Phantom of the Opera

The Phantom of the Opera

4.6 73
by
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Good old-fashioned movie musicals are all too rare these days, but it's still surprising that it took so long for Andrew Lloyd Webber's Phantom of the Opera to leap from stage to silver screen. After all, this wildly popular musical was almost tailor-made for celluloid: It shares its

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Phantom of the Opera 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 73 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great soundtrack to a great movie. I am a big fan of Phantom of the Opera and I think this soundtrack is really good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Personally I think the movie is much better than the soundtrack, but the soundtrack was okay. I think they could have picked a much better singer for Christine. In some parts of the songs she sounds really whiny and almost like she straining to sing particular notes. About 60% of what she sings sounds really good but the other 40% sounds not that great, but overall this is a good soundtrack.
nappysunflwr More than 1 year ago
My 15yr old. introduced me to this version of Phantom. I instantly became a fan and I watch it often and listen to the soundtrack regularly. The music as well as the story or captivating and heartbreaking. I must see for Gerard Butler fans and Emma Rossum' performance is outstanding! Check it out.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Emmy Rossum--amazing as Christine...her voice isn't as strong as Sarah Brightman's, but I think it suits the part of Christine BETTER than Sarah....it's so fresh and innocent, and more expressive, IMO. Gerard Butler--in SOME ways I preferred his Phantom voice to Michael Crawford's, in that it was more piercing and harsh....and creepy. Yet....he strained with some of the notes. Patrick Wilson--better than the original Raoul, hands down. (I forget his name....) He just makes me MELT in "All I Ask of You." Excellent. The music itself was more strident in this than the original, and the effects cooler...like the echo of Christine's voice in "The Phantom of the Opera" and the electric guitar. And then the opening to "All I Ask of You." The orchestra didn't seem QUITE as strong in "Think of Me", but oh, well. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!
Guest More than 1 year ago
To sum it up in one word, this movie was breathtaking. I loved the music, imagery, and emotion the singer/actors put into this movie. It was wonderful, and I would reccomend it to any and everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing movie and it had fabulous music. I sqw the movie a week ago and can't stop humming the songs.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best soundtrack I have ever listened to. Even without the movie picture to go along with it it almost tells the movie to you. This is by far the most excellent cd i have ever had, I say had because i lent it to a friend and never saw it again:( You will enjoy this if you listen to any music at all even if you don't like clasical.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ever since I saw the final trailer on the internet in early November this movie was the only thing in my head... literally! When I finally saw it with my friends on the opening day I wasn't dissapointed, as soon as the organ started playing I knew that this was something special! I've seen it four times and I'm still not sick of it, it's the ONLY thing I've been listening to for nearly two months (I'm not joking)!!! Gerard Butler is the best Phantom ever and for those who are saying that he can't sing, you need to get your ears checked, he has so much raw emotion in his voice that you can't help but fall in love with him... I know I did! Emmy was a great Christine she fit the part perfectly both in voice and in age! Patrick was without a doubt the best Raoul in history, when he was singing "All I Ask of You" with Emmy I thought I was going melt and in some ways I did! ^_^ Minnie was a wonderful Carlotta, Miranda did a great job with Madame Giry and I loved everyone else in this movie! As for those of you who say that it can't compare with the stage version... well of course it can't, it's a movie not a stage production... a movie is a movie and the stage is the stage and there is no comparison between the two so stop comapring Butler and Rossum to Crawford and Brightman!!! ^_^
Guest More than 1 year ago
At first I was disapointed with the casting, its not my ideal choice in terms of singing ability. However, I was comparing them to the original broadway cast, and of course no one will ever compare to Michael Crawford. Seeing the movie changed my point of view about the casting. Gerard Butler's interpretation, although much different from that of Michael Crawford, began to grow on me. I thought Emmy Rossum was fantastic and I thought she was an excellent choice for the part of Cristine. The music is wonderful and the film will amaze you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this movie/soundtrack. Emmy is wonderful, her voice is angelic, and beautiful. Gerry's voice is low and GREAT! I think this is better then the opera one. But that's my thought.