Customer Reviews for

The Prince of Mist

Average Rating 3.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good Read

Zafron immediately creates a dark, mysterious atmosphere that drags you into a story with unexpected twists. The mysteries surrounding the Carver's new home captivate you until the very end when the Prince of Mist returns to settle a debt in a deadly game of deal or no ...
Zafron immediately creates a dark, mysterious atmosphere that drags you into a story with unexpected twists. The mysteries surrounding the Carver's new home captivate you until the very end when the Prince of Mist returns to settle a debt in a deadly game of deal or no deal.

posted by 3865258 on June 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sooooo disappointed

I recently finished reading Zafon's "The Shadow of the Wind" and for those who haven't read the book and without giving anything away I knew I had to pick up "The prince of Mist". My first clue to it's contents should have been when I was directed to go to the teen sec...
I recently finished reading Zafon's "The Shadow of the Wind" and for those who haven't read the book and without giving anything away I knew I had to pick up "The prince of Mist". My first clue to it's contents should have been when I was directed to go to the teen section of the book shop to look for it. I found this book oh so different from the first Zafon book I read. The writing is simple, boring. The sentences are written for a five year old's attention span: He walked in the room. He sat on the bed. It was raining...blah blah blah. The quick changing paragraphs were too fast and made the story feel rushed. There was little character development and the plot was unoriginal, a mix of Pirates of the Caribbean and The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus for those who have seen the movies, though at a much lower quality. I'm sad to say this was not a good book by Mr. Zafon. Hope to find better gems from him like The Shadow of the Wind to rebuild my faith in his writing.

posted by Lisbeth9 on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Carlos Ruiz Zafon is a magical writer! . .

    I had to read this book even though I am far from the teen/young adult category. I enjoyed it very much. I've been waiting for another english-translated book from this author since THE ANGELS GAME in June 2009. This book was very good . .mysterious, magical, and was easy to get lost into the story and hard to put down. I hope we are lucky enough to have many more Zafon books translated into English. I am anxiously awaiting Carlos Ruiz Zafon's next offering.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Zafon's Translated Tome Delivers

    If you are a lover of the books of Carlos Ruiz Zafron, beyond all means pick up this "new" book, recently translated. This tome is considered a young adult read, but as a "older" reader, I was really taken with its quick pace and articulate writing. Zafron can really build the tension and make you feel as if you have fallen into an atmosphere where anything is possible. It has some spine-tingling elements, bringing you back to those childhood fears that kept you up at night.
    This book may be too intense for the teen unacustomed to books without a pat ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review of The Prince of Mist

    I'm not a big fan of ghost stories. I spook easily and end up having to sleep at night with my lights on and an eye half open. I am, however, a huge fan of Zafon's writing and The Prince of Mist proved worthy.

    Although The Prince of Mist lacked the more poetic writing of The Shadow of the Wind and The Angel's Game, it still captured that gothic, dark feeling that I loved about the books. I could definitely tell this was a book geared more toward a younger audience - it was short, easy to read and drew me in from the very get-go.

    Young Max has to move from his childhood home. With him are his two sisters (one older, one younger) and his parents. They move to a house with a history, a house on a beach, and they stumble into a story involving magic, ghosts and some of the creepiest elements of a ghost story that can be used.

    There was a little bit of everything in this book. It played on my fear of graveyards, clowns, "The Ring" movie and many more fears. I read the book in an evening, but had to set it down several times because of random noises that had me jumping and looking over my shoulder. It's just a book, I'd remind myself. I'm such a wimp.

    This is a fantastic addition to the YA world. The beginning writing is a bit simple, but push through it and you'll find a story that has every element needed to make it interesting, scary, fun, romantic, sad and just plain creepy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    worth the time to read

    Chris
    Best book ever, definately The book The Prince of Mist, by Carlos Ruiz Zafón, is an amazing book. It was one of the first books I was actually able to sit down and choose to read. The main character is Max, a thirteen year old boy who seems to be an average kid until he moves and strange stuff starts to happen. So he, his sister and a new friend have to solve the mystery of what's going on.
    The book is about when Max's dad, a watchmaker named Maximilian Carver, makes the family move to a beach house in a small town. Their moving because there is a war going on in the city they lived in. When they get to the town they begin to see weird things like when they got to the train station and "something made him turn around and look again at the blackened face of the ancient station clock..when they reached the station the clock had said half past midday. Now, the hands pointed at ten minutes to twelve," also ".someone was looking at him. He spun around and saw a large cat," and it jumped through the window onto his sister Irina. When they got to the house Max found a very interesting garden, it was a very creepy garden. Later Max and his other sister, Alicia, met Roland, he was a seventeen year old, he invited them to do what he loved, diving, but after something happened to his other sister Irina, every time they went diving something weird would happen. Finding new clues when diving or biking around to different places and sometimes even talking to people would help find out something new.
    I really liked The Prince of Mist because I was always wondering what was going to happen next and you would always be on the edge of your seat like when Victor Kray "sliced the beam through the mist once more. It wasn't an illusion: The garden of statues was empty." Zafón was a very good mystery writer because he had a lot of suspenseful scenes like this. He is also extremely descriptive like he would describe almost everything with very specific words. This is a good book for any person even if they don't like to read. It's a short book but it's almost impossible to lose your concentration. I had to keep reading but if I had to help my parents I would say "can I when I get to the end of the chapter" and stuff like that. But if you are a fast reader you will be done very quickly because it is only 214 pages long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1