Customer Reviews for

The Passionate Mom: Dare to Parent in Today's World

Average Rating 5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    What an amazing journey this book has been able to take me on! I

    What an amazing journey this book has been able to take me on! I constantly struggle with guilt and how I make mistakes in my parenting. I mean, who doesn't want to be the perfect parent right? I read, and read, and READ every parenting book I can get my hands on, and before I know it I am more confused and more frustrated about what I am actually supposed to do, or NOT do. My children are miserable, my husband is miserable, I am beyond miserable and this downward spiral just keeps happening. Then I read The Passionate Mom- this is real folks. Real life. It's a gentle, forgiving and uplifting guide that will help you to be the very best parent you can be! Simply put, raw emotion and real-life expierence from the author reminds us that we are not alone in this parenting journey and that we all have struggles. Although I am not a religious person, Susan has taken simple religious teachings to give us a easy reminder of how to get back to the simple basics. She talks mostly about being passionate but there is such a much bigger lesson to be learned here. Each chapter made me want to go back and read it again, just in case I missed something. It's that good, get this book. You won't be disappointed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Wow. The Passionate Mom is truly a life changing book. I was hes

    Wow. The Passionate Mom is truly a life changing book. I was hesitant when I began reading. Wondering if I would be able to apply any takeaways in a timely fashion.I could not have been more wrong!! This book hits home from page 1. I have been recommending it to other moms since the moment I started reading. This is a must read for any Mom. Love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Wow. I have been telling other moms about this book since the mo

    Wow. I have been telling other moms about this book since the moment I picked it up. This is so much more than a parenting book. The 10 P's can be applied to anything one is passionate about. Definitely, a book you need in hard copy to reference and remember all the amazing lessons. Thanks Susan for getting your great ideas out to the masses!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    The Passionate Mom by Susan Merrill is a book written for moms w

    The Passionate Mom by Susan Merrill is a book written for moms who are passionate to parent their children in purposeful ways. Susan's practical and biblical building blocks come from the book of Nehemiah in the Bible. There are ten ways a mother needs to cultivate as parent well: perception, pondering, passion, prayer, patience, preparation, purpose, planning, problem solving and perseverance. Each chapter outlines solid principles with Susan's real life examples, confessions and powerful encouragement to inspire moms to dare to be the parent that God has desired for them.

    I thought I was a passionate mom, but after reading this book I feel like I've been given the tools to really be the passionate mom I want to be. I was very intrigued with Susan's connection of how to be a mom with the story of Nehemiah. She strategically wrote step by step exactly how to embrace the high calling of a mom and rely totally on God for all that is needed. She identified so many areas that I need to work on and also addressed areas I hadn't even thought of yet like dating, computers, cell phones and social media (my kids are still very young). I was very impressed, encouraged and inspired to pursue being a passionate mom. This book is a definite must have for moms who need biblical, practical and honest truth to pursue God's desire for motherhood in their lives.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Whether you are religious or not, this book really hits home for

    Whether you are religious or not, this book really hits home for all moms. I don't think I've ever read a single parenting book from which I was able to use every tip, pointer, piece of advice. This book is so different. It really doesn't matter how old your kids are, it applies to all! I am a working mommy of 3 kids (8, 6 and 3). This book has made me feel like I can handle it all with PASSION!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    This book was absolutely life changing and eye opening when it c

    This book was absolutely life changing and eye opening when it comes to parenting! I am new to parenting and I'm glad I found this book early. I recommend this book for anyone struggling to be more passionate at being a mom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    I love, love, LOVE this book!!!  It is WONDERFUL and made me tak

    I love, love, LOVE this book!!!  It is WONDERFUL and made me take a look at my parenting style.  It's full of great ideas that I started implementing right away that my kids have been receptive to.  Susan Merrill is a fantastic writer and I would buy and read any book she puts out.  It's an easy read (and being a full time working Mom - I don't have a ton of time to read) but I zipped right through this and it was ENGAGING!
      
    DON'T MISS OUT ON THIS BOOK!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    I am a mother to three wonderful children (ages 4, 8 and 18) and

    I am a mother to three wonderful children (ages 4, 8 and 18) and also work full-time outside of the home. I know time is precious and I have to say this is one of those books you will want to pick up each time you have that extra time. This book has been such an eye-opener for me in so many ways!!! The Passionate Mom will be changing lives...April 16 can't come soon enough. Feeling very blessed to be a part of this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    This book was amazing! I started making notes within the first c

    This book was amazing! I started making notes within the first chapter and immediately putting into practice some of the suggestions. My boys responded positively! I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Are you a parent? Are you expecting? Read this book. Then next y

