Customer Reviews for

The Pirate Coast: Thomas Jefferson, the First Marines, and the Secret Mission of 1805

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    Worth a Read

    I found this book interesting, as I always enjoy reading about largely unheard of historical events. It's great learning about Eaton, an unknown American hero, with his driven nature and short temper. It's also interesting to get a different view of Thomas Jefferson, instead of the usual idealized portrait of a near perfect American hero. This book is great for holding your attention and nearly reads like a novel. I couldn't wait to read the next chapter to find out what would happen to Eaton next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2005

    Outstanding Work

    This is one of the best maritme history books I have read in a long time. It took me two days to read it. If your a history lover this is one to add to your collection. The author quotes 'Eaton achieved a remarkable victory on the shores of Tripoli-commemorated to this day in the U.S. Marine Corps Hymn'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    This should be a movie!

    What a great read, and all the better since it is true! William Eaton is a single minded hero worthy of admiration! I found the story exciting, the merging of cultures telling and the parallels to today's events direct. I recommend this to any fan of adventure and any fan of flawed heros that trimuph in inprobable circumstances to bloody the nose of the bully!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Fascinating, exciting, and great history! I couldn't put it dow

    Fascinating, exciting, and great history! I couldn't put it down. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Learning about the USA's first run in with Muslims

    I found this book very interesting. I have always knew a little about Barbary Wars but I never knew the whole story. In this book you learn the whole story. I think every diplomat and soldier that is going to the middle east should read this book as a lessons learned book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Enlightening and Original

    I got this book form my daughter and was so very inspired by it that I sat my other books down after I read the Introduction and was pulled to read the whole book.<BR/>very enjoyable and informative great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    Great Read

    This is an exciting, well written adventure book. Zacks has picked a timely subject ¿ America trying to interfere and run foreign governments and in this case a Muslim government. It is well written and smartly paced. The true life character William Eaton is well portrayed. My only complaint is that even though the title includes the word Pirates the book is not a sea story so much as the story of a military campaign. Look for the most exiting part the march across the Sahara lead by Eaton. As crazy as Shackleton's adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    interesting look at early American ¿diplomacy¿

    In the early nineteenth century, Tripoli ruler Bashaw Yussef uses a force of pirates to terrorize the seas (nation sponsored terrorism even in early 1800s). Countries have choices to either pay him for safe passage or risk the seizing of their ships. Most nations choose to remit the fee. America is the exception refusing to bow to any form of tyranny. Instead, the tiny US Navy sets up a blockade off North Africa, but the Philadelphia runs aground off Tripoli; the 300 man crew is enslaved. Outraged President Jefferson sends diplomat William Eaton to allegedly negotiate with the abusive Barbary pirates though he also has a secret agenda to cause regime change. --- This is an interesting look at a rarely detailed chapter of early American ¿diplomacy¿. The first part of the book reads almost like a historical action thriller as the audience is gripped by what really happened. When the negotiations occur, the account slows down, but remains insightful and intriguing (no wonder the media pushes for hostilities ¿ those are more exciting than back room diplomacy). Known for his bio on Captain Kidd (see THE PIRATE HUNTER) Richard Zacks provides an excellent insightful look at the Jefferson presidency with this powerful, deeply researched historical description of the Barbary Pirates encounter. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2