Customer Reviews for

The Practice Proposal: A Suddenly Smitten Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Great!

    Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Cute!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    The Practice Proposal is truly a well written story. This was th

    The Practice Proposal is truly a well written story. This was the first book I’d read from the Bliss line which is an imprint from Entangled Publishing. I wasn’t sure about reading a story with closed door love scenes. I wondered if there would be enough tension and physical awareness between the characters to make their romance believable and exciting—well, let me tell you, I wasn’t disappointed in the least.

    This is a sweet, sensual read. The characters are so well developed that I instantly bonded with both Cole and Liza. I enjoyed Cole’s character. His humor, his touching history, and the person he’d become from all he’d gone through in his past. His eternals were so well done that I really got to know what made him tick. Liza is an amazing heroine to match Cole. She is strong, humorous, and secure. Definitely someone you’d want to name as your friend. Together, they had amazing chemistry. And even though I admit to crushing a bit on “Crush”—Cole’s nickname—I rooted for him and Liza to achieve their HEA.

    Tracy March wove an interesting story with beautiful dialogue. Her descriptive writing style flowed smoothly and put me in each scene—and there were some amazing scenes. Kudos to the first date scene by the lake—kept me smiling, the scene at the cemetery—had me tearing up, and of course the baseball games—for someone like me who isn’t athletic-minded, I can tell you I had no problem following along.

    I also wanted to mention that there were some wonderful secondary characters. I really liked Liza’s parents and her best friend Paige. Each scene they were in made me smile.

    This story was natural and an easy, enjoyable read. I highly recommend it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Well I am just completely smitten. Absolutely and utterly. I ado

    Well I am just completely smitten. Absolutely and utterly. I adored The Practice Proposal, Cole and Liza and everything about them. So I'm gonna gush a bit and I'm gonna shake my fist at Tracy March at the same time because the woman put me in a reading funk like you wouldn't believe! 5 whole days I couldn't pick up another book after finishing The Practice Proposal. 5 days and 8 book attempts and nothing doing. And still, I had a smile on my face the whole time because it was just that great of a read.


    This was one of those books that just made me... happy. It was a fun read that kept me smiling and really put me in a good mood. There's not a ton of drama, even though both of the main characters, Cole and Liza, are keeping some pretty big secrets. There are some outside meddlers keeping both of them mum on what their real motives are for being in a relationship. Basically, she's been promised a huge donation to her charity camp if she can keep from really falling in love with him and he desperately needs an image redo and someone to make him look a bit more... wholesome to the people who own his baseball team.


    One of the things I loved about this one was that the hero isn't some big alpha jerk or running from his feelings and the heroine isn't a damsel in distress that needs a man to save her from her life. She's a little broken after losing  her fiance years earlier but she's a strong woman who has goals and a life of her own. They're both people you can respect and that you can imagine actually being friends with and not wanting to throttle them every two seconds.


    There are some really cute moments that made me snort and others that made me sigh in romance bliss as these two people went about getting to know each other in all manner of ways from campfire weenie roasts to "baseball pie wars".


    I loved the two of them and how easy they were with each other. He's sexy and sweet and had a bit of an obsession with Twitter. I'm not much for Twitter myself but omg I just I loved his tweets to her. He was just such a cutie. And she's just a delightful heroine. You could see the big explosion coming from the start but even so it was just a great experience getting to the big "oh no you didn't!".


    Okay, so I do have one complaint...the heat level...everything was completely fade to black. I know that's expected from the Bliss line but a little more heat would have made for an even better read for me. Yall know I love my steamy reads so it's really something that one with so little actual sexy page time got such a high rating from me. That like never happens.