    Are you a parent? Are you expecting? Read this book. Then next year, read it again. This book echoes my hope for my children & reassures me that I’m not alone. We are constantly questionning ourselves as moms whether it be our style of raising a child, discipline techniques, or our relationship with each child. This book does an amazing job of touching on so many aspects of parenting and then giving real life examples. You will find yourself shaking your head yes or saying “exactly” chapter after chapter.
    The author has 5 children of her own, drawing the reader in providing first hand accounts of her experiences. You’ll learn about building your own “wall” for your children. The first brick described is perhaps the most important and a true testament to Susan’s abilities as a mom. Brick #1 is Perception, “A passionate mom must perceive what is happening in her child’s world”. As you read thru the remaining 7 “bricks” you will be captivated with how you relate to each. Regardless of the age of your child or children, you will be able to relate to the content in this book. I will be purchasing this book for my closest girlfriends and I’m hopeful they will pass the book on to other great moms.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Susan Merrill did an excellent job writing a book relevant to pa

    Susan Merrill did an excellent job writing a book relevant to parenting today. She validated many of my maternal feelings and intuitions. I love how she not only validates motherhood today, but she also relates it back to biblical principles. This book will help reveal areas of weakness and give practical advice on being a better mother. It’s easy to get into a routine of habit and miss opportunities with our children simply because we are too busy to notice. As Susan says, you must have a BHAG (Big Hairy Audacious Plan). Susan’s words will inspire you to see past your present struggles in a positive mother and your children will thank you for perfecting her 10 P’s! Love, Love, Love this book and author!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    Couldn't put it down!!! Love this book so much!

    Couldn't put it down!!! Love this book so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    I¿ve read a lot of books on parenting, especially since I was/am

    I’ve read a lot of books on parenting, especially since I was/am a young mom and I wanted to make sure that I wasn’t messing anything up. After all, children don’t come with a book that tells you how to raise them even if some of us wish they did! Everyone has different opinions on how to properly raise a child and you’ll even get opinions from complete strangers. An elderly woman in a store once walked up, plucked my daughters pacifier from her mouth and said in her most matter of fact tone “Babies don’t need these nasty things.” She refused to give it back and it took a manager and two police for the woman to return the item she had yanked from my now screaming infants mouth.
    There are people who say spankings work best and others say time out, even more say love and positive reinforcement and I’ll  be honest when I hear positive reinforcement it makes me think of dogs but I can understand the concept. With so many theories, how do you know which book will give you the right advice? Well because the right book will jump out at you, keep you on the edge of your seat and make you want to read until it’s done. That’s what this book did for me. The Passionate Mom gives amazing advice and spiritual guidance as well. So if you’re looking for an amazing parenting book then this is the one I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Recommended Read

    I'm so thankful to have found this book shortly after the birth of my daughter. It has been a blessing and encouragement to me as I enter into motherhood. I highly recommend it to all of my expecting friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    The Passionate Mom ¿ Dare to parent in today¿s world ¿ Susan Mer

    The Passionate Mom – Dare to parent in today’s world – Susan Merrill

    There are many parenting books out there aimed at mom’s in today’s world – how to cope with the frantic pace of life that we all lead and to stay on top of raising well adjusted moral children.

    I must admit that the idea of Nehemiah being the basis for a book about mom’s seemed somewhat out there for me but I was pleasantly surprised. Using for P’s as the framework and structure for her book, Susan Merrill fleshes out what it means to be a Christian mom raising children in a world that does not support the efforts of these champions. Perception, Pondering, Passion and Prayer is the framework for the walls that we build protecting ad providing for our children.

    A well written book. Very good and highly recommended to anybody wanting to really get to grips firstly with the big job of raising Godly children and secondly a deeper understanding of the book of Nehemiah.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Have you ever really wanted to read a book but then didn¿t quit

    Have you ever really wanted to read a book but then didn’t quit feel confident in yourself to write a clear, positive, and thoughtful review? That’s me with Susan Merrill’s The Passionate Mom!! I don’t want my lack of talent with words to cause any mom to dismiss this book. (What I’m simply saying is “Read this book!”)




    However, if everyone looks at a few of those who have already written glowing reviews for this book... 




    *Shaunti Feldhahn (wife, mom, speaker and best-selling author of "For Women Only"), 
    *Tony & Lauren Dungy (parents of 9, author, retired NFL coach and National Spokesman for All Pro Dad), 
    *Jill Savage (wife, mom, author and founder & CEO of Hearts at Home), 
    *Dr. Dennis Rainey (husband, father, author and host of FamilyLife Today), and 
    *Denise Jonas (wife and also mother of Kevin, Joe, Nick and Frankie Jonas)... 




    (What they are also saying is “Read this book!”)