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although *Phantom* is admittedly Webber's best musical, I'm generally not a musical fan, and this review should be viewed with that in consideration. Crawford and Brightman have exceptionally impressive instruments, and regardless of the quality of their successors they will inevitably be held as the standard. However, I always found their renditions abounding in technical musical superiority, lacking in the emotional thrust of the story. (I always found the power of the Lon Chaney film version--though silent--more poignant than the musical.) Gerard Butler and Emmy Rossum develop these characters with their voices. And whether or not you agree with their interpretations--e.g., Butler is more imposing and threatening than fragile, which Webber's high tenor seems to indicate--the touch the ACTORS give to the music is still compelling. It is an exceptional re-imagining of a musical that could easily have pandered to the archetypes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Is to listen, watch and fall in love with a simply superb movie. With Hollywood's love affair of violence and blatant sexuality, I worried about letting my young son watch it. But it was fine. Sensual without being overtly sexual, and intense without the violence. The singing was magnificent and the acting was, well, WOW. I thought the actor who played the Phantom was perfect for the part. The young object of his obsession was breathtaking in both her innocent beauty and extremly talented singing. Raoul had a good blend of intensity and tenderness. Nice to see Miranda Richardson as a "good guy" and Minnie Driver never fails to provide excellent entertainment. Highly recommend it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Now, I've never been a big fan of Crawford OR Brightman (his voice was always too high and nasally, and she just got on my nerves). That said, I really, REALLY enjoyed this album. Sure, Gerry Butler might not be the best trained opera singer, but he sings his songs with so much emotion ("Music of the Night" especially comes to mind) that I really didn't care that his voice wasn't extraordinary. Emmy Rossum and Patrick Wilson should make up for any minor flaws people may see in Gerry—they both have excellent voices and really help carry the soundtrack when the Phantom isn't present. Also, please remember that visuals add alot to the music. I had very few doubts about the movie after listening to the soundtrack, and after seeing the movie those obscure worries weren't even a factor anymore.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is absolutely incredible. The director did not go for singers with perfect voices who sing each song as a separate and autonomous whole: He chose singers who sing a *story*. The singers' voices embody their characters perfectly. It may not satisfy Phantom of the Opera purists in its technical perfection, but the spirit it captures is stunning. Definitely a must-have.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After listenning to this album and some tips from the original musical recording the latter (the famous 1986 london cast) is the best in every respect. The orchestra sounds more opulent but muddy, without enough clarity. I would say, "Brahmsian", as Brahms traditionally was intended to sound, luxurious, massive. The original cast' orchestra is more vivid and the conducting seems more focused. I never liked the film's Raoul very much. The other characters are more vividly portrayed in the musical, too So the main aspects come at last: Christine and the Phantom. The phantom, well, Crawford is said to be THE Phantom. Period. And Butler... Maybe he is a good actor, biy remember this is a film about music, after all. We need to listen to a singer, a professional singer. Later we can discuss if the type of voice, the phrasing, etc, etc, is OK. But please go to the basics. IS BUTLER a singer???? DEFINITELY NOT!!!!!! There is a huge difference between an actor with some singing lessons behind and a singer. Listen to the last track "down once more" and you will see how when singing forte Butler looses pitch and begins to scream. Please, he should have been fired at once in the casting process. The ONLY really good point is Emmy Rossum as Christine. A really lovely, pure, young and fresh voice. A delight. Which, unfortunately, is not enough to save this disk. The music here is the same as the highlights of the musical. It adds a final song, which is so bad ... at least you can skip it with your player. Recommended only if you can not afford or find the original cast.
tcano1614 More than 1 year ago
i have to say after seeing the play and the movie i completly fell in love with this musical. a must buy and its something you won't regret : )
Guest More than 1 year ago
christine has a beautiful voice....and is also a fantastic actress! i think the phantom could have been done better...but you can't ask for everything. see the movie for sure!!! it is GREAT!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite music ever! It's so beautiful. I love the movie. I thought that Patrick Wilson and Emmy Rossum were wonderful in their roles. Gerard Butler was perfect for the role of the Phantom! I really love how he sings. I thought that all three of them were much better than the original cast in the play.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is an awesome soundtrack, one of my favoirtes! i love the phantom of the opera! i only thought the guy who played the phantom (gerard butler) could have been better. but overall, great!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been waiting for this for a LONG time and I am EXTREMELY dissapointed. First of all, the Phantom sounds like some sort of rock star. I didn't think that that was the idea of the play but ok. I also dont think the Christine's voice is fit for the part either. She cant go very high without sounding weak. I dont see why they couldn't get Sarah Brightman or someone again. This is my favorite play of all and I probably wont even see the movie when it does come out. Aweful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really do think that this is the great one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
anyone who tells you this soundtrack/movie is not breathtaking is stubborn and ill-educated. It was a beautiful display and a great adaption with magnificent vocals.