Customer Reviews for

The Playdate: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Please People

    Just a brief review, not a synopsis of the whole book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Great read

    Great build up of characters then several crazy twists that keep the pages turning

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Interesting book

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick read for me and had some good twists and turns in the storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    This book is mediocre at best. Not awful, but nor great either.

    This book is mediocre at best. Not awful, but nor great either. The plot is extremely slow, taking about 170 pages to actually get interesting. I found myself fighting to get through the first half of the book because it is quite boring. The author did a great job of developing the characters, however, she took half of the book doing just that. Once the plot started to develop, it moved fairly quickly, almost too quickly, and I found myself predicting what was to happen next. There are a lot of great twists, but the ending I felt was rushed and very bland. I would hope that the author develops a sequel because I would really like to see what happens with the characters.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Slow start

    Very slow start and a very anticlimatic ending. Was just looking for a little more at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Each chapter of this masterfully written book lead me in a new d

    Each chapter of this masterfully written book lead me in a new direction. Before I knew it, I was navigating a maze I hadn't realized I'd entered. The author does a wonderful job of weaving little details into a larger story, like breadcrumbs down a path. You think you know who each character is and then it changes.




    I am very much looking forward to reading the author's latest book to see if it measures up to the high bar she has set with The Playdate.




    For my Book Rating Scale, a Five Star review means the book is a must read and nearly flawless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Callie and Suzy are your typical best friends. They get along w

    Callie and Suzy are your typical best friends. They get along well and enjoy their company. However, the two cannot be more opposite. Callie has a young sickly daughter and no husband while Suzy has a husband and three healthy children. Callie has spent much of her time caring for her daughter, but would also like to work more. She has managed to get a new job, but is slightly afraid to tell Suzy. Why would you be afraid to tell your best friend about your new job? Callie tries to become friendly with Debs, the new woman on the block. Debs is a teacher and seems to love kids, but she has more than a few secrets of her own. With plenty of secrets and some sordid pasts, can the three women continue their linked friendships?


    Callie is the character that the reader will most identify with and like. She is very calm and kind through most of the book, though she has a few skeletons in her closet. Debs is constantly jumpy and has trouble making friends. Suzy constantly seems to be looking for anything to go wrong, she is a little "off." The mystery makes up a large part of the plot, but the reader may find that the mystery feels like it begins almost mid-way through the book rather than right away. Friendship seems like it should be a strong subject, but in this book the friendships are shaky and feel almost like a facade. The reader will have to sift through the characters' pasts to figure out the key to the plot. The author hasn't made it easy, this novel has a lot of smoke and mirrors hiding the obvious truths, but there are plenty of twists and surprises to keep the reader guessing. As far as creating a realistic plot and set of characters, the author did a wonderful job. The women could be our own neighbors, the plot is a little more sketchy, but fits once the reader knows the whole story. This book is recommended to adults.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Good read. Definately didn't expect the ending. But I kinda fe

    Good read. Definately didn't expect the ending. But I kinda felt like it just dropped off and left you wondering what happened to the character afterwards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1