    If you're looking for a fun, sweet read The Practice Proposal would be an excellent pick. I swear, I'm still smiling over this one which is why it's gotten one of our "pick of the litter" awards. Definitely looking forward to seeing more of what March has to offer in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    This book houses a great story about taking chances, making chan

    This book houses a great story about taking chances, making changes, accepting responsibility, and discovering love. While the pace of the romance is not what I'm used to, Tracy was able to keep the story flowing fluidly enough to build that desire to see it through. There were touching or exciting moments at just the right places. It was a sweet slow simmer. Because of it, I felt it was more true to life than the romances that fly hot and heavy instantly. It gave me something to look forward to. I liked that the drama and the protagonists' reactions to it wasn't over the top. I felt the characters' maturity throughout the book. This was a pretty light read and totally worth taking a chance on, especially if you've got your teeth aching for some sweetness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Liza and Cole knew each other as kids at her father's baseball c

    Liza and Cole knew each other as kids at her father's baseball camp for underprivileged children. Her father and mother are now part owners of the Orioles, a team he'd hoped to play for after he graduated. Now, he's a hunky famous baseball player for the Nationals and she wins a date with him at a charity auction. His renewed association with her comes at an opportune time, according to his sports agent, Frank. Cole's up for a new contract and team management isn't pleased with his recent publicized flings. Wholesome and pretty, Liza is just the type of woman that Frank would have chosen to show Cole as settling down with to ease the worries of the team.

    After the death of her fiancé, Liza isn't interested in getting into a relationship. The only reason she won the date is that her mother bid on her behalf. She enjoys their date, but the end of it is unsettling it with the appearance of reporters, saying they heard he's considering settling down with Liza and his demonstrating how he'd propose. Spooked, the next day, she focuses on a dilemma at work. Part of the team who manages the foundation that sponsors the camps, she's responsible for meeting a quota in the amount of donations she obtains and she's running out of time, nowhere near the amount she needs. Frank approaches her and offers to make a half million dollar donation if she dates Cole for two months and doesn't fall for him. Per the terms of the agreement (for which he presents a written contract), she has to be herself and there are to be "no shenanigans." She initially declines, but then thinks about it as being an opportunity to spend time with Cole and there being no risk of her falling for him because of her devotion to her deceased fiancé. Then she thinks about the boys who would benefit from her organization's program, who would get a chance to pursue their dream of playing baseball. Then she signs the agreement.

    The readers are treated to a ringside seat (page-side seat?) of the relationship. We see an incredibly imaginative and fun date (their Baseball Pie War), a kiss that throws Liza's world careening, and an incredibly sweet tweet (A girl without freckles is like a night without stars. Wish you were here...). Then, of course, there's the speed bump of a tweet to Cole by an ex-fling that almost throws a monkey wrench into things. They make it past that pseudo-obstacle and sleep together. I mean really sleep together. Liza admits she's not ready and Cole respects that (making me fall a little in love with him myself). Their relationship progresses and, with Cole's help, Liza overcomes internal barriers to their romance. Both of their teams, the Orioles and the Nationals, make it to the World Series. During the seventh inning stretch, there's a super-surprising proposal and Liza's on top of the world. Then it comes crashing down when she overhears Frank and Cole talking after the game and finds out why he started dating her. She returns the ring and goes home, crushed. A heart-to-heart with her best friend, Paige, and an intervention by the people who love her bring the two of them back together again.

    The character development was on point. We find out about Cole's background and how he got where his is now. Events in the story lead to a revelation concerning him that was an utter surprise to him. (I was floored by it too. I didn't see that coming at all.) A memorable injection of something I found comedic in the book was in this scene and it made me snort a little. Sorry, it's a spoiler, so don't read the next few lines if you don't want the secret revealed.

    Cole had been relieved he hadn't been conceived in a casino hotel room, only to find out it happened in a car in a rickety abandoned barn. "What kind of car was it?" he asked.
    Frank smiled a little. "A red eight-banger Ford Mustang."
    At least there was that.

    Through her conversations with Paige and Cole, we see Liza's opening herself to love again, accepting the loss of her fiancé, Wes. The other characters were also developed and intriguing. I'd love to see a story about Paige. (Hint, hint, Ms. March.)

    I give this read five stars and recommend it to anyone who likes a solid storyline with a happily ever after.

    *** Disclosure: I received an ARC from the author for purposes of review. I received no compensation, financial or otherwise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Loved it

    A sweet read that you will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Loved this story!  Touching!  Hope she writes more.

    Loved this story!  Touching!  Hope she writes more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Hey

    Good or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    LOVED IT!!

