BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Plum Tree

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

This was a great book. The author draws you in and you feel the

This was a great book. The author draws you in and you feel the characters fear and pain. It is a heartbreaking story that takes place in Germany during WW II. Even though it is fiction there is so much fact built into the story. I loved this book.

posted by booklover63DL on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Please, B&N, if you're going to advertise a book as having 4

Please, B&N, if you're going to advertise a book as having 43 5 star ratings, make sure they're not spam. I counted 14 spam 5-star ratings for this book. "Here are your 15squirrels 15rabbits 15mice. And you get a free vole" isn't a valid review.....

posted by whiterose_1943 on December 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    This was a great book. The author draws you in and you feel the

    This was a great book. The author draws you in and you feel the characters fear and pain. It is a heartbreaking story that takes place in Germany during WW II. Even though it is fiction there is so much fact built into the story. I loved this book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Please, B&N, if you're going to advertise a book as having 4

    Please, B&N, if you're going to advertise a book as having 43 5 star ratings, make sure they're not spam. I counted 14 spam 5-star ratings for this book.

    "Here are your 15squirrels 15rabbits 15mice. And you get a free vole" isn't a valid review.....

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    rich and hearty descriptions

    What i loved about this book was that i could see feel smell hear and taste everything that the author described.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    Couldn't stop reading this sad book. It is important to keep ali

    Couldn't stop reading this sad book. It is important to keep alive the horrific history of the Nazi facts and though this is a novel alot of it is true. Glad I read it and will tell others to read it also.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Christine Bolz is a seventeen year old girl from a small village

    Christine Bolz is a seventeen year old girl from a small village in Germany.  She comes from a poor but loving and supportive family.  Isaac Bauerman is the son of a wealthy attorney and Jewish.  On this day, Isaac tells Christine he loves her and she says the same to him.  They make plans to spend time together and explore their future.  Hitler had other ideas and plans. Changes came quickly to Germany and the small village.  Isaac and Christine could no longer see each other.  Worried for the Bauerman's safety, Christine went in search of Isaac.  She found him only moments before the SS officers came to transport Isaac's family away.  Christine's world crashed to the ground.  She just knew she'd never see Isaac again.  World War II brought many horrors and changes, but would they survive them?




         If you love history, as I do, or anything about WWII, this is the book for you.  Ms Wiseman gives  us a close up look at hope, desperation and pure, true love.  It also gives us a new reason to despise Hitler and his men.  Extremely well written and detailed, this book is splendid!  Ms Wiseman has a way of bringing in information to keep this story fresh and lively.  Terrific characters and a real keeper, GET THIS BOOK!!




         I found no issues with this one.




         I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I felt like I was right there with Christine.  Copy of book provided by author in exchange for a fair review~

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    `I loved The Plum Tree and read it in one day because I could no

    `I loved The Plum Tree and read it in one day because I could not put it down. I fell into the story becoming Christine and the movie camera in my mind brought the faces to me of Christine, Isaac and their families. I pictured the houses, the people and I could smell the aromas of baking bread, cinnamon, her mother's kitchen. Most of all I learned something I had never thought before "Not all Germans were Nazis" and that says it all about this book. The suffering, starvation, brutality ....I felt it all. I would lay the book beside me and just think for awhile. This aspect of WWII has been told by Ellen Marie Wiseman in an outstanding way and I would love to know more, a sequal. I wanted the book to end well but wanted more. Christine.....very brave and a survivor.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    Loved it!

    I highly recommend this book, quite a testamonial to the compassionate German people. Christine's story is one of survival and loss, the heart wrenching pain of being in love with a young German Jew. It's hard to put down, the details are fascinating and the sweet romance will break your heart. The characters are wonderful.

    4 out of 5 stars from me. I received an ecopy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    This is the story of Christine, a young German girl and her true

    This is the story of Christine, a young German girl and her true love, Isaac, a Jewish fellow from a wealthy family. Other primary characters include Christine’s very likable family, secondary characters being Isaac’s family, Christine’s friend Kate and various villagers. The story is set in a small village in Nazi-occupied Germany during WW2 which is my favorite period of history. 
    The story follows Christine’s romance with Isaac and her family’s struggles through the war which includes bombings, hunger, death and concentration camps. As the story advances, we see how the war changes Christine, how she copes and reigns over tragedy and hardship. It is very hard to put this book down.

    The beauty of a good WW2 novel is in the details, and this author certainly provides the reader with a plethora of authentic details. It made my heart sing when she named four of my very favorite WW2 novels (THOSE WHO SAVE US, SKELETONS AT THE FEAST, THE BOOK THIEF and SARAH’S KEY) in the acknowledgements as being books she relied upon in her research. She also acknowledged FRAUEN: GERMAN WOMEN RECALL THE THIRD REICH which is fantastically interesting. Every time I read a WW2 novel about the day-to-day life of the average German, I learn more than I knew before, and this author really provided a lot of new fascinating details. It is most heartwarming to know that many of them came from her German mother and family.

    My only criticism is that I think I would have liked to see Christine be less emotional. True, she experienced one hardship and struggle after another… I simply felt that she was too much of a crybaby at times for the heroine that she truly was. This is my personal preference, though; other readers may have no problem with it. Otherwise, this is a really terrific debut novel, and I will recommend it to many others!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Although I have not yet read this book, I bought it based on the

    Although I have not yet read this book, I bought it based on the intelligent reviews that were submitted and know I will like it. However, I agree with Whiterose _1943. It's apparent that B&N needs to monitor their review process. Was someone asleep at the controls in July 2013 when the nonsensical reviews appeared? A sad waste of space.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Must Read!

    A wonderful story by a wonderful new talent!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    I don't understand people that screw up reviews by writing ridic

    I don't understand people that screw up reviews by writing ridiculous banter.  Sad to think they don't have better things to do than mess up a way for people to get honest reviews on books to see whether to take a chance or not. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Lish

    B & N please get these children with their kits off these reviews. I read the reviews to see what people think about the books, to see if I want to buy it. When I see this garbage from some ongoing game on nearly every review of a book I've looked up, it makes me mad. It makes the whole idea of an honest review a joke. Does no one from B & N ever check this out?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Riveting

    This book was truly wonderful. The author of this story made you feel the characters pain and love they had for each other and how strong the will of survival is. Set against the backdrop of the Nazi era this page turner kept you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    This  book pulled me into the pages and I felt I was a part of t

    This  book pulled me into the pages and I felt I was a part of this tragic era and the events in Christine's life.  A must read for my book club!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    This is a book that can't be put down.  Very very good book,  

    This is a book that can't be put down.  Very very good book,  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Living in the moment

    This was an absolutely amazing book! Like stated below, I really felt as if I was there. This book makes you angry and uncomfortable and sad and hopeful for the characters. I couldn't put it down! While this was a work of fiction, it made me consider the plight not only of the Jews but also of the German people who had very few choices except to do what they were told. There was a lot of research put into the story and it really shows!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Kk

    Rosetail walks in, very confused. "Where are the bios?" She says with a hint of frustration in her mew.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Spottedpaw

    A beautiful torrtieshell she came in. Her eyes were a blazing green.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Pearlflight *starclan.*

    Rebuild the clan. Its strength will be restored

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Good book

    Fast read of a difficult topic in a terrible period of history. Family and love remain through worsening trouble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5