Customer Reviews for

The Phantom of the Opera: Collector's Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Phantom 'phan'

    This was an awesome cd! The pictures were great and the music was simply spectacular! I cried so much at the end; it was so sad!! But it was the best! I highly recommend this cd to any music lover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Phantom is Awesome

    I'm sorry to see so many people who do not see the genius in this new version of the musical. I thought they did a wonderful job. The costumes were beautiful and the actors/actresses were wonderfully cast. In my opinion, I couldn't see any other actor/actress playing these parts. They did a wonderful job and their voices are awesome. True, the original musical is awesome, but I wouldn't compare it to the new one. They both have their flaws and I love both of them. Sorry to see people who do not agree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not a poor attempt as some think!

    I saw the broadway production. I have the double tape opera with Crawford and Brightman that has been worn out over the years. The movie, even though Crawford wasn't there--- was terrific. Couldn't wait to buy the DVD after paying money to see it on the big screen. Just as good in a Hollywood way as Broadway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not A Disappointment

    I was introduced to the original musical with Michael Crawford and Sarah Brightman a year before the movie came out and I fell in love with it! It's safe to say that I was, and am, obsessed with it, as I listened to it at least 3 times a week, if not every day. Naturally I was very excited when I heard that the movie was coming out. I went to see it on opening night and I loved it! The next day I bought the soundtrack. While the actors do not have Michael's and Sarah's voices, they do an amazing job in bringing the musical to life! Gerard Butler makes the Phantom seem much more real and human and does an excellent job for not having any prior singing experience. And Emmy's voice is so clear and beautiful! I am not in love with the actors, but I do recognize talent when I see, or hear, it. As a music lover who especially enjoys operas and musicals, I have to applaud this soundtrack, AND the movie! The original will always be the best, but this comes pretty close to being just as spectacular! Try it out!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love this music!

    OMG! I love this soundtrack so much! After I saw the movie in theaters, I couldn't wait for it to come out on DVD so I went out and bought the soundtrack! It's amazing! Emmy Rossum is vocally great! Patrick Wilson is also amazing and although I thought Butler could have done better, he was still good! I love this cd and when I know I'm driving somewhere far, I always take it with me and turn it on in the car and sing along with it! Some of my favorite tracks include "the overture, the phantom of the opera, notes/prima donna, poor fool he makes me laugh, all i ask of you, journey to the cemetery*, and the best one of all \: PAST THE POINT OF NO RETURN." I never ever get tired of listening to this track!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding

    I absolutely loved the movie. I even went out and bought the soundtrack. When I got home, my brother pulled out his original cd and showed me the differences. Yes, there are some big differences in the quality of the voices. I have not seen the show on Broadway, so i don't know what that was like. I do know that you can not compare a movie to Broadway. I have seen Cats, both in the movie form and on Broadway. I didn't like the movie form though. It was horrible. I started out wanting to see the movie, The Phantom of the Opera, when I went to my cousins house and he was watching it. I only got to see the ending though. I then watched beginning hour and a half in my English class. So I was missing a big chunk in the middle. It annoyed me soooo bad. The actors/actresses were great. They had such potential. I especially liked All I Ask of You. That and the graveyard scene are my two favorite scenes. I feel sorry for you if you felt the need to compare movie to broadway. That is one of the worst comparisons I have ever seen in my life. If you claim to know all about music and quality and all of that stuff, take a new look if you compared the two. The movie was great, and I could never say a bad thing about it, except for the fact that the make-up job on the Phantom was horribly done. Every time you saw his face, his face looked totally different. The first time, his veins were semi popping out of his head. Then, when he wore the black mask that covered his eyes only, you couldn't even tell that there was anything wrong with his face. When she took the mask off, his face looked horrible and it had veins popping out everywheres and there was a big bulge on the side of his head. That was the only thing that I found wrong with the movie that was noteable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding!

    I've seen the play 6 times, in several cities and in Canada and not only did I think the movie was much better, but I also thought the singing was great! I also think Sarah Brightman and Michael Crawford were great, but felt the movie was much easier to follow and the voices singing the awesome music were outstanding also. I'm not "enamored" with the actors, but saw the movie 11 times and have preordered the DVD. Sorry to see all the closed-minded reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful!!

    I absolutaly LOVED this music!! It gave me chills just as the movie did, and I liked how they included the smaller, but just as wonderful songs, that the normal soundtrack does not have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    POTO fan

    I loved the movie and now the soundtrack as well. They were both fantastic. I played the soundtrack in high school, but it was nothing compared to hearing it on the big screen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Favorite Soundtrack!

    Usually I like fast pop music that you can danse to, so I found it odd that I liked this CD so much. I listen to it everyday and even have memorized many of the songs. I love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Masterpiece

    The film and this CD are so beautiful, so inspired..really genius on every level. It will live forever...Gerard Butler, Emmy Rossum and and the artist performing the part of Raoul are each dazzling. I recently saw The Phantom, a national company and it was dwarfed in every aspect by the movie version. Every lover of truly exquisite theater and music must own this CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    POTO Fan for Life!

