Customer Reviews for

The Perfect Marriage

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very good story of addiction and healing...KLR HIT IT AGAIN!

This is a great story that is full of addiction in all forms! The perfect lives that society and those around us sometime dictate often leave us empty. The things we look for to fill this void are not good for the soul, body or mind. KLR does a phenomenal job putting th...
This is a great story that is full of addiction in all forms! The perfect lives that society and those around us sometime dictate often leave us empty. The things we look for to fill this void are not good for the soul, body or mind. KLR does a phenomenal job putting this on paper...this is a MUST read! I love when she writes about 'real world' topics! MitziD

posted by MHD69 on January 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Bored

Not much to this book. Could have developed the characters much better. Almost 9 dollars for a book thats under 200 pages is disappointing.

posted by Oregon_Mom on January 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Very good story of addiction and healing...KLR HIT IT AGAIN!

    This is a great story that is full of addiction in all forms! The perfect lives that society and those around us sometime dictate often leave us empty. The things we look for to fill this void are not good for the soul, body or mind. KLR does a phenomenal job putting this on paper...this is a MUST read! I love when she writes about 'real world' topics! MitziD

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Bored

    Not much to this book. Could have developed the characters much better. Almost 9 dollars for a book thats under 200 pages is disappointing.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Thumbs up!!

    I truly enjoyed this book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Love it!

    Rushed and bought this book the night before Mrs. Roby came to my local bookstore. Thinking I'll read it later, but at least I'll have a signed copy. Opened it to read chapter one, just to see what it was all about. I could not put it down! I finished it in one day. Roby's characters are so real, you identify with each and every one of them.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Almost classic

    True to Kimberla this immediately draws you in. I only thought that the story developed too soon and left me wanting more

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Please welcome Kimberla Lawson Roby to Writer┬┐s Corner. This is

    Please welcome Kimberla Lawson Roby to Writer’s Corner. This is my first time reviewing her work. I know that for some of you this author is unfamiliar. She has graciously donated a copy of The Perfect Marriage.
    Synopsis:
    Denise and Derek have the perfect marriage. They have the perfect daughter Mackenzie. The extended family is also just as perfect. Are they? Derek’s parents are known drug addicts. One day Derek comes home with a little cocaine and shares some with his wife. Now they share a problem and try to hide it and appear as normal as possible. Then Derek’s twin brother calls and asks for forgiveness from something in their past. Can Derek forgive him? What will finally get Derek and Denise’s attention about their new problem?
    My Thoughts:
    Kimberla Lawson Roby writes with passion and ease. Her writing reminds me of Jodi Picot’s style of writing. I have a lot of respect for writer’s who deal with strong topics such as drug abuse. They make it easy for the reader to follow the story. I had a hard time reading this novel because of the subject matter which pertained to drug abuse and addiction.
    I found this book to be an easy read. Her writing simply flows to me. The plot was different from what I thought. I found the ending to be a surprise.
    What secrets are you hiding? What is it that you don’t want people to see?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Looks can be deceiving!

    Great read that took me on a thrilling ride. I've always enjoyed Mrs. Roby's work and she didn't disappoint. The Perfect Marriage is a must read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Outstanding

    Well, what can I say.. she has done it again. Now I'm just waiting for the Curtis Black Series book 10 to come out. I have already pre-order it...
    Yahooooo

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    I have been a fan of KLR for over ten years. Buying her books ha

    I have been a fan of KLR for over ten years. Buying her books has become a ritual but this story was rushed, predictable and very lazy writing.
    I hate to say this but this is the third book I have purchased from Roby and it has been a snooze fest. I will not purchase another title by her. And that truly saddens me.  

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    I really was disappointed . I am a big fan of this author but th

    I really was disappointed . I am a big fan of this author but this was not her best work. I finished it because I
     know she has great writing skills and I anticipated more.  Anyway, adddiction is tough subject to write about so I would have say thatit justt an okay book I 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Disappointing and predictable

    If you have read the overview then you have read the book. No surprises or twists or turns. Very disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Perfect Reading

    This was a story and characters that are so very REAL.
    Perfectly interesting, perfectly believable events that happened to these characters.
    Thank you Kimberla, this was a Perfectly Enjoyable Read!!!

    Salena D Castle

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Enjoyed this book from start to finish.

    Great read, good plot with interesting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is so good, it made me make up a word - UNPUTDOWNABLE!

    This book is so good, it made me make up a word - UNPUTDOWNABLE! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Good story

    This was my first time reading this author . I enjoyed the book alot of people can relate to this story. The reveiws were not encouranging but
    ordrred it anyway, a book doesent have to be 400 pages to be good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great Writer

    I enjoyed this book, just as I enjoy EVERYTHING by Kimberla Lawson Roby. Those of you who follow the Rev. Curtis Black series will find this one completely different, but still as good, and it will keep you turning the page. I read it within a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    To jacob

    You said result 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    I recommend this book!

    Excellent story on drug addictions in a marriage! I would like to read more from this author.
    ~Nook Readers~ Monique J.S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Recommend - Good Read

    I feel that Kimberla could have added a little bit more. It's only 178 pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Pattoncov

    Couldn't put it down....great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3