Customer Reviews for

The Prisoner of Cell 25 (Michael Vey Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 689 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(538)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

72 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

Funny, exciting and very very readable...

Let me preface this by saying that I am 25 years old and read a LOT, mostly fiction novels and classics. When Michael Vey came into my hands I put it off for a few days, thinking it was focused more towards younger readers. When I started to read it I was surprised by h...
Let me preface this by saying that I am 25 years old and read a LOT, mostly fiction novels and classics. When Michael Vey came into my hands I put it off for a few days, thinking it was focused more towards younger readers. When I started to read it I was surprised by how quickly the story sucked me in. The main character Michael Vey is very relateable and his story is so funny, exciting, and complex that I couldn't put the book down. I would (and have) recommended this book to a wide variety of people, including my younger siblings and friends my age. With such a great plot I'd be shocked if this doesn't get turned into a movie one day.

Bottom line, you AND your kids are going to love this.

posted by LynW on May 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Astroturfing reviews...

So many people here are claiming to have read a five-star book that isn't out yet.

The publisher has delayd the release of the book until 8/9/2011. Any review you read here before that date is a bogus review designed to build interest in it.

Most other sites eithe...
So many people here are claiming to have read a five-star book that isn't out yet.

The publisher has delayd the release of the book until 8/9/2011. Any review you read here before that date is a bogus review designed to build interest in it.

Most other sites either prevent you from reviewing a book before it's actually come out or they remove all prior reviews on the day it's releasd. I really hope B&N does this so we can read some actual reviews by actual readers instead of a bunch of people sent here by Glenn Beck and the Mormon Church.

posted by JordanL on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    !!!!

    This book was surprisingly good!!!! I started out not liking it too much, but then Ostin (Michael's best friend) made me laugh and after that, I was hooked! ;)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Great read

    This is an amzing story of a boy who has a secret ability and he keeps himself hidden from people so they dont find out then finds a good use of thus power...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Very interesting

    One of my favoritve books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Michael Vey

    A great read couldn't pit my nook down! Cant wait for the the next one in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    You will enjoy this.

    I'm not a big reviewer, but felt this was interesting enough to write a quick one. As previously mentioned, don't discount this book as an adult just because it was written for teens. The author did a good job of keeping the level of the writing to a level that makes it a quick read for adults, but still enjoyable enough to have me looking forward to the next in the series. Makes a good NOOK book. Chapters are quick, so get through at least 5 before you decide if you like it or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    great book. couldn't put it down

    great book. couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Megan22448

    I love it so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    NRM @ SEA

    Agh! Finally a res I can post in! Got a new story @ 'SOADS' res. All caps. Hope you like!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Tebag

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Anonymous

    This book rocks! It starts out good and just keeps getting better as the plot builds. I love the way this author writes dialogue...and the action and suspense rival any James Bond thriller. Can't wait to read the sequel!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Cool book

    The book was ok but you should read the percy jackson books or the hunger games books.Otherwise good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Four stars

    Has any one other than me given four stars to a book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Michael vey

    So my school was selling these for 10$ for paperback 15$ for hard cover i was dying to read it so i looked it up on my nook and boom 3.99 sold i cant wait to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Great book

    This is a great book. It has drama, excitment, and fun. Thats all you need in a book for middle schoolers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Enjoyed this a lot.

    Enjoyed this a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    Great Book!

    Love Richard Paul Evans! Can't wait to read Rise of the Elgen!! Very exciting series. This book is for just about everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Should be good

    Downlaoding problems

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Somewhat irritated at this author...

    ... as this book has kept me up until 2am because I could not set it down until the end. And now I'm itching for the next one. Excellent read throughout. Not a cookie cutter branch off like most new books these days. Great read for young and old alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A different walk, but also good. Enjoyed it.

    A different walk, but also good. Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Good book!

    Its a very good book and I could't stop reading.It gets the best around the middle and end of the book.Good book for middle schoolers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4