Customer Reviews for

The Picture of Dorian Gray

Average Rating 4
( 758 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(347)

4 Star

(216)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

SPECTACULAR NOVEL, but buy a different edition

"The Picture of Dorian Gray" is a fantastic book, mixing excellent wit with poignant commentary on society, intertwined around a spiritual story about a man who sold his soul unwittingly, but unrepentantly. Make sure you read this book, BUT ... buy a different edition....
"The Picture of Dorian Gray" is a fantastic book, mixing excellent wit with poignant commentary on society, intertwined around a spiritual story about a man who sold his soul unwittingly, but unrepentantly. Make sure you read this book, BUT ... buy a different edition.

The editor of this book, Cauti, included many intelligent and spectacular notes throughout the book, but he includes asterisks and cross-marks throughout the book so that you will check his footnotes. These appear on 90% of the pages, and they ruin the flow of Wilde's prose because the reader is compelled to stop reading, check the footnote, and return to their previous position. The rhythm of the writing is totaly disrupted whenever this happens, and it is fair to say that this happens often. Often enough, in fact, that I recommend you buy another edition. Not this one.

posted by MDC_ColumbiaU on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Bad

This is a very poorly copied version of a great book and to my knowledge the only free version available. You are better off just buying a cheap copy of the ebook.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 759 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 38
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 1999

    Full of morals!!!

    One my favorite books since Phantom of the Opera. It should be on Oprahs reading list!!! VERY INTELLECTUAL!!! MUST READ!!! MEMORABLE!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    Miss MARY SCHECK Loves this book

    What about you great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    MISS MARY SCHECK

    Awesome I an in love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2015

    terrible

    Dont' like Sucks
    THis is
    Mary Scheck wrevuing this dumb book•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2015

    Sucks

    Miss MARY SCHECK has a Coplament yuck its' terrible dont' read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2015

    Good read.

    I was in the mood to read some classics and this was a good read,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2015

    Set at the height of the Victorian era in London, this novel tel

    Set at the height of the Victorian era in London, this novel tells the story of a young man who becomes so enamored of his youth and beauty that he allows it to steal his soul. Corrupted by the flattery of a painter who idolized him and the careless words of a dandy that the only virtues to be had are youth and beauty, he makes a desperate plea that his portrait will age while he remains unchanged.




    The premise is a fascinating one. What vices would one allow themself if they knew that it could never be seen on our faces by the outer world? However, I think it is an inherently flaws concept, as most people are guided by a set of morals and ethics that would stop us long before we reached that state of corruption that the titular character does. However I thought it was greatly redeemed by the novel's conclusion.




    More than anything, I found that the philosophical tone of the novel was overbearing. I enjoy the study of philosophy, and I don't typically mind it's presence in my books. That said, it so consumed the story that I found myself skimming not only passages but at one point a whole chapter. It was just too much and in my opinion detracted from the narrative.




    I know that Wilde is much more widely known as a playwright, and as this was only my first taste of his style, I intend to try one of his plays to see if I find it more readable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2015

    I was destroyed by this book. Never have I felt such strong emot

    I was destroyed by this book. Never have I felt such strong emotions, and this was all from reading this book. It's a different type of feeling that you get from reading Oscar Wilde. It's an enlightened feeling, a feeling of completion. This book gives me sense of that completion like I have learned everything there is in the world, yet I have not.
    The Picture of Dorian Gray takes place in late 19th century London. London at this time was a place of class. Men were men, and ladies were ladies. Basil Hallward was an artist, who painted a picture of this charming and mystical young man, Dorian Gray. Basil is so passionate about this perfect human being that he insists on him not meeting anyone else as to not spoil his delicate character. Dorian is seen by many as perfect, with his baby blue eyes, and blonde hair. He is liked by all, and is naive, and young. 
    Dorian meets Basil’s friend, Lord Henry, who tells Dorian about the darkness of life. “Women, as some witty Frenchman once put it, inspire us with the desire to do masterpieces and always prevent us from carrying them out.” -Lord Henry, The Picture of Dorian Gray. Dorian realizes that he does not want to grow old and live these horrible things that man lives. So he goes to the painting that Basil painted of him, and wishes that he will never grow old. 
    Dorian then lives his life, committing atrocities and wrong doings, and his face always stays old. Then after he broke an actress’ heart and she kills herself, he realizes that the painting has a snarl. The painting grows older while he stays young!
    This book has a sense of science fiction or mythology but yet it is still quite enjoyable for me. It’s a realistic fiction book but the painting is definitely science fiction. The way that Oscar Wilde writes is powerful. His writings made me stay up late at night just thinking to myself. He has that deep striking style that is shown in this book and many others. Oscar Wilde is definitely a great writer and this book is a must read. Alex B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2015

    Forest of Darke

    The sun is blocked out by the twisted trees, and the plants are mostly dead. The trees are alive, and will eat anyone who dares enter; unless the creatures inside cry from hunger...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Hey

    Heuhey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Fantastic

    Not for the dim of wit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Bad

    The most terrible book I ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Love

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    To Duskstar

    Here is some fancy font (use this for your ads, makes it easy to read, mush easier than the stupid thunderclans ads.): <p>
    a=&alpha=& alpha <br> b=&beta=& beta <br> c=&#99=&# 99 <br> d=&delta=& delta <br> e=&epsilon=& epsilon <br> f=&forte=& forte <br> g=&#103=&# 103 <br> h=&#104=&# 104 <br> i=&iota=& iota <br> j=&#106=&# 106 <br> k=&kappa=& kappa <br> l=&Iota=& Iota <br> m=&#109=&# 10 <br> n=&eta=& eta <br> o=&sigma=& sigma <br> p=&rho=& rho <br> q=&#113=&# 113 <br> r=&#114=&# 114 <br> s=&#115=&# 115 <br> t=&tau=& tau <br> u=&upsilon=& upsilon <br> v=&nu=& nu <br> w=&omega=& omega <br> x=&chi=& chi <br> y=&gamma=& gamma <br> z=&#122=&# 122 <br> your welcome! (&gamma&sigma&upsilon&#114 &omega&epsilon&Iota&#99&sigma&#109&epsilon!)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    You guys can join DarkClan which is more active

    Coriolanus
    First result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Clawpelt

    She lifts he head. Thk u. She mews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Phantomhawk

    The gray she padded in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Heathersnow

    A beautiful shecat with brown tabby fur and soft blue eyes pads in. "May l join?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 759 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 38