Customer Reviews for

The Prince of Mist

Average Rating 3.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good Read

Zafron immediately creates a dark, mysterious atmosphere that drags you into a story with unexpected twists. The mysteries surrounding the Carver's new home captivate you until the very end when the Prince of Mist returns to settle a debt in a deadly game of deal or no ...
Zafron immediately creates a dark, mysterious atmosphere that drags you into a story with unexpected twists. The mysteries surrounding the Carver's new home captivate you until the very end when the Prince of Mist returns to settle a debt in a deadly game of deal or no deal.

posted by 3865258 on June 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sooooo disappointed

I recently finished reading Zafon's "The Shadow of the Wind" and for those who haven't read the book and without giving anything away I knew I had to pick up "The prince of Mist". My first clue to it's contents should have been when I was directed to go to the teen sec...
I recently finished reading Zafon's "The Shadow of the Wind" and for those who haven't read the book and without giving anything away I knew I had to pick up "The prince of Mist". My first clue to it's contents should have been when I was directed to go to the teen section of the book shop to look for it. I found this book oh so different from the first Zafon book I read. The writing is simple, boring. The sentences are written for a five year old's attention span: He walked in the room. He sat on the bed. It was raining...blah blah blah. The quick changing paragraphs were too fast and made the story feel rushed. There was little character development and the plot was unoriginal, a mix of Pirates of the Caribbean and The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus for those who have seen the movies, though at a much lower quality. I'm sad to say this was not a good book by Mr. Zafon. Hope to find better gems from him like The Shadow of the Wind to rebuild my faith in his writing.

posted by Lisbeth9 on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    Pretty Good Read

    Zafron immediately creates a dark, mysterious atmosphere that drags you into a story with unexpected twists. The mysteries surrounding the Carver's new home captivate you until the very end when the Prince of Mist returns to settle a debt in a deadly game of deal or no deal.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Good read

    Although it may not be the top of my list it is close to the top. I love the suspence it brings and the creepy feel to it. Coming from an ADD who gets sucked into books. All around good and recomended read. And for one i am going to read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    very good

    ive only read literally 50 pages and im already hooked!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    I read the book The Prince of Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafrón. The b


    I read the book The Prince of Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafrón. The book was published by the Little, Brown and Company of the Hachette Book Group, Inc in the month of May in 2010. In this book, the theme is easily detected when the main character max states “In an infinite universe there are too many things that escaped human understanding.” The main characters are Max, his sister Alicia, and Roland. They go on many journeys and discover a lot of new things. There are many twists and turns along the way, but they could handle it. They like to get pulled into new adventures, and I like that.
    The book starts off with a war that is ruining the Carver family’s nice home in the city. So, Max Carver (a watchmaker and father) moves his family out of the city and to a house off the coast in the country side. Behind the house is an old garden with statues. Max is curious and goes to investigate. While there he looks at each statue very carefully, but he notices that when he turns his back, the statues have moved into a different position, especially the clown figure in the middle.
    After the Carver Family gets settled into their house they start to discover mysterious objects. The father finds a box of old films. He sets up a whole screen and puts on the projector. They all gather around to watch, but it turns out to be a family film of the family that used to live in the house before them. Max starts to have a bad feeling. He starts to feel like something bad happened to the family before. Then, Max’s sister starts to have bad dreams, but not just regular bad dreams. Next, after meeting their friend Roland, they find a sunken ship, with a flag, while snorkeling. This wasn’t just an ordinary flag thought. What they don’t know, but will find out, that there is a chilling story about this ship, and this place.
    I really liked this book. It was overall very interesting. The book kept pulling, dragging me in to read more. Reading this book was an experience for me because, to be honest, I don’t like to read. This book has gotten me into the reading mode. This was also a great experience because it was written by a Spanish author. Reading a book by a Spanish author, I expected it to have more Spanish in it, but still it was really good and made me think like: What’s going to happen?
    I learned that curiosity really could kill a cat, but sometime in order to be safe, you really need to be curios. I also learned that when reading a book by a Spanish author, you might see something you don’t understand, but you just need to keep going and maybe look up words if you need to. Lastly, I learned lots of new vocabulary words such as eccentric, transfixed, and paraphernalia.
    I would recommend this book to all ages 12 and above because it’s a good read and many people 12 and above will be able to relate to Max, his family, his friends, and his life. This may be difficult to read for people under 12 because of the vocabulary, but I hope you all enjoy the book as much as I do! Remember, READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Excellent Read

    Carlos Ruiz Zafron has never failed to deliver a masterpiece! Great read for all ages from young readers, middle age and seniors. An all around good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2