Customer Reviews for

The Pregnancy Project: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Good read, could really relate to.

Personally, I found this book to be a very good read! It was also turned into a Lifetime movie. I think most teen girls and women can relate to this story, even if you aren't a mother. I def. liked it....it also kinda makes you think...

posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Growing up in an affluent suburb, we didn't have very many teen

Growing up in an affluent suburb, we didn't have very many teen pregnancies, I think I heard about one girl that had a child while I was there. I'm not sure if thats because I just didn't hear the gossip, or if because it was "taken care of" more often. I know...
Growing up in an affluent suburb, we didn't have very many teen pregnancies, I think I heard about one girl that had a child while I was there. I'm not sure if thats because I just didn't hear the gossip, or if because it was "taken care of" more often. I know that teen pregnancies has been on the rise and that it is a problem not just for these teens but because of the burden that they place on the welfare system when they don't have a good support system.


The back story that Gaby provided was about her own family and her own siblings all of whom were born of a teen mother and they all went on to be teen parents. At the time of her book being written she totaled her nieces and nephews to over 30. 30! I can barely handle 2 at a time, but 30? She pointed out that this cycle was not uncommon in the area and among her friends, that teen pregnancy was almost commonplace and accepted. Her oldest sister was a teen mom and even if she was 19 when she had her baby that made her mother a 33 year old grandmother. Gaby was born the next year, also making her younger than her niece. Using that math she was only 50 when this book was written with more than 30 grandchildren and no husband. I think that woman deserves a reward for not having run screaming (or for still having a full head of naturally colored hair).


When I read this book, its not like it opened my eyes to the problem, but rather what it was like to be a teenager and be pregnant. When Gaby was trying to convince her principal and vice superintendent that she could handle the mean comments and back talking that was said about her. In reality it was a lot harder to handle the gossip, and I give her props for not quitting.


I think what probably would have been hardest was telling your family and having five hypocritical siblings turn their backs on you and ignore you at Christmas because you told them that you were pregnant. Disappointment I understand, but when your child of a sibling has watched your children time and time again, I don't think it was very fair to literally stop talking to her.


I also want to commend her boyfriend for staying with her through this entire ordeal. Even when he was being bullied by his friends and told what a screw up he was by his parents and anyone that he ran into, he stood by her side and went to the pregnancy classes where other teen moms met and were taught how to be a mom. I think he deserves a pat on the back, even if they aren't still together.


The message that Gaby wanted to be heard (and that people on message boards and across the country misunderstood) was that yes, it is important to prevent teen pregnancy, but once it happens, people only make the teen's situation worse by alienating them and making them feel like their actions were wrong. By putting down teen moms and dad's who are constantly reminded that they just ruined their lives and that it won't get better and that now you're stuck together, it activates the guys fight or flight response (which is more often flight than fight) and doesn't encourage them to make their situation better if they don't believe it can get better.


I think that this book is important for teens to read because even if you're not a teen parent and won't be one, it is important to understand the impact that your words have on a person. This isn't a lesson that just teens need to hear, but adults and teachers too. While a lot of the comments that the students made where harsh, I think the worst was a teacher, A TEACHER, saying "Doesn't she know that she just ruined her life?" Which is so not okay for a teacher to even say out loud at all let alone with students in earshot.


I think that the fact that Gaby was able to withstand her family ignoring her, the rude comments made about her, and the feeling that she had disappointed so many people was incredibly strong and brave of her. I don't think I would have been able to deal with anything that she did including the reveal which must have hurt so many people including close friends, family, mentors and the people that had come to her aid rather than put her down.


This was an incredibly quick read and I think that Gaby Rodriguez gave a whole new meaning to walking a mile in another person's shoes.

posted by Paperback_Princess on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Growing up in an affluent suburb, we didn't have very many teen

    Growing up in an affluent suburb, we didn't have very many teen pregnancies, I think I heard about one girl that had a child while I was there. I'm not sure if thats because I just didn't hear the gossip, or if because it was "taken care of" more often. I know that teen pregnancies has been on the rise and that it is a problem not just for these teens but because of the burden that they place on the welfare system when they don't have a good support system.


    The back story that Gaby provided was about her own family and her own siblings all of whom were born of a teen mother and they all went on to be teen parents. At the time of her book being written she totaled her nieces and nephews to over 30. 30! I can barely handle 2 at a time, but 30? She pointed out that this cycle was not uncommon in the area and among her friends, that teen pregnancy was almost commonplace and accepted. Her oldest sister was a teen mom and even if she was 19 when she had her baby that made her mother a 33 year old grandmother. Gaby was born the next year, also making her younger than her niece. Using that math she was only 50 when this book was written with more than 30 grandchildren and no husband. I think that woman deserves a reward for not having run screaming (or for still having a full head of naturally colored hair).


