Customer Reviews for

The Perfect Match

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    Thank you to Netgalley, Harlequin, and Kristan Higgins for offer

    Thank you to Netgalley, Harlequin, and Kristan Higgins for offering an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    The Story...

    When Brogan and Dana suddenly get engaged, Honor Holland loses not only the love of her life, but
    also her best friend. When her doctor reminds her that when it comes to her eggs "the years are
    precious" and a barroom cat fight causes her family to redistribute her duties with the family wine
    business, calm, reliable Honor suddenly finds herself panicking.

    After being informed that the university will not be renewing his work visa, British professor Tom
    Barlow begins to look at other, quicker means of staying in the United States. His unofficial stepson
    may not be speaking to him, but Tom feels that it is necessary to stay in Manningsport to be near in
    case Charlie needs him.

    Honor's grandmother and Tom's great-aunt attempt to set them up, but on their first meeting, Tom let
    his nerves and the whiskey get the better of him.

    "Your hair's quite different, isn't it? Looks better. That sister-wife thing was a bit off-putting. Also, there's less for people to grab if you get into another fight. Very practical of you. So, shall we get married?"

    But as Goggy, Honor's grandmother, says,

    "You want to be married, or you want to be happy?"

    Honor agrees to marry Tom and moves in with him. Actually making plans and taking the necessary
    steps toward the wedding seems a lot harder to manage. The spark and attraction that pushed them
    together when they first met has suddenly left the building. Can Honor and Tom find what is missing?
    Can they fool the government agent who has come to investigate their relationship? Can they survive
    when Honor's lifelong crush decides that he wants her after all?

    What Worked...

    There's a Brit. And he boxes. Shirtless. What's not to love? Plus he says things like,

    "Are you drunk?" Honor asked.
    "Please," he said. "I'm British. The proper word is pissed."

    Honor and Tom's relationship is real. The miscommunications and missed opportunities are such a
    part of married life, it's like they are already married.

    The Holland family is an amazing group of characters. They are unique and often odd, but they love
    each other and that makes the story stronger and more authentic.

    My favorite relationship in this story had to be between Tom and Honor's dog, Spike.
    The rat peeked out of the bag and bared its teeth. Ah. It was a dog, he was almost positive.

    What Didn't...

    Honor's aging eggs had a habit of talking to her, which was cute at first but soon had me considering
    finding a padded cell for Honor.

    I love the wit and comfort of reading Kristan Higgins' stories. She connects to something deep within
    me and never fails to make me smile and stay up late trying to read just one more chapter.

    Four out of Five Stars.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the second in the Blue Heron series but can be read stan

    This is the second in the Blue Heron series but can be read stand-alone. I came late to Ms. Higgins and have been devouring everything of hers I can find. She just keeps getting better and better. She writes sweet romance with some steamy fade to black love scenes. But she tells a great story and I adore her characters. 




    I loved seeing under Honor’s perfect façade. She was so strong and perfect in The Best Man (Blue Heron #1) but you just knew there was something going on that was going to make her crack. I LOVE Tom flaws and all. It is so nice to see a positive male role model. This book left me with a smile on my face and a glow in my heart.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Great Story

    I laughed out loud during parts of the book, and cried during others. Touching and entertaining.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book!

    Awesome book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Kristan Higgins can't write a bad thing! The book is just as sw

    Kristan Higgins can't write a bad thing! The book is just as sweet and lovable as her others, and I love that you get to see glimpses of Levi and Faith in this book. I'm hoping that Kristan will write a book about Jack, I would to see more into his life :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am a HUGE Kristan Higgins fan and THE BEST MAN (Blue Heron #1)

    I am a HUGE Kristan Higgins fan and THE BEST MAN (Blue Heron #1) is one of my all-time favorite books, so when I had the chance to read this one, I jumped on it.

    What I Loved: A colorful cover with obvious romantic flare. Tom is British. The accent alone should entice you to read this book. Did I mention that he boxes, too? With Levi, from THE BEST MAN. Excuse me while I pick myself up off the floor, and wipe the drool off my chin.

    One of the things I enjoy about Kristan Higgins' writing, is that I never fail to connect with at least one of the characters. Regardless of whether it's the uptight slightly intimidating Honor, or a smooth talking British professor like Tom who finds solace in a glass. There is always something to identify with and pull me further into the story.

    Like all of Higgins' books, this one has a strong family focus and centers around the Holland family which is made up of a colorful cast of characters. But she also sheds a positive light on Tom's relationship with Charlie which is born of love and not blood.

    The romance that develops between Honor and Tom is not an easy one and begins out of convenience on both their parts. However, it quickly (and hilariously at times) evolves into something honest, strong and ultimately helps them both overcome some of the issues they struggle with.

    What Left Me Wanting More: I am always a little sad to see a Kristan Higgins' book end.

