Customer Reviews for

The Pig That Wants to Be Eaten: 100 Experiments for the Armchair Philosopher

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Book That Wants To Be Read

    This is definitely not a book anyone wants to pass up. I picked this book up from one of the B&N Stores and I never put it down. It is useful, complex, and wonderfully written. If you ever found yourself needing something to think about, this is the book for you. Ever thought about ethical behavior, existence of God, or the nature of reality? Baggini takes historical debates and places them in a contemporary context. Visit Descartes, Plato, Nietzsche, and other philosophers in different Thought Experiments. Who knows, maybe you will too become an Armchair Philosopher.<BR/><BR/>The book does not necessarily completely cover the realm of philosophy, only because there are only 100 Thought Experiments, however, it does cover topics such as The Brain vs. The Mind, The Problem of Self, The Nature of Reality, and Ethical Behavior. I strongly recommend this book to avid philosophy students and those with a curiousity for philosophy. No need to have any background in philosophy, Baggini takes you on the ride of your life and doesn't stop anytime soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    So interesting

    Best philosophy book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of Material for Thought

    As a management consultant, I find myself drawn more and more to the Philosopher's way of thinking as we deal with complex subjects that do not always lend themselves to simple Right or Wrong.

    This book contains quick snapshots of some of our major philosophical quandaries about rationality, morality and the line in the sand that differentiates between what is good and what can be viewed as evil (or immoral).

    This book provides a guide into how to deal with these intriguing matters. While it may not go deep enough into the subject, the very process of putting it out there for discussion is valuable in many ways. Especially for the management student. And we are all students regardless of our length of tenure in the field.

    I would also recommend this book for those forming new work teams. Its thought experiments and the way the teammates work through the process will yield a plethora of information that will guide the leader in team formation and areas of needed improvement. It's as if you were given a gift directly from the greatest leader of all time, the leader of the Endurance team.

    I hope you find this review / opinion helpful.

    Michael L Gooch, Author of Wingtips with Spurs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    Creative Discussions

    I picked this book to create discussions with my son.He is Fifteen-plus.I left it out and around and I noticed his friends picking it up every so often. The title catches their notice first as did I.It is great to find out how deep or simple the conversation can become. Perhaps schools should work this way. Some teachers do. Plenty do not. It allows the person to ponder ideas.I want to ponder ideas too,so I rate "The Pig" very worthwhile.It wants you to have your own opinions,and have some fun too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    Put your think caps on...

    I found this in the 'Thought Provoking' display at my local B&N bookseller. I have not been disappointed. I really like that the book makes references to other experiments at the end of each thought so that you can quickly read through thoughts on similar subject matters. I have read through it rather quickly, but I plan to re-read this later in the year and take some quality time to examine each of these experiments. This book is definitely worth the money and the time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2006

    Provoking Thoughts...Brilliant!

    For those who like to think further than any superficial scenario or to re-think what you have thought. This book opens up many arguments from the many different degrees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2006

    Things that make you go Hmm...

    Here is a book you simply cannot sit down and read in a single afternoon. In fact, I could only read, and really ponder, a few of these 'experiments' at a time. This books attacks and/or makes you think about a variety of subjects. Nothing is taboo. I read passages on vegetarian verses meat, religion of all types, the environment, political situations, many moral, social, and personal dilemmas, and even zombies! ..................... The author drew upon many sources. The title of this book is from an issue brought up in the well-known book 'The Restaurant At The End Of The Universe' by Douglas Adams. Not impressed? How about just some of the other sources, such as René Descartes, Thomas Nagel, David Hume, Antony Flew, and Bjorn Lomborg? .............. **** There is no need to be a doctor, professor, or anything else which requires higher education. Each experiment of philosophy is written in such a way that your intelligence will not be offended, no matter your normal or higher education status. If you are looking for a book that will make you actually sit back and THINK, then I highly suggest this one. ****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1