Customer Reviews for

The Plan: Eliminate the Surprising "Healthy" Foods That Are Making You Fat--and Lose Weight Fast

Average Rating 3.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

I am hearing far too many women in my life saying "I don't

I am hearing far too many women in my life saying "I don't eat much" in response to my compliments on how great they look or when I ask how they lost the weight. They look so saddened when they say this. The thing is I was one of them in my 30s and in my 40s I...
I am hearing far too many women in my life saying "I don't eat much" in response to my compliments on how great they look or when I ask how they lost the weight. They look so saddened when they say this. The thing is I was one of them in my 30s and in my 40s I was still one of them except I wasn't losing weight any longer. Then, the Plan entered my life and I began to eat so much food, all different types and could not seem to finish a meal on the Plan because I was full so fast. Previously, in an effort to stop the 15-20 pounds of weight I had gained due to hypothyroidism (I thought) . I was eating healthy foods and 1200-1400 calories per day, I dedicated myself to 5-6 days/week of 1-1.5 hours of working out, finally becoming vegan with an occasional fish (wild & locally caught). I watched my friends on the same diet dropping weight, but my acne, PMS and hypothyroidism continued, but with the large amount of exercise I was finally maintaining an 8-pound weight loss. I had to keep it up just to maintain!! (sigh...I was exhausted). I was skeptical because I had tried it all: weight watchers, medifast, vegan, vegetarian, pescatarian, all organic, with exercise, without exercise and all of them started great and ended with weight gain. So, I watched my friends for a year and still, they were having success and healing their health issues as well. I did try to convince Lyn Genet that I was different so her plan may not work with me. Taking one more chance, I committed to the Plan with the same loyal, honest, commitment I had to the others. I lost weight....FAST! 5 lbs. the first week and it just kept coming. That is what kept me going, that I lost immediately...not 1-2 pounds/month like I had the rest of my 30s and 40s, but daily. I ate foods I had cut out (with trepidation, but I did it), I had wine and chocolate every night, ate gourmet meals that were fast to prepare, cheese, potato chips, bread (hadn't had those in forever and I dropped 10 pounds in 20 days!) Foods that were making me gain: wild white fish, scallops, sun-dried tomatoes, hummus (which I ate daily for protein). I cut those, out, NEVER count calories, and I have kept it off. Not only that but I am medication free when I eat Plan menus consistently. Amazing! Miraculous!! It is only 20 days, you can do anything for 20 days, commit and do your best to do it 100% and it will happen for youI am hearing far too many women in my life saying "I don't eat much" in response to my compliments on how great they look or when I ask how they lost the weight. They look so saddened when they say this. The thing is I was one of them in my 30s and in my 40s I was still one of them except I wasn't losing weight any longer. Then, the Plan entered my life and I began to eat so much food, all different types and could not seem to finish a meal on the Plan because I was full so fast. Previously, in an effort to stop the 15-20 pounds of weight I had gained due to hypothyroidism (I thought) . I was eating healthy foods and 1200-1400 calories per day, I dedicated myself to 5-6 days/week of 1-1.5 hours of working out, finally becoming vegan with an occasional fish (wild & locally caught). I watched my friends on the same diet dropping weight, but my acne, PMS and hypothyroidism continued, but with the large amount of exercise I was finally maintaining an 8-pound weight loss. I had to keep it up just to maintain!! (sigh...I was exhausted). I was skeptical because I had tried it all: weight watchers, medifast, vegan, vegetarian, pescatarian, all organic, with exercise, without exercise and all of them started great and ended with weight gain. So, I watched my friends for a year and still, they were having success and healing their health issues as well. I did try to convince Lyn Genet that I was different so her plan may not work with me. Taking one more chance, I committed to the Plan with the same loyal, honest, commitment I had to the others. I lost weight....FAST! 5 lbs. the first week and it just kept coming. That is what kept me going, that I lost immediately...not 1-2 pounds/month like I had the rest of my 30s and 40s, but daily. I ate foods I had cut out (with trepidation, but I did it), I had wine and chocolate every night, ate gourmet meals that were fast to prepare, cheese, potato chips, bread (hadn't had those in forever and I dropped 10 pounds in 20 days!) Foods that were making me gain: wild white fish, scallops, sun-dried tomatoes, hummus (which I ate daily for protein). I cut those, out, NEVER count calories, and I have kept it off. Not only that but I am medication free when I eat Plan menus consistently. This book is re-inspiring me and has everything in it to be successful!

