Customer Reviews for

The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business

Average Rating 4
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

96 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

Make It Or Break It

My usual habit is to pick up a mystery novel and engross myself in the imagined problems of nonfiction characters. I decided to change this habit and try this nonfiction book with the rather intriguing title that professed to help identify our habits and show us how to ...
My usual habit is to pick up a mystery novel and engross myself in the imagined problems of nonfiction characters. I decided to change this habit and try this nonfiction book with the rather intriguing title that professed to help identify our habits and show us how to change them. Habits are those things we initially choose to do, which have evolved, through repeated use into things we do without thinking. Written in language even I can understand, the book breaks down the pattern of habits into three parts that we can recognize and change. The author illustrates that by first identifying components of a habit, we can then work to change them. This is a self help book that may actually be of some help, if we want to change. This book was provided for review by Random House. Now, where did I put that mystery novel?

posted by Ronrose on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing at best

Although it was well written, I was disappointed because I thought I would be getting hands-in practical advise on how to create new habits within a more structured environment and not stories about other people's habits and how they overcame them. It was so boring to r...
Although it was well written, I was disappointed because I thought I would be getting hands-in practical advise on how to create new habits within a more structured environment and not stories about other people's habits and how they overcame them. It was so boring to read story after story with the same diagrams over and over. Just wasn't what I expected.

posted by 10039523 on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    The book has interesting stories that very well present the powe

    The book has interesting stories that very well present the power of habits, however, I feel that it has it's tangents. I skipped a lot of pages due to the author's sometime obessive rants regarding one subject.. These rants show a bit of desperation in terms of trying to prove that habits ARE powerful. Honestly, I haven't even finished the book. I stopped reading it because I simply lost interest. It starts off strong, but the thirsty horse was only led to a dry lake.

    In terms of the power of habits, I do agree with some of the author's main points. Habits create who you are and how you are. The ideas did not require an entire book to be presented though, maybe just a few articles could have done the job.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Okay but not great

    The author describes many instances where behaviors were changed. He calls these behaviors habits. The examples are interesting but the analysis of cause and effect seems shallow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Interesting but drawn out

    It tok me a while to really get into the read, but once i did i found it somewhat interesting. It could have been more to the point because it had rather long stories used as examples almost back to back. Did i learn from the book, yes. I did expect to learn more from it though. The first few chapters have the most valid information for an average person trying to chamge a habbit. I would recommentje book though.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Ok

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Jngfferfgttrdddsssaawwweeyhbbrgtrtrrttggggeetdfrrgeggfdfddddftfhtgggnhhhhhhhhhyjhugfrflkpop

    Yyuuuujnnnbbbghfnbhphuiijkjiiuuuuuuuupuppohohoppipuuttujjgnthhhfffgfffgfddrefeargc xzaaqqwer/lijhhggferesssefryhbnnhhhggggggrrr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Want to change a habit? This book may help.

    This book received some great reviews so I was curious to read it. I have always been fascinated with the way the brain works and how we can alter our behavior. The book discusses in a very clear way how habits work and how we can alter or eliminate habits which we do not want and create better ones. The book gives clear cut steps to behavior modification that I think can be very effective in changing poor habits. I recommend the book wholeheartedly,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    A Most Interesting Read

    This book was well written and interesting. Duhigg follows today’s pattern of relating everything he says to some kind of brain study and then relates it to how he thinks it worked to make life better for the families, society and business. While there is nothing new here there is newness in the subjects he chooses and the way he relates their experiences. He begins with a man who has a disease destroying his brain cells by the same virus that causes cold sores. In the few days it takes to discover and treat the illness he loses all of his workable short term memory. He needs habits to make his life flow and give him some control of his life. This is because of habits. He looks at business owners and managers who discover that kindness works better for building good work habits than does chortling and fault finding. He looks at the civil rights movement and tells us how important it is to be connected to people who will go out of their way to keep a commitment. He talks about people who commit crimes when sleeping or gamble wide awake without being able to stop and wonders if they should legally be held accountable. He decides that the man who killed his wife while they were both sleeping should not be, but the woman who gambled and lost all that she owned should have known better than to take that one last trip into a casino. Though most of the reading seems to indicate that habits form and then stay with a person forever it is possible to altar them. Unfortunately the original habit it remains and in a difficult situation will come to the fore. The book gives the impression that there is little value in trying to change as we are what we are. Finally he spends time telling us about William James and his studies into habits. James was a man who studied medicine and psychoanalysis. He wrote books about how psychology and taught classes in his field in the United States. He lived a thought out life. It was a life that he attended to. He watched his habits and gave himself feedback and information about how he was doing and how he felt. He was a man who knew how to choose what he wanted to do and he succeeded. I found the book fascinating. I learned about things I haven’t paid attention to for a good number of years. Still it was good to remember that deciding what to do before the crisis is better than waiting for the hurricane. It is a delightful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Int eresting

    Slow read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    OK reading

    Found a little difficult to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2