Customer Reviews for

The Patriarch: The Remarkable Life and Turbulent Times of Joseph P. Kennedy

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book! I read the review of "The Patriach"

I loved this book! I read the review of "The Patriach" in the New York Times which called it "riveting," and you really can't put it down. It's like watching a TV mini-series, a panorama of American history in the twentieth century, and the role of...
I loved this book! I read the review of "The Patriach" in the New York Times which called it "riveting," and you really can't put it down. It's like watching a TV mini-series, a panorama of American history in the twentieth century, and the role of one man, Joseph Kennedy, in that history. Kennedy was a titanic figure, both good and bad, who founded America's most important political dynasty. He was a brilliant stock manipulator, a movie producer, a lover of many women, including the movie star, Gloria Swanson, and American ambassador to Great Britain leading up to World War II. And along the way, he raised nine children, among them a President, John Fitzgerald Kennedy, two Senators, Robert and Edward Kennedy, and Eunice Shriver, who founded the disabilities movement in America.

There are some repeated page NUMBERS only, not pages themselves, but Barnes and Noble is apparently fixing this. There is absolutely No text missing at all from the ebook -- the pages do seem to be laid out with white spaces between the sections. Maybe that's what this reviewer meant by missing text.

posted by Anonymous on November 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A very good read but I found this lacking and way to pro Kennedy

A very good read but I found this lacking and way to pro Kennedy and very hard to totally believe.  This was a truly ruthless man who would stop at nothing to get what he wanted.  The words  puff piece just kept popping into my head as I read on.  Just not in the class ...
A very good read but I found this lacking and way to pro Kennedy and very hard to totally believe.  This was a truly ruthless man who would stop at nothing to get what he wanted.  The words  puff piece just kept popping into my head as I read on.  Just not in the class of Robert Caro's volumes on Lyndon Johnson.  Final thoughts are once again, a good read but seeming to be lacking.

posted by Timco on December 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    I loved this book! I read the review of "The Patriach"

    I loved this book! I read the review of "The Patriach" in the New York Times which called it "riveting," and you really can't put it down. It's like watching a TV mini-series, a panorama of American history in the twentieth century, and the role of one man, Joseph Kennedy, in that history. Kennedy was a titanic figure, both good and bad, who founded America's most important political dynasty. He was a brilliant stock manipulator, a movie producer, a lover of many women, including the movie star, Gloria Swanson, and American ambassador to Great Britain leading up to World War II. And along the way, he raised nine children, among them a President, John Fitzgerald Kennedy, two Senators, Robert and Edward Kennedy, and Eunice Shriver, who founded the disabilities movement in America.

    There are some repeated page NUMBERS only, not pages themselves, but Barnes and Noble is apparently fixing this. There is absolutely No text missing at all from the ebook -- the pages do seem to be laid out with white spaces between the sections. Maybe that's what this reviewer meant by missing text.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    This is the definitive biography of Joseph Kennedy, the complex

    This is the definitive biography of Joseph Kennedy, the complex and fascinating founder of the Kennedy dynasty. It is informed by the author's impeccable research and deep knowledge of and engagement with the cultural, social and political currents of American history. Yet it reads like a novel. Though some pages are repeated in the Nook, nothing is missing. All the text is there. In any case, Barnes & Noble is aware of the problem and it will soon be corrected, if it hasn't been already

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    A very good read but I found this lacking and way to pro Kennedy

    A very good read but I found this lacking and way to pro Kennedy and very hard to totally believe.  This was a truly ruthless man who would stop at nothing to get what he wanted.  The words  puff piece just kept popping into my head as I read on.  Just not in the class of Robert Caro's volumes on Lyndon Johnson.  Final thoughts are once again, a good read but seeming to be lacking.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    As a Kennedy fan who has read many books in regard to the Kennedys'
    this book was one of the best that I have read. It held my attention and I learned about many aspects of Joseph Kennedy life that I was unaware of. This is well worth the time reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    The Patriarch

    David Nasaw the life of Jodeph Kennedy with his book. Tracing Kennedy's life totally it shows exactly how one man helped to describe the turbulent times of the 20th century with his accomplishments. A must read volume for anyone interested in the subject.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Excellent Read

    A detailed chronicle of one of America's most interesting and controversial figures. Anyone who has a sincere fascination of the Kennedy family must read "The Patriarch." The book is aptly titled and gives "Camelot" a whole new meaning. I had a tough time putting the book down until I read the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Good Book

    I recommend this book to readers who enjoy Kennedy family history. The author clarifies some of the well-known rumors and gossip associated with Joseph Kennedy including the "fact" of his being a bootlegger and the interesting details of his relationship with Gloria Swanson. Well-researched and easy to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Ambassador Kennedy

    Long at almost 1000 pages but excellent bio with the advantage of covering a dynasty which has been integral to the history of US.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Well researched and described in great detail what he did. It s

    Well researched and described in great detail what he did. It seems to lack some context, however. For example, were there other "self made fortunes" being accumulated or produced at the same time as he was genetating his? What were those "investor" like? Was the Kennedy family wealth like the Rockefellers? How did hi treat his employees? Need more detail on the why of his relationship to FDR. It was a good biography but could have been a great one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    subperb Superb Superb Superb

    I did'nt want this book to end. Yet, knowing the final outcome, alas,it would have to. Highly recommended to anyone who loves history. Also,if you are interested in historical families of America,the Kennedys belong on that list of "must reads." EXCELLENT! Thank you, David Nasaw

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Excellent bio

    Intelligent, well researched. Sheds light on a public figure who has frequently been demonized. Enjoyable and believable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    EXcellent read. Plenty of new information about the Kennedy family.

    Josph Kennedy certainly was not as bad as had been reported before and not as good as he could have been. Deeply loved his family.Strange relationship between he and Rpse.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    FASCINATING DESCRIPTION.

    THE BASIC THEME OF DESCRIBING HIS DRIVE TO SUCCEED WAS CLEARLY PASSED ON TO HIS CHILDREN. UNFORTUNATELY SUCCESS DOES NOT ALWAYS BRING SATISFACTION.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Yycby oyey .bm y . B

    U h .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Well documented biography of a very private individual who certainly knew how to get things done. Despite his political mistakes in supporting keeping the United States out of the II World War the book helps us understand a very complex and generous man who was very loyal to his friends and family and did a great service to the country .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2