    This was a really cute book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Awesome

    ## This book was simply exquisite. I loved it from beginning to end. The heroine was perfection personified and the hero was absolutely fantastic. Drool-worthy in fact. Their connection felt amazingly real. I positively loved the tweets throughout the story. I think they added a certain "je ne sais quoi". The baseball aspect of the story was terrific as well. The few plays that were described in detail were superbly written. And stealing home during the World Series? Brilliant. I believe Jackie Robinson had that pleasure in 1955. Holy cow, this book made me smile and I love that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sugar and Spice and Everything Nice The Practice Proposal is su

    Sugar and Spice and Everything Nice

    The Practice Proposal is such a sweet story, with just a hint of spice that makes everything so very nice. Tracy Marsh has written a very interesting story of old friends that finally find each other. Well, they had a little help from Liza’s mother when she bought a date with Cole for her daughter at a fundraiser.  Liza gives in to meet her teenaged crush even though he’s a player and she knows it. 

    It’s fun to sit back and watch their relationship develop. The hidden agendas fall to the wayside as Liza and Cole find something that was missing. There are twists and turns that are totally unexpected along the way. This is definitely a romantic story even so; it is a page turner that I had difficulty putting down.  It had me rooting for the characters through the whole story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    I was incredibly excited to start "The Practice Proposal.&q

    I was incredibly excited to start "The Practice Proposal." It has tons of stuff that I love: romance, secrets, and baseball. A romance about baseball was like a dream come true for me, because I LOVE the game. It seemed like the perfect summer read.

    "The Practice Proposal" was a quick and cute read, but for me, that's really it. I don't know if I went in with too high of expectations or what but the story itself fell a little flat. 
    When you have two people make two different bets that neither of them know about pertaining to love something is bound to blow up in their faces, but even when problems arise, nothing really happens. There is build up to some kind climax, but it never seems to happen and that was a bit disappointing. I was waiting for a really good fight to break out, because if you love someone they are worth fighting for right? 

    Other than that it was an enjoyable story that I was able to get through in one sitting, as it's not too long.
    It's a cute romance that doesn't take a lot of time to read, so it's a good book to spend a lazy Saturday curled up on the couch drinking a glass iced tea with.
    It's sweet and has some adorable moments. So if you're looking for a summer romance to kick off the season, this would be it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    strongly recommend

    First book I have read by Tracy March, The Practice Proposal will definitely have me reading more by this author. Like the tie with sports and was especially timely since I was reading during opening day of the baseball season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    I haven't read this book yet, but I wait to get started. This i

    I haven't read this book yet, but I wait to get started. This is just the kind of book I love. Great excerpt and fantastic reviews so far. Tracy, it looks like you have a hit book on your hands!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Blah

    Skimmed thru it. Storybook romance. Just avereage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Grest book

    I loved this book. I think i found another author to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Practice Proposal is a totally funny and enjoyable romance.

    The Practice Proposal is a totally funny and enjoyable romance. Tracy March does a fantastic job of crafting a love story about two people who are not looking for love but find it in spite of themselves.  This heartwarming tale will grab your attention from the first word to the very last. 

    Liza Sutherland, the daughter of the Baltimore Orioles, finds herself coerced by her mother into going on an auction-won date with Cole Collins, a womanizing, party-boy baseball player with the Washington Nationals, a man whom she had a crush on as a teenager. Liza, who has enveloped her life in her goals and still feeling some grief from the loss of her fiancé a few years back, finds that her attraction for Cole has never gone away. Cole, who believes all women only want him for his fame or money, finds himself in a dilemma caused by his notorious exploits. In order to secure a contract renewal with the Washington Nationals, he must present a better public image of himself, so he agrees to a pretend relationship with Liza.   

    This is a sweet love story that leaves the sex behind closed doors. The lack of overt sex scenes does not detract in any way from this appealing story. This love story, which is rife with heartwarming romance, will have you glued to the pages as you root for the characters’ happily ever after. This is a feel good story that will have you smiling when you are done.

    This is a must read for all true lovers of romance.



    I received a copy of the book from Entangled Publishing
     in exchange for my honest review.
    Janna Shay
    Author of Fair Play

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    The Practice Proposal  The Practice Proposal is a delightful wa

    The Practice Proposal 

    The Practice Proposal is a delightful way to get into the baseball spirit, with a little love, a little humor and a lot of fun. Full review available at BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Love

    Great book and love the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4