    Final Verdict: Humorous and heartwarming addition to the Blue Heron Series. I'm excited for the next installment!

    Favorite Quote(s): "One! One beeg mistake! Two! Two bad knees!" (Think, The Count, from Sesame Street.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Wonderful story!!!!

    I laughed and cried and laughed some more. The characters were loveable and I can't wait to read about them again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Kristan Higgins continues to make me laugh and cry. I really li

    Kristan Higgins continues to make me laugh and cry. I really liked The Perfect Match. It kept me entertained and that is what I'm looking. I love the back characters also!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Perfect Match by Kristan Higgins This book in the series is

    The Perfect Match by Kristan Higgins
    This book in the series is dedicated to Honor with appearances from her sisters: Faith and Patience and Hope.
    Her father is seeing Mrs. J and the girls think she's too young for him. She had gotten into a bar fight with Brogan's new girl and now she knows they are getting married and Dana is pregnant.
    Her sisters set up an account online for her with the dating sites and she's met a few men, been out for drinks with them and they didn't click. When she's in a jam Tom helps her out with a kiss at the bar so Brogan thinks she's on a date.
    It doesn't stop there though and the book describes a hot steamy sex scene.
    The book also is following Charlie and others in town. Tom also explains about how he has a stepson that isn't really a stepson at all.... He's very English and I like the translation of some words used.
    Tom has now lost his teaching job at the college and the only way he could keep Charlie would be to get a green card by getting married. Honor needs to have a baby as her eggs are not going to be very futile soon because of her age.
    Love the tour of the facilities and the process of how to make the wine and talk of the fruit.
    Situations occur that lead to everybody doing a turn about...
    More tragedy occurs bringing people together...
    I received this book from Net Galley via Harlequin HQN in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Love it

    I love kristin higgins and her books of finding love at a little it older age. Eventhough 30 isn't "old" that's generally the age of the main characters but they still find love :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Love the author

    Second in the series and just as good as first. Not dependent on the first but a nice compliment. Love the characters, wit, and story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Hott Synopsis: Honor Holland has been in love for twenty years w

    Hott Synopsis:
    Honor Holland has been in love for twenty years with the same man. He just sees her as a friend with benefits though and hammers it through when he proposes to Holland’s best friend, and they ask her to be a bride’s maid. As if Holland was ever going to do that!
    Desperately listening to the ticking of her biological clock Holland allows herself to be set-up on a date with a man who’s perfect for her. He just needs to get married for a green card.

    Tom Barlow can’t believe he’s been reduced to this position! Marrying to stay near his almost step-son, Tom isn’t sure he can allow Holland’s life to be reduced to this. She deserves better! Not that Tom will give it to her!

    Hott Review:
    What I liked: I adored every second of this book! Kristin Higgin’s writing always enthralls me and this was no exception. I fell in love with Holland and even when I wanted to smack Tom for being a jerk I wanted to have him come for dinner. This is a must read!
    What I didn’t like: Well, I wanted hubby to start boxing before I was finished ;)

    More…
    Author: Kristan Higgins
    Source: Harlequin HQN via Netgalley
    Grade: A+
    Steam: Adult – Very sexy but not overly graphic
    Setting: Manningsport, New York
    Series: Blue Heron #2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    SOOOOOOOOOOO romantic!!!!!!

    I just love this type of book! The characters are great, the environment, both family & nature are great AND the love story is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Honor is in the

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    Honor is in the middle of the family and has always been the core of the family.  She has always taken on the brunt of the family by doing a lot of work at the vineyard and for the family, but her personal life may have taken a hit due to all of the things she took on.  

    I think I liked this one even more than the first.  I knew the characters and was able to get into the story from the first page.  Honor had more ups and downs and her story felt so real - trying to balance her full time professional life and large extended family while also making time to find love.  I loved that Honor had a love story that started out like her, very business, but eventually she found the heart in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Sango

    Night babe she falls asleep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    The bed

    Awaits. (Is this going t be a greasy, sweatty sex thing?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    This review is from: The Perfect Match (The Blue Heron Series)

    This review is from: The Perfect Match (The Blue Heron Series) (Kindle Edition)
    I loved Honor, hated Dana, wanted to wring Brogan and Charlie's neck and found Tom to be totally irresistible! This story was so engrossing and I was so emotionally invested that I couldn't put it down until I knew the conclusion! Terrific entertainment with Honor's father, sisters, adorable grandparents, brother and "ratty" all adding to the delightful "soup" of characters! I can't wait to pick up the additional Blue Heron Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    wow good book

    wow good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Revenge

    1Good book , review good returngb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Highly recommend!

    This second book in the Blue Heron series is a great read. Great to see Honor as a "real" person and to see her open up to love. Kristan Higgins writes sweet romance with a little more intense romance at times. Loved this book.Can't wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6