    When I read this book, its not like it opened my eyes to the problem, but rather what it was like to be a teenager and be pregnant. When Gaby was trying to convince her principal and vice superintendent that she could handle the mean comments and back talking that was said about her. In reality it was a lot harder to handle the gossip, and I give her props for not quitting.


    I think what probably would have been hardest was telling your family and having five hypocritical siblings turn their backs on you and ignore you at Christmas because you told them that you were pregnant. Disappointment I understand, but when your child of a sibling has watched your children time and time again, I don't think it was very fair to literally stop talking to her.


    I also want to commend her boyfriend for staying with her through this entire ordeal. Even when he was being bullied by his friends and told what a screw up he was by his parents and anyone that he ran into, he stood by her side and went to the pregnancy classes where other teen moms met and were taught how to be a mom. I think he deserves a pat on the back, even if they aren't still together.


    The message that Gaby wanted to be heard (and that people on message boards and across the country misunderstood) was that yes, it is important to prevent teen pregnancy, but once it happens, people only make the teen's situation worse by alienating them and making them feel like their actions were wrong. By putting down teen moms and dad's who are constantly reminded that they just ruined their lives and that it won't get better and that now you're stuck together, it activates the guys fight or flight response (which is more often flight than fight) and doesn't encourage them to make their situation better if they don't believe it can get better.


    I think that this book is important for teens to read because even if you're not a teen parent and won't be one, it is important to understand the impact that your words have on a person. This isn't a lesson that just teens need to hear, but adults and teachers too. While a lot of the comments that the students made where harsh, I think the worst was a teacher, A TEACHER, saying "Doesn't she know that she just ruined her life?" Which is so not okay for a teacher to even say out loud at all let alone with students in earshot.


    I think that the fact that Gaby was able to withstand her family ignoring her, the rude comments made about her, and the feeling that she had disappointed so many people was incredibly strong and brave of her. I don't think I would have been able to deal with anything that she did including the reveal which must have hurt so many people including close friends, family, mentors and the people that had come to her aid rather than put her down.


    This was an incredibly quick read and I think that Gaby Rodriguez gave a whole new meaning to walking a mile in another person's shoes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    it was okay 

    it was okay 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    I would recommend The Pregnancy Project to teenagers and especia

    I would recommend The Pregnancy Project to teenagers and especially to the teenagers that are sexually active to make them realize what they could possibly go through. In my opinion, The Pregnancy Project was not really my favorite but it showed/told me about how stereotypes are developed from being a ‘pregnant’ teenager. You can learn the meaning of family and friends from reading this book too because of how Gaby thought of this idea to fake a pregnancy to actually see what everybody's reaction would be. Though she went through many obstacles with this project, she eventually made it to the end and told the world the truth. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Touch this i have a question lol sooo confusing and i never read it

    I have 3 questions
    1: does she really get pregnant?
    2: whats the movie called
    3: is it pg 13 ( nothin bad ) ?
    Just wonderin cuz it sounds interestin

    Anser asap! LOL To kay is who it to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. I picked it up at a B&N in Las V

    I really enjoyed this book. I picked it up at a B&N in Las Vegas for the trip home, and found it an easy read. It was basically just the story of Gabby who wanted to pretend she was pregnant in order to show people how hard it is to overcome sterotypes, because she herself lived always surrounded by sterotypes considering most of her siblings were involved in teen pregnancy, but honestly although it was a great story considering it was true, the story was rushed, and the details were so-so. Gabby poses as a role model for young girls, and she kind of is, but at the same time it controdicts itself, because she proves a point by betraying the people around her.There was an article about this seventeen and within the whole 224 you got the same information as the three page article. It's good for a light read but don't expect anything more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    We live in a world with stereotypes, where we label others based

    We live in a world with stereotypes, where we label others based off appearances and initial impressions. While I don't like being stereotyped, I often make jokes about being Asian. It's funny to me that while Asians are known for being strong in mathematics, I lean more towards the liberal arts and am actually minoring in English with a Creative Writing specialization. Gaby doesn't want to live by stereotypes either; however, she takes it a step further in conducting a social experiment on how stereotypes really do influence people.

    Despite being known as a good student destined for college, Gaby falls prey to stereotypic views when she fakes a pregnancy. People stopped celebrating her academic achievements and instead start talking about how they knew she was going to get done in at some point. They think she's ruined her life. It has to take a lot of strength to keep going with the project when people start talking like that both to your face and behind your back. It takes greater strength to keep this to a select few people and accept the disappointment of those who care about you. I really admire Gaby's courage in going through with his project to prove stereotypes false and to open peoples' eyes to the reality of teen pregnancies.

    While not all of this story is happy, Gaby's story is certainly an inspirational one with a powerful message behind it. Gaby has not only proven stereotypes false, she has proven that one person can make a difference and that individuals do have the power to make a difference in their lives. This is a story that I recommend reading once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    A great book club book.

    A very quick read. A great book to read and let your pre teen and teenagers read. I do wish she would have went more into her pregnancy day by day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1