    I am a fan of the original play and the film. This is one of the best soundtracks I have ever heard! This cd has everything on it. It's like having the whole movie on cd. This soundtrack is definetely worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awsome

    I loved it!! It was a really good movie and I loved it so much I read the book:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Phantom of the Opera [2004 Soundtrack] [Special Edition]

    I was not a Phantom fan before the movie. I knew of the story, but never read it, never saw it on stage or anywhere else and only heard a couple of songs from some of Webber's best cds. When I saw the trailers for the movie, I had to go see it. To be honest, I wasn't sure if I would enjoy it, but chanced it. I was captivated by it. I, of course, had nothing else to compare it to, and to me that was a blessing. I wasn't sitting there thinking 'oh, this person doesn't sound like soandso'. I was able to watch without preconceived notions. I thought the movie was fantastic, the settings eerie and yet captivating. I fell in love with Butler's Phantom. Not only his voice, but his eyes. The passion, emotion, pain that he put into the part, which you could hear in his singing. Every time I hear his main songs I feel possessed to the core of me. His voice combined with the music touches me deeper than any other music ever has. I have read many reviews by others who have a problem with Butler and his singing, but I think it comes more from comparing it to others they have grown accustomed to over the years. I believe if they had come to this new, they would feel differently. As for those who didn't like the new song, Learn to be Lonely, though it didn't hit the same kind of tones as the rest of the songs, I think it was fairly appropriate as an end through the credits. Basically acknowledging the Phantom being born into a cold world where he would live and die alone, never to know the care or love of another. I bought this soundtrack after I saw the movie for the first time and am not disappointed. I listen to it often.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Now I can say that I have a FAVORITE MOVIE!!!

    This cd has almost everything from the movie on it and I've been loving every minute of it! This is the only thing I've been listening to for nearly two months (literally, I'm not joking, the only time I do take it out is to cahnge it from one disk to another or if I want to listen to the highlights cd, and yes I DO have both of them ^_^)! Gerard Butler is the best Phantom ever and for those of you who are saying that he can't sing, you need to get your ears checked, he has so much raw emotion in his voice that you can't help but fall in love with him... I know I did! ^_^ Emmy Rossum was a great Christine, she fit the part perfectly both in voice and in age! Patrick was without a doubt the BEST Raoul in history, when he was singing "All I Ask of You" with Emmy I thought I was going to melt... and in some ways I did! ^_^ Everyone else did a WONDERFUL job in their parts (Minnie, Miranda, Jennifer, etc.) I loved you all!!! Please, don't you dare try to compare this to the stage version, a movie is a movie and the stage is the stage so, of course it's not the stage production... please stop comparing the Butler, Rossum, and Wilson version to the Crawford, Brightman, and Barton version... it's just not right to compare stage to movie! So If you love The Phantom of the Opera or if you love music in general you NEED to buy this cd! One more thing, if you weren't a fan of POTO before you saw this movie, you will be a fan after you see it... I promise you that you'll be singing the music in your head for weeks, trust me!!! ^_^ P.S. After my friends and I saw it in theaters on opening day one of my friends said that he had EVERY song stuck in his head, and he wasn't even a fan!!! ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Phantom of the Opera [2004 Soundtrack] [Special Edition]

    I have never seen the Phantom of the Opera in any guise before, though have known the story. When the movie came out I had to go and it was everything I hoped it would be plus more. I fell in love with Butler's rendition of the Phantom and with his voice. For me, all his emotions came through loud and clear in his singing and his acting. I have been twice and plan on going again this weekend and every weekend while it is playing. I bought this soundtrack and can't even imagine having just the regular one. Rossum also has a wonderful voice, but I can't believe she'd pick Raul over the Phantom *laugh*. Never before have I found myself so absolutely possessed by such music or mesmerized by a movie and I have liked many in the past and love music. Buy the music, see the movie, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stunning!

    Having never seen the production on the stage or any of the previous movies, and having never read the book, I was astounded at the performance. Having now seen the movie twice in a three-day period, I've fallen in love with it. I'm planning on going again before it leaves theaters, and am definately going to buy the soundtrack. I'm also reading the book now and planning to go see it on the stage. The main theme and Masquerade are my favorites, but all of the songs are spectacular. I only have to say: Brava! Magnifica! Stupenda!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Phantom of the Opera [2004 Soundtrack] [Special Edition]

    I know there are a lot of phans out there who, as an understatement, did not like this movie, and everyting we heard about it before it came out. Personally, I reserved judgement until I saw the movie. Now that I've seen it three or four times, I must say I love it, but its not fair to compare it to the stage version. Though the stories remain basically the same, they are completely different entities, and should be treated as such. Don't get me wrong; they are both beautifully done, and emotionally draining (in a good way), but they are just so different from each other, it is only fair to see each as its own entity, not something related. I love Gerard Butler, and Micheal Crawford; each are perfect in their respective roles. Micheal Crawford is better on stage than in movies, and Gerard is better in movies than on stage. I absolutely love Sarah Brightman... her stage interpretation is perfect. And Emmy Rossum is absolutely perfect as well, on screen. I suppose you would have to see both the stage version and the movie version to see what I mean. But I absolutely love the movie, and cannot wait till it comes out on DVD. Honestly don't know if I can wait that long! In the mean time, I will be seeing the movie in the theaters whenever I get the chance... always taking my travel-size kleenexes with me of course... And of course, the soundtrack is absolutley beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful!!!

    I loved seeing this musical, and when it came to theatres I was ecstatic. Luckily it was playing at a theatre nearby and I got to see it. It was spectacular and the music was amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fabulous!!! Breathtaking!!!

    Having seen both the play and now the movie, Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber is truly a genius! The play was very moving but the movie added so much to the "story" of the Phantom. This movie deserves to walk away with the Oscar's this year!!!! If you haven't seen it....hurry! Get going...it is truly amazing. I am thrilled that I can get this soundtrack. Sir Andrew Lloyd Weber just may be the angel of music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4