BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Picture Of Dorian Gray

Average Rating 4
( 742 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(338)

4 Star

(212)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

SPECTACULAR NOVEL, but buy a different edition

"The Picture of Dorian Gray" is a fantastic book, mixing excellent wit with poignant commentary on society, intertwined around a spiritual story about a man who sold his soul unwittingly, but unrepentantly. Make sure you read this book, BUT ... buy a different edition....
"The Picture of Dorian Gray" is a fantastic book, mixing excellent wit with poignant commentary on society, intertwined around a spiritual story about a man who sold his soul unwittingly, but unrepentantly. Make sure you read this book, BUT ... buy a different edition.

The editor of this book, Cauti, included many intelligent and spectacular notes throughout the book, but he includes asterisks and cross-marks throughout the book so that you will check his footnotes. These appear on 90% of the pages, and they ruin the flow of Wilde's prose because the reader is compelled to stop reading, check the footnote, and return to their previous position. The rhythm of the writing is totaly disrupted whenever this happens, and it is fair to say that this happens often. Often enough, in fact, that I recommend you buy another edition. Not this one.

posted by MDC_ColumbiaU on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Bad

This is a very poorly copied version of a great book and to my knowledge the only free version available. You are better off just buying a cheap copy of the ebook.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 743 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 38
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Fantastic

    Not for the dim of wit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Bad

    The most terrible book I ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Love

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    To Duskstar

    Here is some fancy font (use this for your ads, makes it easy to read, mush easier than the stupid thunderclans ads.): <p>
    a=&alpha=& alpha <br> b=&beta=& beta <br> c=&#99=&# 99 <br> d=&delta=& delta <br> e=&epsilon=& epsilon <br> f=&forte=& forte <br> g=&#103=&# 103 <br> h=&#104=&# 104 <br> i=&iota=& iota <br> j=&#106=&# 106 <br> k=&kappa=& kappa <br> l=&Iota=& Iota <br> m=&#109=&# 10 <br> n=&eta=& eta <br> o=&sigma=& sigma <br> p=&rho=& rho <br> q=&#113=&# 113 <br> r=&#114=&# 114 <br> s=&#115=&# 115 <br> t=&tau=& tau <br> u=&upsilon=& upsilon <br> v=&nu=& nu <br> w=&omega=& omega <br> x=&chi=& chi <br> y=&gamma=& gamma <br> z=&#122=&# 122 <br> your welcome! (&gamma&sigma&upsilon&#114 &omega&epsilon&Iota&#99&sigma&#109&epsilon!)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    You guys can join DarkClan which is more active

    Coriolanus
    First result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Clawpelt

    She lifts he head. Thk u. She mews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Phantomhawk

    The gray she padded in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Heathersnow

    A beautiful shecat with brown tabby fur and soft blue eyes pads in. "May l join?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Darkwing

    Eh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    DuskStar

    She sighed, and curled up in the shade. Everything was empty. Thunderclan was as popular as all get out...and they were nothing. Fancy font ads. Cats. Popularity. Shadowclan had nothing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    IMPORTANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Fooled Ya. Again.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    It is a little bit different to read, since it was written more

    It is a little bit different to read, since it was written more than a century ago, in a less fast-paced society full of Internet, celebrity scandals, and up-to-date news that no one cares about. It's like a story pulled out of Arabian Nights. The painting ages, but he does not. Eternal youth has been a theme throughout many stories, but Wilde adds his clever and quirky comments throughout the book of society and women.

    Oscar Wilde is typically a playwright, and his biography reveals he lived a pretty tough life, during 19th century England after his university stay.

    Nonetheless, a fascinating novel worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Yo, this book was so amazing. Mr. Wilde really out done himself

    Yo, this book was so amazing. Mr. Wilde really out done himself with this one. The ending is really off the hook. I was like WHAT with the ending. Would read again. Lord Henry is a piece though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Terrible copy

    The quality of this copy is terrible on a Nook Simple Touch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    good read

    Not what i expected but good read..

    ...kind of a spoiler below...but not really


    Kind of disappointing that the events that took place to trap his soul in the picture wasn't as interesting as i thought it would be. it was the main reason i read the book. I had known a long time about the book and Dorian's picture "issue" just never HOW it happened. owell it was still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When I started reading, I didn't really know anything about it,

    When I started reading, I didn't really know anything about it, besides it's title. I had also had never heard of Oscar Wilde or anything about him before this book. I started reading this book, and found it simply a wonderful read. Then I started reading and was captured into an amazing story of a terrifically yet horrifying complex life of a man by the name of Dorian Gray, who speaks an unthinkable wish that is granted to him, but leaves him in self-conflict between his deepest darkest desires, and his conscience. It is a beautifully written work, with a colorful vocabulary, and although there are some parts of the book that seem tedious to read, are very perceptive.

    Also the intro that Camille Cauti started with gives an interesting look on Oscar Wilde's life. In my opinion, I felt as if it was truly the only part of the book that I found hard to read though, only because I don't care much myself about reading biographies, however had I not read it, I would have totally missed out on such an interesting life of Wilde.

    In Conclusion - it is an overall Amazing read! I would totally recommend it, especially to anyone who loves reading classical literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Amazing book! Full of excitement!

    This is probably one of my favorite books of all time! This is an amazing story with gripping suspence to last the ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Picture Of Dorian Gray

    The Picture Of Dorian Gray is one of the wittiest books I have ever read. Here a quote to prove what I mean: “One of those middle-aged mediocrities so common in London clubs who have no enemies but are thoroughly disliked by their friends.”

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 743 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 38