Customer Reviews for

The Prisoner of Cell 25 (Michael Vey Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 682 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(531)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

70 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Funny, exciting and very very readable...

Let me preface this by saying that I am 25 years old and read a LOT, mostly fiction novels and classics. When Michael Vey came into my hands I put it off for a few days, thinking it was focused more towards younger readers. When I started to read it I was surprised by h...
Let me preface this by saying that I am 25 years old and read a LOT, mostly fiction novels and classics. When Michael Vey came into my hands I put it off for a few days, thinking it was focused more towards younger readers. When I started to read it I was surprised by how quickly the story sucked me in. The main character Michael Vey is very relateable and his story is so funny, exciting, and complex that I couldn't put the book down. I would (and have) recommended this book to a wide variety of people, including my younger siblings and friends my age. With such a great plot I'd be shocked if this doesn't get turned into a movie one day.

Bottom line, you AND your kids are going to love this.

posted by LynW on May 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Astroturfing reviews...

So many people here are claiming to have read a five-star book that isn't out yet.

The publisher has delayd the release of the book until 8/9/2011. Any review you read here before that date is a bogus review designed to build interest in it.

Most other sites eithe...
So many people here are claiming to have read a five-star book that isn't out yet.

The publisher has delayd the release of the book until 8/9/2011. Any review you read here before that date is a bogus review designed to build interest in it.

Most other sites either prevent you from reviewing a book before it's actually come out or they remove all prior reviews on the day it's releasd. I really hope B&N does this so we can read some actual reviews by actual readers instead of a bunch of people sent here by Glenn Beck and the Mormon Church.

posted by JordanL on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 531 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny, exciting and very very readable...

    Let me preface this by saying that I am 25 years old and read a LOT, mostly fiction novels and classics. When Michael Vey came into my hands I put it off for a few days, thinking it was focused more towards younger readers. When I started to read it I was surprised by how quickly the story sucked me in. The main character Michael Vey is very relateable and his story is so funny, exciting, and complex that I couldn't put the book down. I would (and have) recommended this book to a wide variety of people, including my younger siblings and friends my age. With such a great plot I'd be shocked if this doesn't get turned into a movie one day.

    Bottom line, you AND your kids are going to love this.

    70 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Excellent!!

    Although I don't normally read teen books or sci/fi type thrillers, I read this book because I was given an advanced reader copy. I was amazed at how much I enjoyed it. My 12 year old daughter also read it (in 4 days) and she loved it. She couldn't wait to share it on the library blog. I loved the interaction of the teenage characters with each other and I loved how it was pointed out, through the story line, that everyone has different gifts and when we work together we can accomplish great things. I think the thing I most enjoyed, though, is that there is excitement and suspense but no bad language and no sexual content. Those are major pluses in my opinion.

    34 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Not just for young readers!

    Wow! I loved Michael Vey, The Prisoner of Cell 25! I was fascinated by the imagination of the author Richard Paul Evans. From one chapter to the next, it totally held MY interest. I found this book to have all the ingredients for a great read... humor among the characters but plenty of adventure and chills too! I am hooked on Michael and his friends with their special powers and am glad this is going to be a series. As a grandma I LOVED this book and will be purchasing it for my grandchildren.

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Electrifying from beginning to end!!

    I started reading Michael Vey out loud to my 3 children (ages 10, 14, and 16) because we couldn't decide who got to read it first. We finished it all in one day (8 1/2 hours later) - we couldn't stop until we finished it. This is one of Richard Paul Evan's top reads! I have all his books, and my children have read them all, but this is the first we read together and couldn't put down!

    This is a great books for all ages - my 10 year old son loved it and so did I (my husband even got in on the last hour or so and enjoyed it too - said it was very captivating)!

    I see the makings of a great movie in the future!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Intriguing

    I have ordered it because of the plot. hope to see this someday as a movie

    13 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    High energy fun

    To anyone at Meridian High School, Michael Vey is just your typical fourteen-year-old outcast. He has Tourette's syndrome which causes him to tick a lot and leads him to be picked on by bullies. What the people of Meridian, Idaho don't know is that Michael has powers that allow him to generate electrical shocks. This power has led his mother to move him frequently when Michael is unable to control the power and accidentally shocks someone. Lately he's been able to keep it under wraps. Other than his best friend Ostin, and his mother, no one knows about this power. That is, until the bullies begin picking on him one day after school. On this particular day he is unable to control the surge and he ends up knocking all three of them unconscious. This is witnessed by Taylor, one of Meridian High's cheerleaders. Michael tries to convince her she was seeing things. He doesn't want his mother to have to move them again. Taylor, however, is unconvinced. She has a power too, and after confiding in Michael, the two of them along with Ostin set out to figure out why the two of them have these powers. What they learn is that there are others like them, and there is a billion dollar corporation behind it. This corporation is searching for them. They want to gather the electric children and use them to take over the world. When Michael's mother and Taylor come up missing, it's up to Michael and Ostin to track them down before it's too late.