posted by Lisa00 on January 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Don't get the Nook version

Like other reviewers have said, the nook version is awkward. There are recipes that you don't see. The side bar information is sort of plunked into the text.
I felt that there was a lot of good information in this book and for that I would give it 5 stars. But there is...
Like other reviewers have said, the nook version is awkward. There are recipes that you don't see. The side bar information is sort of plunked into the text.
I felt that there was a lot of good information in this book and for that I would give it 5 stars. But there is definitely too much text on specific people's results. It overwhelms the book.

I didn't do much of the plan as I have yet to get to the recipes and sort of gave up on it. Now, maybe if I had the actual book...

posted by Pitollie on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    I am hearing far too many women in my life saying "I don't

    I am hearing far too many women in my life saying "I don't eat much" in response to my compliments on how great they look or when I ask how they lost the weight. They look so saddened when they say this. The thing is I was one of them in my 30s and in my 40s I was still one of them except I wasn't losing weight any longer. Then, the Plan entered my life and I began to eat so much food, all different types and could not seem to finish a meal on the Plan because I was full so fast. Previously, in an effort to stop the 15-20 pounds of weight I had gained due to hypothyroidism (I thought) . I was eating healthy foods and 1200-1400 calories per day, I dedicated myself to 5-6 days/week of 1-1.5 hours of working out, finally becoming vegan with an occasional fish (wild & locally caught). I watched my friends on the same diet dropping weight, but my acne, PMS and hypothyroidism continued, but with the large amount of exercise I was finally maintaining an 8-pound weight loss. I had to keep it up just to maintain!! (sigh...I was exhausted). I was skeptical because I had tried it all: weight watchers, medifast, vegan, vegetarian, pescatarian, all organic, with exercise, without exercise and all of them started great and ended with weight gain. So, I watched my friends for a year and still, they were having success and healing their health issues as well. I did try to convince Lyn Genet that I was different so her plan may not work with me. Taking one more chance, I committed to the Plan with the same loyal, honest, commitment I had to the others. I lost weight....FAST! 5 lbs. the first week and it just kept coming. That is what kept me going, that I lost immediately...not 1-2 pounds/month like I had the rest of my 30s and 40s, but daily. I ate foods I had cut out (with trepidation, but I did it), I had wine and chocolate every night, ate gourmet meals that were fast to prepare, cheese, potato chips, bread (hadn't had those in forever and I dropped 10 pounds in 20 days!) Foods that were making me gain: wild white fish, scallops, sun-dried tomatoes, hummus (which I ate daily for protein). I cut those, out, NEVER count calories, and I have kept it off. Not only that but I am medication free when I eat Plan menus consistently. Amazing! Miraculous!! It is only 20 days, you can do anything for 20 days, commit and do your best to do it 100% and it will happen for youI am hearing far too many women in my life saying "I don't eat much" in response to my compliments on how great they look or when I ask how they lost the weight. They look so saddened when they say this. The thing is I was one of them in my 30s and in my 40s I was still one of them except I wasn't losing weight any longer. Then, the Plan entered my life and I began to eat so much food, all different types and could not seem to finish a meal on the Plan because I was full so fast. Previously, in an effort to stop the 15-20 pounds of weight I had gained due to hypothyroidism (I thought) . I was eating healthy foods and 1200-1400 calories per day, I dedicated myself to 5-6 days/week of 1-1.5 hours of working out, finally becoming vegan with an occasional fish (wild & locally caught). I watched my friends on the same diet dropping weight, but my acne, PMS and hypothyroidism continued, but with the large amount of exercise I was finally maintaining an 8-pound weight loss. I had to keep it up just to maintain!! (sigh...I was exhausted). I was skeptical because I had tried it all: weight watchers, medifast, vegan, vegetarian, pescatarian, all organic, with exercise, without exercise and all of them started great and ended with weight gain. So, I watched my friends for a year and still, they were having success and healing their health issues as well. I did try to convince Lyn Genet that I was different so her plan may not work with me. Taking one more chance, I committed to the Plan with the same loyal, honest, commitment I had to the others. I lost weight....FAST! 5 lbs. the first week and it just kept coming. That is what kept me going, that I lost immediately...not 1-2 pounds/month like I had the rest of my 30s and 40s, but daily. I ate foods I had cut out (with trepidation, but I did it), I had wine and chocolate every night, ate gourmet meals that were fast to prepare, cheese, potato chips, bread (hadn't had those in forever and I dropped 10 pounds in 20 days!) Foods that were making me gain: wild white fish, scallops, sun-dried tomatoes, hummus (which I ate daily for protein). I cut those, out, NEVER count calories, and I have kept it off. Not only that but I am medication free when I eat Plan menus consistently. This book is re-inspiring me and has everything in it to be successful!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Don't get the Nook version

