BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Party Is Over: How Republicans Went Crazy, Democrats Became Useless, and the Middle Class Got Shafted

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

If I could give it 6 stars, I would! A MUST READ, especially now.

More than any other recent 'political' book, I found Lofgren's book to be especially relevant right now, before the election in November. If you are looking for an even-handed account of how we got to the point we are at as a nation, read this book. Period.

posted by Paull911 on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great title, disappointing book

While I find that the subtitle perfectly describes how I feel about both parties, it fails to fulfill its promise of describing how the parties reached their current state of disfunction. Rather it is one long cliched gripe that basically just repeats common critticism...
While I find that the subtitle perfectly describes how I feel about both parties, it fails to fulfill its promise of describing how the parties reached their current state of disfunction. Rather it is one long cliched gripe that basically just repeats common critticisms discussed daily in the news media. I also must ask why the author finds only economic issues as important and views social issues as mere distractions and why he blames only the Republican party for using those issues to distract from what he views as important when both parties use their stand on social issues to attract voters.

posted by 17517971 on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    If I could give it 6 stars, I would! A MUST READ, especially now.

    More than any other recent 'political' book, I found Lofgren's book to be especially relevant right now, before the election in November. If you are looking for an even-handed account of how we got to the point we are at as a nation, read this book. Period.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    We laugh because it's funny; we cry because it's true

    Recently, Mr. Lofgren appeared on the Charlie Rose program in an indepth interview. I found Lofgren to be a wry insightful intellectual with something important to say, and saying very well. From inside the Beltway, finally someone 'socks it to 'em'. Will Rogers, America's great satirist said, "We've got the best politicians that money can buy", and Lofgren lifts the skirts of our bellacose politicans. There is nothing really wrong with the ship, it's just the disgusting people who are running, sic. 'ruining', the ship these days. I'm 65, majored in political science and economics, and my old econ professor, Walter Heller, predicted this was coming in 1965! Read his, "New Dimensions of Political Economy". Not as tragicomedic as Lofgren's work, but worthy of any person interested in where we might be headed. Into that cold dark night. Rage, rage.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vtial Reading

    A polemical but thoughtfully accurate take on the collapse of the major parties in the United States by Mike Lofgren is a treasure. Mr. Lofgren is someone close to the subject, intellectually capable, and wise. Combined with several other recent works about politics is America, it is vital reading. Mr. Lofgren trained as a historian. His writing is fresh, lucid, and comprehensive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Informative collection.

    Here are all the things that have bothered you about politics but you were unable to put a name to it. Here it is defined, listed and exposed. I found this an intelligent assessment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Must read

    Highly recommend. Very timely.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Great title, disappointing book

    While I find that the subtitle perfectly describes how I feel about both parties, it fails to fulfill its promise of describing how the parties reached their current state of disfunction. Rather it is one long cliched gripe that basically just repeats common critticisms discussed daily in the news media. I also must ask why the author finds only economic issues as important and views social issues as mere distractions and why he blames only the Republican party for using those issues to distract from what he views as important when both parties use their stand on social issues to attract voters.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Mr. Lofgren hits the proverbial nail on the head over and over in his current book. A lifelong Republican, i switched my allegiance several years ago and registered Independent for many of the reasons he cites in his book. While I feel he could have been a bit rougher on the Democrats, I still think the book is a must read-especially for the younger members of our electorate. I took issue with just a few of his comments about the military. Not about military brass, more about our soldiers and their families who are asked to jump on a constantly revolving platform that has them home for shorter and shorter periods, putting them back into harm's way, leaving families behind and coming back broken in body and spirit. We give as generously as we can afford to The Wounded Warrior Project and Homes For Our Troops because our men and women come back with serious physical challenges and receive all too little support from Uncle Sam. Mr. Lofgren seems to suggest that soldiers and their families receive too much in the way of "retirement" and other monies. I would agree that changes have to be made in that area because we can no longer support the generous 20 year retirement option, but to suggest that the change needs to be made for those who have retired and have long lived on that promise seems to me to be a bit over the top. I have no problem with means testing, nor do I have a problem with enforcing the law that keeps top brass from leaving the military one week and becoming lobbyists and high paid consultants the next week. He does not seem to have an answer to the question of recruitment given a severely diminished salary/healthcare option. I was most impressed with his suggestions for the future. If we're going to fix the mess our government is in, many of the fixes are laid out in that section of the book and are worth serious consideration.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Informative, fast read

    It's always fun (and kind of depressing) to read something from a Washington insider. The 'conservative glossary' was hilarious! Highly recommended, 4.5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Great book.

    Anyone who still believes one party is better than the other really needs to read this book! Fascinating and scary at the same time. It cuts through all those that only listen for talking points, and provokes readers to question politicians and what (more like "who") they are for. Interesting having an insider's view of all the BS that politicians think we believe from them. Sad that many still do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    Recommended only moderately.

    Not very well documended and wandered from subject to subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    SONG REQUEST ROOM!

    Request songsm

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    SONG REQUEST ROOM

    Tell the DJ your favorite song & he will play it for you.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1