    Wow! The influence of my words won’t be that big anyway!




    But I figured that most moms also want to hear from “real” moms (no offense to those above, but I’m sure you know what I mean). :) So, here are my thoughts:




    I was draw to this book, first because I’m a mom and really feel the need for some God-centered wisdom for raising kids in today’s world. Secondly, I loved that she uses Nehemiah to apply to parenting, and I wanted to see how she did that! I read through the book pretty slowly because there was so much --- generous encouragement, Merrill honestly sharing her struggles, practical help, biblical advice.... This is not a quick read, but a book that you work through and God also will use to work through you. 




    Susan Merrill shows us Nehemiah’s pattern... “He knew what he was called to do. He perceived the situation, he pondered every task, he was driven with passion to search for solutions, he prayed for direction, he patiently waited for opportunities, he methodically prepared to take action, he maintained his purpose, he developed the plan, and he persevered through problems (problem solving) to the end.” Individually she apply these ten Ps to “building the wall” for protection and “opening the gates” for provision around our children.




    And if you didn’t get my point already, let’s try this one more time. Yes, I am trying to encourage you to Read This Book!! Enjoy! And God bless you and your family :)




    Disclosure: I received this ebook free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    This book has been a game changer for me! I couldn't put it down

    This book has been a game changer for me! I couldn't put it down and found that I didn't have to MAKE time to read it but rather just couldn't stop reading it. The author, Susan Merrill, dishes out some amazing, authentic, useful parenting advice. In this book, she uses the 10 P's of parenting (perception, ponder, passion, prayer, patience, preparation, purpose, planning, problem solving and perseverance) to give us mothers some really incredible guidance. To say it is a "must read" is an understatement!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    I had the awesome opportunity to review Susan Merrill`s book &qu

    I had the awesome opportunity to review Susan Merrill`s book "The Passionate Mom: Dare to Parent in Today's World". The opportunity came from the author herself, whom I had the privilege of meeting at a friend's wedding last year.

    I have to assure the men that while this book is "The Passionate Mom", this book is for the dads as well. I think that every parent should read it. Perhaps it should be renamed The Passionate Parent?!

    Susan uses the book of Nehemiah as a guide for parenting. She talks about Nehemiah and his request for permission from the king to go repair the wall surrounding Jerusalem. She has 10 P's that title each chapter. The first P is Perception. When I was reading this chapter, I thought about how sometime I am so busy perceiving other peoples issues that I fail to perceive my own child's issues. To truly get what's going on with our kids, we have to spend a lot of time just watching and listening. What we actually do is talk to much and lecture and we miss the real story.

    Susan's fifth P word was Patience. Patience just happens to be a weakness for me as well as evidenced by it being my word to focus on for 2013. Let's just say that I get her issue with patience, because I have my own. Our kids need for us to be patient. They are fairly new to this thing we call life and we can't expect them to be as on the ball as those of us that have been around the block a few times.

    Susan touches on every imaginable topic that a mother (parent) needs to know about when raising children. I'm sorry I didn't have this book when my now 19 year old son was younger. I think it would have helped me through some of the tougher times he faced as a tender-hearted child. The good thing is that he is doing well, making friends, and growing up to be a fine man.

    So, go get the book, because it's fabulous. It goes on sale Tuesday, 4/16/2012. Susan is such a vibrant woman, wife, and mother. She and her husband Mark (of Family First & All Pro Dad & iMom fame) are raising children with various personalities. I can't imagine her not hitting of most situations that touch every family. And, while she writes from a Christian's perspective, non-Christians can learn from the examples she gives from her own experience in difficult or different times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Let¿s face it being a mother is the best job in the world, but i

    Let’s face it being a mother is the best job in the world, but it can also be an isolating and very hard job as well.  This book gives many real world examples that make you realize that as a mother you are not alone! When you have a newborn, there is a plan for everything, a plan for sleeping, a plan for eating, etc.  As your child grows, things change and a different kind of plan is needed, but what kind of plan and where do you find this plan?  The Passionate Mom gives you a plan and gives you encouragement!! In this book, a step by step plan is outlined based on the book of Nehemiah.  It is a very helpful and easy read.  I highly recommend this book to any Mom!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    Wow! What an incredible book. The Passionate Mom by Susan Merril

    Wow! What an incredible book. The Passionate Mom by Susan Merrill is a fantastic book for every mother. This book has to be the most refreshing, honest, thought provoking books on motherhood that I've ever read. She uses the book of Nehemiah from the Bible to draw out wisdom, advice and guidance for being a mom in today's world. She's honest about the trials as well as the joys of motherhood and you feel like you're right in the trenches with her not just reading about a mom who has it all together telling you how to do/be better. Every mother NEEDS to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3