    Like other reviewers have said, the nook version is awkward. There are recipes that you don't see. The side bar information is sort of plunked into the text.
    I felt that there was a lot of good information in this book and for that I would give it 5 stars. But there is definitely too much text on specific people's results. It overwhelms the book.

    I didn't do much of the plan as I have yet to get to the recipes and sort of gave up on it. Now, maybe if I had the actual book...

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    A Must Buy!!

    After the birth of my second child I did not feel normal. I was having issues with anxiety and short-term memory loss. I thought it was just my postpartum hormones and that they would settle down soon. After 8 weeks of not feeling any better, I knew I needed help. Of course I wanted to lose my baby weight, but more importantly I was very uncomfortable with how I felt. After a little research, I stumbled upon an article about Lyn-Genet Recitas and The Plan. I immediately signed up for a consult and began my journey on The Plan. She worked with me on identifying both the foods to eat and the foods to stay away from, which is dependent on my unique body chemistry. Most importantly, The Plan helped me uncover that I have thyroid disease, which was causing my anxiety and short-term memory loss. In addition, I was able to identify which foods triggered my eczema and when I eliminated them from my diet I was eczema free - and still am! I remember sitting in a dermatologist office many years ago and the doctor quickly wrote me a prescription for an ointment to put on my eczema. Fortunately, I never filled it and now I know I will never need it! I have been living as a "Planner" for 9 months and have never felt better. Oh, and all of my baby weight is gone and I am 2 sizes smaller than my PRE-pregnancy size. I am blessed to know Lyn-Genet. She is simply brilliant!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    this book had a lot of good information, but I found it frustrat

    this book had a lot of good information, but I found it frustrating to read on the nook

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book with a lot of good information. This book is a common

    Great book with a lot of good information. This book is a common sense approach to eating better. I am glad somebody backed up with facts what I thought all along about the obesity epidemic and how it is leading to less family meals on page 12. If you aren't sitting with others when you eat, you aren't really aware of what you are eating, are you?

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Read entire book before starting

    I made the mistake of not reading the entire book before starting The Plan. I read through the 3 day cleanse, then after I started the cleanse I read on. There is info further into the book that you need to know before you get started. Make sure to read entire book before starting.
    Could have been formatted better.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I met Lyn-Genet over 6 years ago in our shared Harlem neighborho

    I met Lyn-Genet over 6 years ago in our shared Harlem neighborhood. From the moment I met her she has been an inspiration to me on so many levels, but the ways in which her nutritional counseling has changed my life are by far her biggest impact on my life. I have been a “Planner” for well over 3 years. I struggled with losing weight my entire life. I have never been obese or even severely overweight, but I was never quite able to lose the 10-20 pounds standing between me and “slim”. More importantly I struggled with debilitating migraines, depression, and even patches of psoriasis. As one of many uninsured in this country, doctors and prescriptions weren’t an option for me. I was the classic case she describes in her book, living a “healthy” lifestyle, exercising, but not able to budge the needle on the scale no matter diet I tried, and trust me I tried them all! Enter Lyn-Genet and “The Plan”. Within a couple weeks of starting with her I was down over 7 pounds and feeling the best I felt in my life. Within 2 months I was down almost twenty pounds, no migraines, no depression, no psoriasis! I had two children, one a small baby, and I looked and felt better than I did in high school! More then just the weight came off though, I shed a lot of emotional baggage in the process, and that baggage weighed much more than the weight I lost. I just finished Lyn’s book and even as an experienced “Planner” I am shocked at how much I have learned from reading it. There is something really special about the comprehensive way all her research is laid out, combined with the menus and testimonials. I found myself unable to put it down, I was laughing, crying and inspired all over again. With each page I read, I found myself having little “ah-ha” moments. I can’t more highly recommend this book! Whether you are an experienced “Planner” or brand new to Lyn’s research, there isn’t a person on the planet who can’t benefit from information covered in “The Plan”. 

