Customer Reviews for

The Plague Forge: The Dire Earth Cycle: Three

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    :( Wow

    Loved the last two books and was dying to know how it all ended. This book wasnt a dissapointment until the end and while still more than worth the read it wasnt enough to measure up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Very good

    I really enjoyed this trilogy as it was driven by great charcters and story developments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Great series

    Super series of books. Look forward for more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Exciting as the first book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Definitely a good read. I recommend it.

    I've read all three of the Plague Forge series, and found them to be totally engrossing. The characters were spot on and the situation was dealt with in a realistic and believable manner. The ending was in character with the story. I liked this series and for anyone looking for a good solid read and plot line, I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    The athor takes the easy way out

    I really enjoyed this series however, the ending was more than just disappointing. The shame and pity is the ending of this book is the end of the triology. The previous two books left me egarly waiting for the next book. I paid good money for a badly used plot device that left me frustrated and disappointed. It seems like the author jut did not know how to end the book and the series. He just threw together the first thing that came to mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am shocked, overwhelmed, reeling and feeling completely bereft

    I am shocked, overwhelmed, reeling and feeling completely bereft that it is over. Suspense, tension, violence, non-stop action, plot twists and turns, Jason M. Hough puts us through the ride of a life time in the final Dire Earth Cycle book.

    After discovering and removing a highly guarded key in the Builder ship, the power and players in this story quickly discover two things. One, that they are tied to the space elevators and Two, they are connected to the new ship that has just arrived. The race is on to obtain the keys and place them in the newest Builder ship. The clock is counting down to the arrival of the final Builder event.

    The Plague Forge is an epic science fiction story. This is the kind of story you rethink in your mind, it flows into your dreams and the impact stays with you. Each and every characters' plight completely sucked me in. The writing style made you feel like it was your world you were watching battle for survival. Hough's even makes you feel sympathy for characters you would otherwise write off as evil. Keeping me on the edge of my seat till the very last word, I was utterly glued to the pages. Brilliant writing! The Plague Forge is being added as a wonderful addition to my favorite books of all time shelf.

    I received this ARC copy of The Plague Forge from Random House Publishing Group - Del Rey Spectra in exhcange for a honest review. This book is set for publication September 27, 2013.

    Written by: Jason M. Hough
    Series: Dire Earth Cycle
    Sequence in Series: 3
    Paperback: 448 pages
    Publisher: Titan Books Ltd 
    Publication Date: September 27, 2013
    Language: English
    ISBN-10: 1781167672
    ISBN-13: 978-1781167670
    Rating: 5 Stars FAVORITE
    Genre: Science Fiction
    Age Recommendation: Adult

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Absolutely impossible to put down.

    Absolutely impossible to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant Sci-fi! Brilliant Reading! Creative!

    July, 2013 - Review on hold! And don't think it isn't killing me!

    September, 2013 - Signed, sealed and delivered beyond expectations, The Plague Forge by Jason Hough brings his Dire Earth Cycle to a brilliant conclusion! Intense, detailed and flying by at breakneck speed in a race against time and an unknown alien faction with an equally unknown purpose, The Plague Forge holds on to its final secrets until the very end. Imagine a rollercoaster powering to the precipice, then plunging downward, leaving you breathless, waiting for your stomach to catch up, and that amazing adrenaline rush that makes you grin silly as you pull into the final stop, completely satisfied and ready to do it again after a short breather! The Plague Forge is that good!

    Jason Hough is a master at his craft! He makes each scene real, I did the mental look around, seeing it all. With larger than life characters, surprising heroes, mindless SUBS, evil, manipulating power mongers, and the dark, looming unknown from beyond, I was living in the moment in each book! Did I lose a few too many friends in the battle? Yes! Did I witness true bravery in action? Yes! Did I see tons of gore, guts and brutality? Yes! Did I find the hard-fought resolution and hope for the future? Yes! Do I want more from the mind and pen of this great Sci-fi author? YES! Am I keeping the gun I used in the fights? No, silly, this was fiction, but I would like to return to see what is happening now!

    I received an ARC edition from NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group - Del Rey Spectra in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1