BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Pilates Body: The Ultimate At-Home Guide to Strengthening, Lengthening, and Toning Your Body--Without Machines

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A great in-home method of exercise.

    Not a long review necessary for this book. It starts you out with the history of pilates and covers the basics. Then, it swiftly moves you to the meat and potatoes of the book- the moves and routines. <BR/><BR/>Excellent black and white photos are plastered throughout the book (ah, that's a good thing) alongside very simple explanations. There are many different levels of difficulty to choose from which makes it good for beginners as well as the experienced. <BR/><BR/>Probably one of the best in-home methods of exercising, I recommend "The Pilates Body" if pilates seems like it would be your cup of tea. Also recommend Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff if you have a shoulder problem that interferes with your pilates.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    Great Pilates book from beginners to advanced!

    Whether you are a beginner (as I was) or advanced, this book is great! I really love that it has detailed instructions for each pose as well as what your goal is for the pose. Then, there is the complete routine on two pages in the middle of the book where you can follow the entire program without having to turn pages!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    Nothing Beats This!

    This book was recommended to my by my pilates instructor because I was moving to an area where there are no pilates-certified instructors. Brooke Siler's book not only reinforced everything I had learned in my pilates classes but it also allowed me to break down and learn new movements that I hadn't learned. For simplicity and clarity, nothing beats this!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    A great in-home method of exercise.

    Not a long review necessary for this book. It starts you out with the history of pilates and covers the basics. Then, it swiftly moves you to the meat and potatoes of the book- the moves and routines. Excellent black and white photos are plastered throughout the book (ah, that's a good thing) alongside very simple explanations. There are many different levels of difficulty to choose from which makes it good for beginners as well as the experienced. Probably one of the best in-home methods of exercising, I recommend 'The Pilates Body' if pilates seems like it would be your cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2003

    Great book!

    This book is wonderful! I am familiar with Pilates, so it is really easy for me to use. I needed something to take the place of an instructor while my gym was closed for three weeks (in August, in Houston...how unfair is that?), and this really fit the bill. The pictures are great, especially the pages showing the exercises in order. Good to help learn the sequence (although I don't do them exactly in order, I find certain transitions easier than what Siler suggests). My only problems: the book doesn't stay open when you are using it...would be nice if it were spiral bound. Also, Christy Turlington is not even mentioned as a part of the book, much less an author. I find it odd that the website says that Turlington is one of the authors, when she isn't. Also, I imagine (and I, for one, feel this way) that many Pilates enthusiasts would be happier NOT to see a model's name associated with a fitness regime (what a refreshing change that would be!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    Fantastic!!!

    This book has got all the moves, and i mean all the moves! You want to feel between your bits? Well this is the book for you. Great reading with a big cup of tea!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    Instant Results - Can't complain about that.

    I am one of those people that read every review and spent a lot of time before I chose a book to get me started. I picked this book and from the first time I layed down on the matt I had instant success. I sit at a desk all day and have become quite - unfit - with the new job. I am on the phone a lot and didn't have a head set (leading to shoulder pain), my thighs were spreading, and my hip hurt from a broken toe (trying not to walk so my foot hurt, left me with a sore hip.) I got up off the matt after doing my first round of the modified basic seven thinkinng, "Thats it? No sweat, no pain? How can that work? I was only their for 10 minutes or so." then I felt how good my body felt. Within one week, I was at good form, sitting better at work, little to no hip pain, energized and ready to move on. I am taking it slowly, as I have little time (especially choosing to start in the holiday season). But I also love the fact that I can do the basic seven in the morning and/or at night. I use to hate getting my body in motion and not being able to fall asleep, because I was hyped up. Using that an excuse to not work out. Now I can either run off to work or hit the sack, feeling better either way. This book has wonderful descriptions and imagery. For someone that feels like she is too busy taking care of everyone else this is the first time I have felt that I can work towards my fitness goals whenever I get the time, and focus on me for a change. She teaches that it isn't about putting in your time, or even about how many reps, it is about quality. And if you focous on the qualty you will see the results. I would love to have the time to take a few one on one courses with a pro, but with this book, I almost am. I did order a DVD (Classical Pilates Complete Mat Workout Series) as well, will see how that pushes me to go further. The only way to improve this book would be to make it spiral bound so you don't loose your place while doing the exercies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2002

    My church group enjoys it!

    We are practicing the first steps of the Pilates Mat methods and we are enjoying it alot. With mostly women in our health and fitness class, we have taken a move from traditional "sweatin' workouts" to a more "control centered" workout. The results so far have been favorable. Some students, however, have desired more "sweatin'"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2002

    Worth every penny

    This book is great. I've done some exercises from it every week morning for about a year, and my abs (even though I have about average body fat) are nicely toned, as are my arms and legs. Honestly, all it has taken is 10-15 minutes, five days per week. The instructions are extremely clear, with great supplemental pictures, and there are tons of exercises wich one can work through at his own pace. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    If you like Pilates and exercising at home.....

    Most people are going to buy this book in order to get in shape. Getting in shape will mean eating right AND exercising. This book will help you with the exercising part. It offers gentle exercises that will help your muscles, but be aware, it will do nothing to get your heart in shape. I recommend this book to get you started in the direction of exercise, but then build on your program and combine it with a healthy diet and an aerobic exercise 2-3 times a week for your heart (I don't think any Pilates instructors would disagree with this philosophy). I think of this book as a vital part of a total program rather than a the-only-exercise-you'll-ever need book. I recommend Pilates as good exercise, but don't forget the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    Pilates as a supplement to traditional workouts

    Although the author says she moved away from more traditional workouts before embracing the Pilates method, I think it's entirely possible to use Pilates as a great supplement to regular time on the treadmill/track and the weight room. I have been doing Pilates mat work on my days off from the gym, and it has significantly enhanced my flexibility, muscle definition and endurance. This easy-to-read guide is awesome for anyone who wants to ease into or improve ANY kind of workout routine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    an OUTSTANDING book for EVERYONE

    The book is exceptionally clear. The instructions are concise and yet still include all of the info you need in order to avoid injury. The pictures are inspirational. I do Pilates mat exercises everyday (by the book's instructions), and my muscles are continuing to become stronger and my figure is becoming leaner. Pilates is invigorating, and this book provides a door into the method. Take the first step toward optimal health by buying this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    Great Pilates Book

    This is the book for any stage of Pilates. It is clear and informative and allows you to start from day one and move on to advanced Pilates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2001

    Amazing

    This book is none other than amazing. Pilates gives me confidence and the power to achieve even more each day. There's no pain, but there certainly is lots to gain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    I'm addicted to this book!

    This is my new favorite book. I do these exercises every day and I am totally addicted!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2001

    Great

    The Pilates workout is good fun and very effective. I would have found it more useful if there was a nutritional aspect to the regime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2001

    I cannot say enough good things about this book!

    I have taken Pilates classes but it is so hard to find the time. This book was given to me by a friend and it has allowed me to do the excercises on my time! The pictures and analogies have helped me so much as I work harder and harder to achieve my ideal body. Pilates is a true strength builder which allows you to maintain your womanly figure. I recommend this to EVERYONE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2000

    A true Delight!

    As someone who has grown tired of weight-lifting due to injuries, this method of exercise is effective in a short period of time. You feel powerful yet your muscles feel lean, not bulky! Book provides great examples of how to do the exercises - a definite must-have book!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2000

    The Ultimate Guide to the Pilates Method

    This book is an essential if you want to learn the wonderful Pilates method of fitness. The explicit instructions and step by step photos are complimented by visualizations to ensure that your movements are being performed correctly. It is a gem.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2