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Good but...

    This seems like a good and informative book on how to lose weight but what they dont tell you is that it is recommended for men and women over the age of 35. I am younger than 35 and now have a book that wont even help me.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Best Plan My husband I have ever tried. My husband lost 20lbs &

    Best Plan My husband I have ever tried. My husband lost 20lbs & I lost 13lbs in the first 20 days....we are now on day 24 and still losing and loving it. So easy to stay on.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    I purchased this book after seeing Lyn-Genet on Dr. Oz.  The Pla

    I purchased this book after seeing Lyn-Genet on Dr. Oz.  The Plan is not an easy undertaking.  After three weeks
    trying to "prepare" for beginning the diet and trying several of the recipes, I am giving up.  The recipes are too
    arbitrary and some of the "special" foods are not always available.  I tried the recipe for flax granola with roasted 
    raw flaxseed.  Both ways, I was just chewing on seeds with some added nuts and dried fruit.  I think the Plan needs
    to be revised for the average person who has to "fix" their own meals.  The best thing this book did for me was make
    me aware of how my body responds to the foods I normally eat. I would not recommend the book as a "diet" but just
    for information.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    everyone has weight problem or autoimmune diseases must read this book

    I have started this plan , even though I could not follow the plan due to my travel I have gain so much benefit from it that I will continue to use the plan. This is the best thing that happened to since 7 years ago when, my Fibromyalgia problem started. Thanks Lyn-Genet.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Highly recommend -- very informative!

    I recommend this book even if you don't want to participate in the plan. There is a lot of good information about diet choices. I was eating a very healthy diet but could not lose a pound -- in fact, I would gain. According to "The Plan", there were foods that were resistent. I made some adjustments to my diet and am very pleased, not only because I lost 8 lbs in 14 days but I feel great. By the way, I am not starving; I just temporarily eliminated the foods that were causing a problem (aspergus for one) and will re-introduce them from time to time to say if I have a reaction.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    I was sadly disappointed with this book.  I was exploring it bec

    I was sadly disappointed with this book.  I was exploring it because of it's lists and information concerning inflammation.  In it's defense I did find the information concerning this authors views on this subject.  I found the food highly unpalatable and the ingredients expensive.  If I were living alone I might have made it through "The Plan" but my family wouldn't touch the food.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    good

    I was surprised when I started reading the book, it says this diet is only for people over forty.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Check out the info in this book if you are having "diet" issues.

    My husband and I are reading this book and using it along with our basic Diabetic diet. Our Endocrinologist, while she did not endorse this book, per se, is pleased with the sucess we have had with losing some weight and getting our blood sugar readings "in line". Our A1Cs have dropped and leveled off in the low 60s.

    I am not "advising" anyone who has diabetes to use this book as a base for dieting. Each one of us is different and each of us has to follow what our diabetic MD advises. Read this book and discuss it with your MD to get his/her advice. You may be surprised at how much better you will feel - mentally as well as physically. Best wishes!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I started doing some of what she suggests before I finnished reading it. I lost 5.5 lbs in 6 days!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    great book!

    great book!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Interesting

    The book provided some interesting facts, however, the plan itself seems very detailed. You would have to be dedicated to follow this plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Swindle roleplay: plan of the week

    This weeks plan is to go to rockford result one to keep it from being destroyed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    MUSIC

    Dj perhaps...or an orchestra...requests?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4