you are looking for a fast moving book that will keep the pages turning and the suspense coming take a look at this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    favorite grisham

    My favorite part about this book is that it really keeps you interested. I could not wait to see what had happened to Danilo and his past, and how it all would work out for him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    My favorite John Grisham book of all time

    Stealing money from the mob has never been known to be the most brilliant of ideas, but this story explains the consequences of doing just that. Grisham gives the reader a thrill ride and a morality tale all in one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    'To Tell The Truth???'

    Quite a few years ago, there was a television show called ¿To Tell the Truth¿ in which a celebrity panel, egged on by a celebrity moderator, would try to guess which of three guest panelists, when quizzed about their lives and circumstances, would turn out to be the actual named person. The game always ended in the command ¿Will the real `John Doe¿ please stand up¿, at which point our suspense was relieved and we all got to congratulate or commiserate on our own candidate of choice. And so with our now famous author, some times I feel like saying ¿Will the real John Grisham please stand up.¿ In Partner, this is not (to my mind, thankfully) the slow-paced dramatist of book one, A Time to Kill, or book five, The Chamber, the latter of which I predicted would never be a movie (wrong!) for its dullness and lack of intrigue (right!). Nor is this the social commentator proselytizing in The Rainmaker (wife abuse is bad) or The Runaway Jury (smoking is bad), although at least these two gave us moderately satisfying page-turners. Nope -- the good news is that our clever creator of Pelican Brief, The Client, and The Firm is back, with all the complexities of plot, action and thrills, even an ironic twist at the end, to captivate our imaginations and keep us up until three in the morning with no regrets. And make no mistake, this movie will be a barn burner -- the only question being how many millions more will it dump into the Grisham coffers. By now, you may have heard snatches of the plot. I hate to spoil the story, but the gist is that a successful young law firm partner ¿dies¿ in an accident, only to be discovered years later hiding abroad with close to eight figures in stolen loot. [Relax -- all that becomes clear in chapter one of forty-three, so I¿m hardly giving away the plot...] What follows are the intricacies of legal maneuvers and one-up-man-ship by our hero, as he masterminds his own extrication from prison, while gradually spinning the whole incredible yarn through various conversations meted out carefully enough to keep us turning pages into the wee hours. So, for me, the best John Grisham has indeed stood up -- with riveting story telling, political and social insight into the mechanisms of lawyering, and a tale that engrosses from start to finish. Can¿t wait for the movie !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Good read

    One of his best books since The Firm. I've liked most of all his books but this is one of his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Top notch

    My favorite author with one of my top two favorite books. Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Good book

    Good book. Th ending was a surprise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Great read but the ending left me wanting more.

    You will not want to put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    An Awesome Read

    I could not put this book down. I loved the story and of course the ending was totally unexpected. Great escape reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Excellent

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book

    On edge the entire book... this story was well told and keeps you guessing through the whole story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Ryan

    Tlbhp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Loved this book...

    To me, this is Grisham's best. Great story, as expected from Grisham, but with a kick. Keepds you turning those pages...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    Every lawyers dream!

    What a wild ride! I loved the story and also the descriptions of small town lawyers and what each headline does to affect them and how they are all seeing things through the prism of "How does this affect me? How can I work this to my advantage. Of course the story stretches reality but the ending was one that haunted me for a few days. Big, big story of dreams and betrayals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    great book

    i loved this book , it's plot is just amazing and once you start, you get hooked,but to be honest i hated the ending,but is just one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    A book that you will stay glued to! The story of a Deep South attorney that steals ill-gotten-gains from a client and his law partners and fakes his own death. It peels back the onion of what appears to be a slam-dunk case after the 'the partner's' capture in Brazil. Although portions of subplots have predictable conclusions, the overall story is quite entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    Action Packed Satric Novel

    John Grisham masterfully pens one of his best novels yet, an edge-of-your-seat action packed thriller that will force you to find answers to the questions presented to the reader. You will sweat when Patrick Lanigan is tortured and your heart will pound as you try to escape the police, bounty hunters, and the FBI as you try to prove your innocence. Great book recomended for ages 16+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    This book is GREAT!

    Well i have read The Firm, The Street Lawyer, and The Runaway Jury from this author. i thought this book was one of his better books although i have liked all. This was the first book i read by him and i thought it was the best. I didn't think there was any bland spots in this book. although i dont agree with the ending i can live with it. I just thought the book was amazing. After reading it i sat there looking at the book thinking how did that man do it.(the character i mean).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    marvellous

    beginning from a small town, the story continues with great fluency.First reaction to the story was anxiousness but as patrick continues to let the cat out of bag the tension turns into excitement. The cncept was unusual but strong.Ilove the climax and of course the anti climax of the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 246 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13