Customer Reviews for

The Prince of Ravens

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Page turning action, provoking and intriguing characters, this b

    Page turning action, provoking and intriguing characters, this book was a thrill from start to end! I would absolutely share this with readers that love fantasy novels in ancient/medieval worlds. The romance aspect was not overdone, as it generally is with YA fantasy novels, in fact it wasn't even a subplot. Instead the story was simply supplemented by romantic undertones. I felt that this, along with realistic dialouge, strengthened my connection to the characters, as they felt more genuine. I really loved the Prince, he was such a unique story character because of the way he struggled to develop thoughts and opinions seperate from the family that betrayed him. You see he never really had an identity other than the one given to him, only to have it stripped away without an explaination. So as he comes to term with his situation, his inner voice slowly becomes more and more intriguing. I love the broody, tortured types!

    This edition needs a little proof reading though - in one instance the Prince's narration included a central character's name before she had given it to him, which was a tiny bit off-putting. Especially since as a reader I was dying to know what her name was for a third of the book along with the Prince! So the reveal was ruined by this tiny flaw. Not essential to the plot, but annoying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Yay Hal Emerson

    Good job Brad!
    Great role model for us.
    -Your Student

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    Hal Emerson¿s book The Prince of Ravens is an exciting new ser


    Hal Emerson’s book The Prince of Ravens is an exciting new series in Young Adult fantasy and adventure. It deals with the story of a young man who has lost his name, been betrayed by his family, and is rejected by the empire that brought him up. The Prince is thrown in the world of the Exiles, the very people he was taught to hate and fear, and throughout the book must learn to make decisions and choices for himself and out of the shadow of his Mother, the goddess/empress of the kingdom of Lucia. Everything about this book is intriguing and I was immediately drawn in to the lives of the characters, and their story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    I was sucked in!

    Loved it. Now I want the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Well worth reading

    A start to a great saga

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    A page turner

    Fantastic book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Amazing!!!

    Creative, well written, and enrapturing.
    A tale definitely worthy of the pages it was written on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Entertaining read

    Really enjoyed this first book in the series. I normally do not like fantasy but this read hooked me right from the start. There are a few grammatical errors but they do not distract from the story line. Highly entertaining, exciting read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Avid Reader

    Enjoyed it so much I had to purchase the 2nd book! Fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    ?

    Wonderfully written, decent plot. I highly recommend it and hope the author writes other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    The prince of exiles

    Best book I let my eyes on. This action packed fantasy is incredibly riveting and I look forward to read more of his books he publishes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    If reading is anything like eating, then you could have heard th

    If reading is anything like eating, then you could have heard the “nom-nom-nom” sound while I was stuffing myself with this yummy mix of epic and fairy tale-ish fantasy, flavoured with characters, that I want to hug and hit very hard in the same time.

    I have to say, the way the annotation was set, I thought the story would start a little differently. But once I got into the book, it doesn't really matter, as it just sucks you right in.
    The main lead, the Prince of Ravens, is an awesome character. And I don't just mean the cool powers of the Raven Talisman – he just was so believable in the way he acted, thought, spoke and felt. The way he felt about his mother and about the Kindred. His undying loyalty for the Empire and his despite for everything and everyone that opposes it. Yup, it was so frustrating worrying about him, that he would do something so amazingly stupid AGAIN and he kept me on the edge the whole book. But it was how things are really supposed to be. One can't change his heart and mind over night, and this is why it was so good reading about his struggles.
    Tomaz and Leah, the Ashandel and Eshendai pair (by the way, love the sound of it) are sweethearts too. Well, especially Tomaz – only hugs for him, but still some kicks for Leah. I really enjoyed each and every moment with Tomaz and Raven, especially the ones over the fire, and in the end of the final battle. I just have a soft spot for big brother/father figures, and Tomaz was just perfect. I am not sure I liked how in the end his debt was revealed – true, it was really important for the plot.... but I am sure that even if it wasn't for his past debt, Tomaz would still have believed and cared for Raven.
    Leah was quite cool too, tho I had the feeling sometimes, that she and Raven didn't really act their age, but more like small children. However, I'm aware that is far more often and believable for grown ups and teens to act childish than vice versa. And I can't deny that it was fun to read :D Still... I would love some romance next time :D
    The story is set in the land of Lucia, ruled by the immortal Empress. One could say that there are many details that sound almost like a cliché – the evil queen, the seven children, the youngest son, the city in the dark, prophecies, heirs and so on. But all of this just makes it more fairy talish for me and I love my fair share of fate ans symbols now and then. And it is also mixed with so much awesomeness – like the Talismans, the bloodmagic, daemons and Children and everything. I was absolutely in love with the idea of the seven Talismans from the very beginning and it was cool that by the end of the book we got to know so much more about them – and surely more is to come.
    And the battles were epic – really this book here can proudly be called “young adult epic fantasy”.
    Last – but not in importance – the fun :D I love to laugh when I read and if a book managed to make me do bought while going through the pages, then it was most likely awesome. There were so many moments that made me giggle, but if I have to pick my favourite ones... that would be Raven's dreams. I don't know why, but the “he could have pet eagle if he wanted” and the pouty, stupid looking cloud made me laugh so hard. I hope there are more of the Prince's dreams to come in the next books!

    Overall, The prince of Ravens was awesome. It was a fast read, simply because I enjoyed it so I couldn't let go. Extremely well deserved 5 stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

      I love this book. I think the prince has to be my favorite cha

     
    I love this book. I think the prince has to be my favorite character because he has no idea how strong he really is. He slowly learns what he can do and what his powers really are. He slowly learns that he cannot trust what he thought was reality. I do like the magic interwoven throughout the story-line. 
    I was hooked within the first few pages. I found myself comparing the birth of the Prince to the births of children in ancient civilizations that are killed if they are not male or healthy. It took me a second read to realize that he was the seventh LIVING child out of 700 born to his mother. I also had to reread that his sister was 50 years older than him. I don't know why it didn't click that his mother was a goddess, even though it says she is. 
    I love the beginning of the book the best. The set-up is amazing. I feel for him that in his world a name means everything and that his mother takes his name away. I love that he trusts the guard, even though they try to kill him in several instances. I love that he learns to trust his enemies, even though they don't trust him and plan to turn him in as ransom or trade. I love that he begins to trust the lowly people that he has obviously been told lies about. 
    I would recommend this book to the more mature readers in my school. I really enjoyed it. 
     

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1