Customer Reviews for

The Price of Politics

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

On the brink or an economic crisis that would have affected the

On the brink or an economic crisis that would have affected the global economy. How many people actually knew that this was an economic Cuban Missile Crisis. A total systemic failure to cooperate and last minute posturing almost sent us into a financial tail spin. how c...
On the brink or an economic crisis that would have affected the global economy. How many people actually knew that this was an economic Cuban Missile Crisis. A total systemic failure to cooperate and last minute posturing almost sent us into a financial tail spin. how could President Obama suddenly make an 11th hour demand for more money? How could the Republic Leadership simply not return a phone call to even say "no". I hope that more people read this book and demand that congress resolve the budget next year. Otherwise, none of us will be able to afford to purchase the sequel to this book.

posted by Nikkadaem on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Valerie Jarrett and Michelle Obama

Not much insight here on the influence these two women must have had over President Obama during these interactions. They had great influence over Mr. Obama's life before he had the presidency. How can this book be complete without that dynamic. Maybe Bob Woodward plans...
Not much insight here on the influence these two women must have had over President Obama during these interactions. They had great influence over Mr. Obama's life before he had the presidency. How can this book be complete without that dynamic. Maybe Bob Woodward plans to write "All the President's Woman" and do some real investigative repoting of the old Woodward and Bernstein days. You bet if Obama was a republican, it would have been done in this book. In fact, as I write this review, I give two not three stars.

posted by 3866017 on September 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    On the brink or an economic crisis that would have affected the

    On the brink or an economic crisis that would have affected the global economy. How many people actually knew that this was an economic Cuban Missile Crisis. A total systemic failure to cooperate and last minute posturing almost sent us into a financial tail spin. how could President Obama suddenly make an 11th hour demand for more money? How could the Republic Leadership simply not return a phone call to even say "no". I hope that more people read this book and demand that congress resolve the budget next year. Otherwise, none of us will be able to afford to purchase the sequel to this book.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Eye opening!

    Eye opening!

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Great read

    A truly come to Jesus moment!

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Valerie Jarrett and Michelle Obama

    Not much insight here on the influence these two women must have had over President Obama during these interactions. They had great influence over Mr. Obama's life before he had the presidency. How can this book be complete without that dynamic. Maybe Bob Woodward plans to write "All the President's Woman" and do some real investigative repoting of the old Woodward and Bernstein days. You bet if Obama was a republican, it would have been done in this book. In fact, as I write this review, I give two not three stars.

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Sobering Account

    Well detailed book that provides insight into an account that is being replayed today. Echoes the observation that Washington is more characterized by style than substance and that brinksmanship is important than bipartisnship governance.

    Details are a bit numbing and hard to really digest in the page by page, meeting by meeting description, but the macro overview perspective provided is captivating.

    Worth reading to learn about 'players' pivotal to the transpiring events you 'never heard of'. Joe Biden was a particularly riveting player to read about. He is a figure of gravitas and significance that the headlines don't capture and appreciate.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Classic Bob Woodward - good read

    Bob Woodward makes you feel like you are sitting at the negotiating table with many of the key players in the book. He has tremendous sources, which the President even cited in an interview with Bob for "Obama's War" in which he said something to the affect that BW had better sources then the President.

    The negotiations are very intriguing and give you some insight into the key differences between the messaging war which went on simultaneous to the negotiations. It could be dry with all the different numbers going back and forth if you are not into that but overall a great book. It certainly revealed that Obama is no Bill Clinton and I think Biden could have hammered out a deal better despite being perceived as inept.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    A Fair Treatment

    While dry reading in some places. It seems to be a fair and balanced look at what happened behind the scenes. Neither side is spared and both are equally pilloried by this work. It should be requirec reading for every American regardless of party affiliation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Excellent Book

    Carefully researched and very well written. The truth always comes out in the end. God save America from another four years of Obama.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    An Inside Account of the Battle of the Budget

