Customer Reviews for

The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business

Average Rating 4
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

96 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

Make It Or Break It

My usual habit is to pick up a mystery novel and engross myself in the imagined problems of nonfiction characters. I decided to change this habit and try this nonfiction book with the rather intriguing title that professed to help identify our habits and show us how to ...
My usual habit is to pick up a mystery novel and engross myself in the imagined problems of nonfiction characters. I decided to change this habit and try this nonfiction book with the rather intriguing title that professed to help identify our habits and show us how to change them. Habits are those things we initially choose to do, which have evolved, through repeated use into things we do without thinking. Written in language even I can understand, the book breaks down the pattern of habits into three parts that we can recognize and change. The author illustrates that by first identifying components of a habit, we can then work to change them. This is a self help book that may actually be of some help, if we want to change. This book was provided for review by Random House. Now, where did I put that mystery novel?

posted by Ronrose on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing at best

Although it was well written, I was disappointed because I thought I would be getting hands-in practical advise on how to create new habits within a more structured environment and not stories about other people's habits and how they overcame them. It was so boring to r...
Although it was well written, I was disappointed because I thought I would be getting hands-in practical advise on how to create new habits within a more structured environment and not stories about other people's habits and how they overcame them. It was so boring to read story after story with the same diagrams over and over. Just wasn't what I expected.

posted by 10039523 on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 245 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Excellent

    Well researched and very informative. Highly recommened to anyone looking for some quality insight into human behavior within the self, as well as with society, and relations on the business front.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Okay but not great

    The author describes many instances where behaviors were changed. He calls these behaviors habits. The examples are interesting but the analysis of cause and effect seems shallow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    captivating

    this novel is very captivating. i was shocked about that as it was a non-fiction read but honestly it was a very motivating and realistic approach to life situations. gread read, props to the author!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    An analytic look at decision making

    Great read! Perfect for purposes of self help or improving management skills.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Interesting book

    This book kept me interested page after page. It was really fascinating to read about how habits are formed. Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended....

    Interesting and revealing. Shows how habits are made so you can replace or change them. Excellent reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    fantastic

    Informative like a textbook, but written to be entertaining like a novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Great read

    Very informative with practical steps on how to isolate a habit and start to change it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Enjoyable Read

    An interesting mix of science, research, and real life application. Thos book helps you understand why we do the things we do. The section on how retailers use customer habits to grow their business also intrigued me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    This book gives an excellent clinical explanation of habit almos

    This book gives an excellent clinical explanation of habit almost to a molecular level. Where it fails in my view is practical advice in how to establish new habits. Sure there is a very basic process the challenge however is how to think about rewards. Its not difficult to create a habit in a monkey if in the end the reward is sweet syrup. For humans dealing with obesity, for example, the problem isn't that they don't know the routine to follow (eating less) the problem is that their current routine/habit has a reward "syrup" already and finding a more attractive near term reward is necessary.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Boring

    I find this book to be a big yawn. The author gives examples of companies who have changed routines thus changing habits. I could really do without the copious amount of company stories. Not worth the money. Go to the library for this one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    A must read

    This is the most fascinating book I have read in years, I only hope there is a followup/continuation. Very well done, great research.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    AWESOME READ!

    I loved this very informative book. Exactly what I was looking for. It makes so much sense why it is so difficult to break those destructive habits we have formed in our lives. I would recommend it to anyone who really wants to change their lives for the better-be it with diet, exercise, quitting smoking or whatever.
    Those who did not like this read are probably the kind of people who still want instant results to everything in life. GOOD BOOK!
    gg

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    The Power of Habit

    OUTSTANDING! PROVIDES SOLID AND SCIENTIFIC HOPE FOR CHANGE

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Fascinating look at how the brain creates habits, how habits con

    Fascinating look at how the brain creates habits, how habits control our lives, and how we can learn or unlearn them.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Interesting but drawn out

    It tok me a while to really get into the read, but once i did i found it somewhat interesting. It could have been more to the point because it had rather long stories used as examples almost back to back. Did i learn from the book, yes. I did expect to learn more from it though. The first few chapters have the most valid information for an average person trying to chamge a habbit. I would recommentje book though.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Very Informative

    Leatned a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Ok

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Jngfferfgttrdddsssaawwweeyhbbrgtrtrrttggggeetdfrrgeggfdfddddftfhtgggnhhhhhhhhhyjhugfrflkpop

    Yyuuuujnnnbbbghfnbhphuiijkjiiuuuuuuuupuppohohoppipuuttujjgnthhhfffgfffgfddrefeargc xzaaqqwer/lijhhggferesssefryhbnnhhhggggggrrr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Want to change a habit? This book may help.

    This book received some great reviews so I was curious to read it. I have always been fascinated with the way the brain works and how we can alter our behavior. The book discusses in a very clear way how habits work and how we can alter or eliminate habits which we do not want and create better ones. The book gives clear cut steps to behavior modification that I think can be very effective in changing poor habits. I recommend the book wholeheartedly,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 245 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13