Customer Reviews for

The Phantom of the Opera: Collector's Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lifting the veil of a person's soul

    This music is so haunting. I have never heard sounds so pure. When I listened to it, it seemed to travel with me, to sweep me aloft in the power of the song, and for a moment I,too,felt that the words of darkness and light had no meaning,and only this melody were real.As far as the singing goes,Emmy Rossum (Christine) was wonderful! I really felt like I was hearing the Angel of Music. Her voice is so sweet and angelic like ringing a bell. ''I recognized the emotion in Christine that alot of young girls feel. She's looking for love, protection, and a way to express herself creativley...'' Says Emmy. I think that ''Wishing you were somehow here again'' is one of Emmy's most emotional songs because she's expressing herself in a young girl who has lost her father and I think that everyone can relate to that. Patrick Wilson(Raoul) was also very good. He had the voice of an angel. I think that he is the best Raoul. All of the other Raouls were either to operatic(espacially the one in the Canadian cast), or either complete dorks. Gerard Butler (Erik the Phantom) was not so great as far as singing goes. Although, he does put alot more emotion into his voice than Michael Crawford and when he raving and having those ''madness'' moments he is much more agressive and expressing a man constrained emotionally and physically.Still, his singing is too rockstar-type, especially in ''The Phantom of the Opera''. ''Music of the Night'' was his best performance because he was singing softly. At the end of this CD, he has a way of breaking your heart with the music box song when he sings the ''Masqerade'' after Christine leaves him.Poor Erik...I could really feel his pain because I am an autistic savant,and even though I could live independently and I coul funtion, it is really hard to find someone that would ''share one life-time'' with me. Every time I listen to ''All I ask of you'' I feel Erik's pain of being rejected by the only woman he ever loved. I mean, Christine lifted the veil of Erik's soul and gave him a reason to live and to ''learn to be lonley''. Andrew Lloyd Webber is truley a musical genius! He could tell the story of longing for love by expressing someone's pain and lonliness through music. This is truley an amazing soundtrack!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply amazing!

    Just listening to the music is enough to make you cry. Emmy Rossum has such a beautiful voice, and Gerard's is simply enchanting. I've performed "Think of Me" several times, and every time I do, I fall in love with the score all over again. You are not a true "phan" if you don't own this album!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If you liked the movie, this is the soundtrack you want.

    The only song that is missing is "No One Would Listen," which was recorded for the movie, but not included in the final cut. Other than that, it's all here, just the way you heard it in the movie. I was disappointed in the regular soundtrack, as some of my favorite pieces had been left out. This one has them. It's definitely worth the few extra dollars for all the music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Love These CD's!

    It's like turning on the movie and leaving the room. You can hear the dialogue in addition to the music. I often turn on the television and do chores around the house. This is the same thing. I can just pop in a CD and picture in my mind what is happening in the story. Also, Gerard Butler is singing... need I say more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Exellent, but there is better

    I am a huge fan of the movie, as I saw it first, and it will always hold a special place in my heart. But the live play on Broadway will blow you away. There is no way to compare them. So all in all, for the full experience, I recommend both. You'll just have to choose for yourself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HOMG THIS ROCKS

    The CD is amazing-while I will always say that the musical performed is better than the movie, this movie was amazing. I watched it 7 times in two days, I loved it so much. Emmy Rossum has an amazing voice. ^^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This was awesome!

    I loved the movie, especially the music! Emmy Rossum has sooooooooooooooo much talent! I gave this CD 100% It rocked!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It was okay.

    The movie was okay, but if you loved the movie you should go see the actual musical live, for it is MUCH better. The live performance will blow you away thats how good it is, but the movie..well it did its best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!!

    I know all of the words to these songs because I love them sooo MUCH!! I think that the movie and music were unbelievable! Standing Ovation!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I AM OBSESSED WITH THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA!!

    ...the weird thing is, I'm a teenager (aged 16). I never really gave musicals a chance because the first one I watched bored me to death, but this one absoloutely rocked! All my friends now know about The Phantom of the Opera because i've been going on about it for agggges!! I'm trying to get them to give musicals a chance like I did...especially this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh My God!!

    I absolutely love this soundtrack! I absolutely love this movie! I first heard of The Phantom of the Opera when it came to theatres and my best friend and I went to see. I thought it would be fun and different to see, but I have to admit that I was nervous I wouldn't like it that much. Boy was I wrong!! It was the best movie I've ever seen in the movie theatre and I loved it so much! So of course I had to buy it and the soundtrack and I must say that I listen to it all the time. I even now have the book that started it all, though I've yet to see it on Broadway, but I really hope to someday soon!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The first and only movie I ever cried during...

    This is an awesome movie! Yet ANOTHER version of the classic broadway musical yet I think this is the best I've seen! I really loved the way they pulled the songs off, and each actor pulled off their roles beautifully. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best musical ever.

    i am 14 and though most may think that teenagers are bored by these musicals we are actually intrested,the phantom of the opera is an phenominal musical and none of this could have been done without the awesome cast.being facinated by this musical can inspire thousands even those who absolutley dispise musicals it is a heart-warming love story that reaches deep into the mind and makes you think about it a little bit more. so if you buy this cd you will not regret it .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love it.

    I love this musical and have the normal soundtrack. I just ordered this one but know it will be outstanding since I've heard all the songs on it. Can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better Than The Original

    Although some might shoot me for saying it, in general I thought that while the original broadway cast was phenomonal, this recording rocked its world. Rossum pulls off a much better Christine (with the added bonus that she is, in fact, a teenager, and Gerard Butler actually injects emotion into his voice when he sings. Combine that with the heart-rendering 'Learn To Be Lonely', and this edition of Phantom of the Opera is the best to come out yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    mamazing

    i listen to heavy metal, and I have fallen madly in love with this cd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Phantom of the Opera is WONDERFUL!!!

    I have listned to both the Original recording and the new soundtrack...along with seeing the action. Although I thought Michael Crawford and Sarah Brighton did well in the original their singing bothered me. The new Phantom and Christine have more emotion and also amazing voices. I could listen to them all day!!! I like the special edition the best because it has all the songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What!? A young person who doesn't like crazy teenager music?!

    Yep, that's right. For exactly three weeks this CD set has been the bulk of what I've listened to. The songs are so passionate, stir up such unsatiable emotions--described simply, it's beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    emmy rossum

    emmy rossum had and still has a better voice than the original christine did on the stage. I hope that evrybody will enjoy this soundtrack more than I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    it was different but still good

    I have to say i like the original cast of Phantom with Sara Brightman and Michael Crawford. I just think their voices fit the parts much better than the movie because they are some much stonger. Not to say i did not like the movie I love it! i think the movie having a younger cast made it much more romantic. I being a singer know for a fact the it is so hard to sing high and some times words dont sound the same when you say them and thats what i find people to have a promblem with sarah for, they dont like the way she says words. But all and all i think they did a good job and i would buy any copy of Phantom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5