    This book is similar to others Bob Woodward has written in that it gives you an
    inside glimpse into the world of Washington that we as ordinary citizens are not
    able to see. As usual Bobs' sources are right in the middle of the action.
    It gives you the various positions of the President as well as the leaders
    of both Houses of Congress. I thought the one thing that stood out was the
    current dysfunction of our elected leaders. It show's the rigidity of both sides
    and thus a deal on the deficit and our long term deficit issues was not
    able to be reached. I'm surprised the book and it's contents has not
    been mentioned in this years Presidential Election. Like all of Bobs' previous
    books this one was extraordinarily researched and is very interesting for
    both Political Junkies as well as we the people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Fasinating detail in the political process in Washington

    It is amazing that Woodward can get the information that is in the book. It is extremely detailed, often with hour by hour and day by day developments with who said what. If you are interested in the political process in Washington, it is a must read. With our current president and current Congress, it made me wonder how anything gets done but also showed why the balance of power is so important.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Good Read Especially For PolSci Students

    Im a student at WVU and Woodwards book is very detailed and informative. I plan to use this book for a research paper.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2012

    Insightful - Not what I expected from Woodward

    The book gives an inside view of another trait of Obama's personality. I expected Woodward to be more journalistic and not distribute his bias. He does look inside of much of the political negotiations that take place in Washington. However, he still seems to protect the President by giving his inside circle decision making power. It also depicts Obama as someone that makes deals on legislation and then bail out if something disturbs him before getting approval of Congress. It does discuss the distribution of tax monies and the strings that are attached. Not a great book, but a good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Interesting but....

    In this Political hotbed it is difficult to figure out "What is the real Truth" Bob's book gave some insight but I do feel it was slamted.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    WOW!!!!

    The book is excellent you don't want to put it down. However if this is what is really going on in DC were all screwed!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Well-written and Researched

    Insightful and frustrating, Woodward paints a detailed and vivid portrait of our country's ever-worsening fiscal crisis. The numbers are mind-numbing, so much so that it's almost forgiveable that ultimately nothing was resolved. Almost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Excellent read, helps clarify the dis-function in DC

    Bob Woodward has done an excellent job capturing and reporting the inside discussions that have gone on in Washington since the Obama administration has continuously bumped heads with the other-minded congress (especially House under Boehner's leadership. There is enough depth in the book to help me understand and in some ways begin to empathize with the diverse values and beliefs of the different interests and agendas of our political leadership. Great read that moves pretty fast although frustratingly slow given the huge dis-function of the two party system voters are stuck with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    All hatchets aside, truth and perception are usually miles apart

    All hatchets aside, truth and perception are usually miles apart, but Mr. Woodward hits it right on with little emotion as usual. Obama truly is the most dangerous perso in the world and will lie without reservation. Unfortunately, the Republicans will sit in the dark with their hands folded, while we pay the bill for both wekenesses. I agree that the women of Obama should be next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    I loove bob wooewqrd.

    Julyy marcih aoril may june builrtyyyagustgdjuuseptemberiiotiberrnocvrmberdecemaberjanuary febuattt march

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    This is another excellent impartial written book by Bob Woodward

    This is another excellent impartial written book by Bob Woodward on a subject of intense interest to every U.S. citizen. That subject deals with Congressional leadership’s failure to act reasonably in a non-partisan manner to seek common ground on reaching resolution for solving the nation’s budget deficit and national debt problems. In a non bias written rendering of events Mr. Woodward shows the human pettiness, the political posturing for party gain and how politicians are more concern with political survival then with profile of courage to do what is proper for the nation’s citizens to settle outstanding differences to reach common ground. At times, as a U.S. voter, I find our political leaders’ behavior appalling, disgusting and nauseating. Events in Washington by our political leaders seem less about governing on what is best for the electorate, and more on political posturing for self-aggrandizement.

    Jerry D, Alexandria, LA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Drop dead

    Very bad don't recomened it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3