Customer Reviews for

The Pigeon Wants a Puppy!

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Another Winner!

    Just like all the others, this book is a great read. My daughter loves this book. I can honestly say that I enjoy it also.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    The Pigeon is Back!

    My children (and my mife and myself--I should be honest!) have been waiting for this book ever since we found out it was coming out. I purchased the first copy from my local B&N Tuesday evening. We have been reading it each night before bed. Another winner!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    As a daycare teacher and a mother of a toddler, we love this book....
    We read it almost every night i havent seen a child that doesnt love the book, i think they get a kick out of when you read with the emotions... We have bought all the book in the Pigeon series and plan on kieeping them for a long time...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    Adorable & hilarious!

    This book is laugh out loud funny, one day my friend and I came across this book while we wondered Barnes & Noble. We're 18 and after reading this childrens book we couldn't stop laughing! This is a great book for children and apparently teenagers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    ANOTHER GREAT STORY BY MO!

    My 5 year old loves this book. It is one of her favorties and she loves the ending, and starts laughing several pages before the end in prepartaion for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    A Classic that will stand the test of time!

    What adorable books these are. I think I enjoy reading these more than my son does. Such cute story lines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great for beginning readers...

    My daughter was a late bloomer (when it came to reading), but loves the pigeon character and wanted more. I can honestly say the pigeon books are what started her on her reading journey and because of them she is now an avid reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    Hilarious! Worth the hardcover price.

    This is the 4th Pigeon book I have purchased for my grandchildren. They are wonderful to read and act out. Their parents love them just as much as the kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pigeon is Perfect!

    Pigeon is hysterical, and the illustrations are simple yet adorable. The adults who read this book enjoyed it as much (if not more!) than the children being read to. Combined with the plush Pigeon I found, this book made for a great holiday gift. I can't wait for more Pigeon adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book!

    I loved this book! I purchased it as a xmas gift for my 5 yr old nephew- it was so much fun reading it with him the 1st time, the 2nd and the 20th time! would highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Nothing short of Amazing...

    Williams is a master of his craft. These incredably simple yet indirectly profound books will really keep children of all ages entertained.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Cute

    My grandson loved it! I did too. Love the pigeon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Love the Pigeon

    We all love the Pigeon books. My 6 year old is a slow reader. You have to push him to read. But with the Pigeon books he loves to read. He's able to read 96% of the book on his own with a little help on the "big" words, which are not many. The illustrations are wonderful. They are simple but do a phenomenal job of bringing the characters to life. I personally love the Pigeon's facial expressions. I believe the size of the book is a plus. It gives more room for the drawing and it makes it seem like there's not a lot to read (for those that have a difficult time reading). We have no complaints about the Pigeon books. I'm trying to complete our set. We LOVE that Pigeon!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    highly recommend!

    We love this book, especially the faces that the pigeon makes and the lines! The kids really relate to things that pigeon says ("you just don't want me to be happy!") Thoroughly enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    My twin 6 year olds (along with my husband and I) love, love, lo

    My twin 6 year olds (along with my husband and I) love, love, love this book and all the pigeon books. They are hilarious and heartwarming and tons of fun! My girls enjoying learning to read with Mo Willem's books. They're fabulous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    Mrs.Bryant's 1st grade Team Time Class highly recommends this book!

    (First graders comments) This book is so funny because he wants the puppy but then...there is a surprising twist in the story. This book is funny because it has details and lots of good pictures. I liked this book because after that he wanted a walrus! We think he will not like him because of the tusks. Our class pet, Curious George, likes Mo Willems books, and I do too, because the Pigeon books are funny. The book is so funny that we kept laughing! The book is funny because I think every time when he wants a pet he is going to be scared of it. Mrs.Bryant loves Mo Willems books! He makes kids and grown-ups laugh. The illustrations are genius! Keep up the great writing Mr.Willems! I think when he gets a walrus he will be scared of it and he might want a unicorn instead.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for bedtime

    My 2 year old son loves reading the pigeon books. He points out the different illustrations and the books help him to learn new words. The best part is they are simple to read and quick for bedtime.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    Strange, but Compelling for Small Children

    I thought this was the strangest book, but my granddaughter got it for Christmas when she was 12 months old, and immediately loved it. Now, at 15 months, she say, "A puppy, a puppy, a puppy," when they get to that page. It is soooooo funny. She LOVES this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great story for an eager child

    I love all of the pigeon books but my son likes this one the best. He giggles when the pigeon gets excited and laughs when the pigeon see's how HUGE the puppy dog is. I love this series because they pull the child in with interaction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Instant gratification? No

    Oh, that wacky pigeon! Will he ever learn?

    Teach your kids about emotive non-reasoning with some reverse psychology techniques thrown in for free.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2