    I loved this book. There was a lot of action, mystery and suspense which kept me turning pages well past my bedtime. The misfit characters all feel very real which had me rooting for them the whole way. I was very invested in all of the characters. This book contains two of the most devious villains I've come across in a long time. Every time they were in a scene I found myself both terrified of them and wanting to reach through the pages and snap their necks. I love when a villain gets under my skin like that. The writing is fluid and descriptive, allowing you to feel every jolt and emotion. If you like a good action book, or are a fan of super heroes I highly recommend this one. I can't wait for the next installment.

    (Review based on an Advanced Readers Copy courtesy of the publisher via Simon & Schuster GalleyGrab)

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    :)

    Just one question for you:

    WHY AREN'T YOU READING THIS BOOK? :)

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    A must read for all ages! Fun and exhilarating!

    First of all Richard Paul Evans is one of my favorite authors and he did not disappoint with this young adult book, "Micheal Vey - The Prisoner of Cell 25". I am a grandmother of 3 boys ranging in ages 9 to 16 yrs old and they, as well as their Mother, were as excited as I was about this book. It kept my interest from the first 2 pages and became so thrilling I had to read to the end before I could put it down! Literally I was actually sitting on the edge of my seat! It was intoxicating and stimulating to say the least. Each of the characters are unique and different from the others but yet they fit together very well. I fell in love with each one of them. My 9 yr old grandson is telling everyone he comes in contact with about this book. I will definitely buy it for each of my grandchildren.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Positively Supercharged!

    ZAP! Michael Vey, The Prisoner of Cell 25, grabbed my attention from the start. The captivating storyline made it extremely difficult to put this book down. Richard Paul Evans has created a story in which the teenage characters deal with trying situations in positive and inspiring ways. They have superhero abilities, love their parents, and are not afraid to stand up for what they believe in. Refreshing! I highly recommend this book and will be anxiously awaiting the next book in this series!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Move over Harry Potter; The Electroclan is coming!

    Are you looking for a high interest wholesome read for your teen this summer? MICHAEL VEY: THE PRISONER OF CELL 25 fits the bill! As a parent of five sons and a former teacher, I am delighted with the content of this book. The eternal struggle of good vs. evil is addressed in a highly imaginative and nail-biting adventure. This book opens the door to numerous discussion topics: peer pressure, right vs. wrong, materialism, bullying, and acceptance of differences. An excellent choice for junior and senior high reading lists! Although I am nearing 60 years old, I, too, will be looking forward to reading the rest of this series and wholeheartedly endorsing it!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    EXCELLENT YA FICTION!

    Look out Harry Potter - here comes Michael Vey! This was an extremely engaging book right from the beginning, but the action continues to build throughout the story until the very end! I read it in a day - didn't want to put it down. My 14 year old daughter read it in 2 days, only because I enforced her bedtime! My 11 year old son is reading it now - he really does not normally enjoy reading, but does not complain about reading THIS book! Looking forward to the next one - and my 14 year old is already looking forward to the movie! Highly recommend this book - there are a couple of "torture" scenes that are probably too intense for anyone younger than 10 or so ... more for the late tweens and young teenagers ...
    and their parents! Loved it! Great life lessons, great morality issues.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Review from an 11 year old fan

    Micheal Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25 is a wonderful book that will both make you sit on the edge of your seat, and make you lean back and smile. This book is funny, exciting, suspenseful, and will please any reader who has a craving for a feel good, action adventure. Not only is the story line very interesting, but you are also taught important lessons of life, and get to see the story of a boy who loves his mother and his friends. Richard Paul Evans does an excellent job at making you feel for the characters. You find yourself rooting for Micheal, and cheering him on. Though the book ended on a happy note, I was so distraught when I reached the last page. I wanted more to read. I was still curious about what would happen to Michael, Taylor, Ostin, and the rest of the gang. What a way to kick off the start of a new Young Adult series, that is sure to keep readers talking. I will definitely be anxiously awaiting the arrival of the next book in this truly amazing series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    I Highly Recommend for all ages 9+ !!

    I had the privilege to read an advance copy of MICHAEL VEY a few weeks ago and I gotta say I loved it! There are just not enough books out there for young adults with a positive message that can captivate the young reader. No longer! MICHAEL VEY is the answer, and I highly recommend any reader buy this book above the age of 9 or so. The kids in this book are real world examples of the good and bad in our children today. And the situations they deal with from bullying to feeling alone will resonate with our young adults today. If you have a young adult reader in the house, or you just want to read an exciting story with a good message, pick up MICHAEL VEY now!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Absolutely Gripping!!!

    This isn't the type of book I normally read, but I do read everything by Richard Paul Evans, so I knew with him writing it that it had to be good. I wasn't disappointed--it was totally gripping! I plan to preorder it for my daughter, also an avid fan, and my grandsons. The only problem I had was that I couldn't sit down and read the entire book in one sitting--alas, work called!
    I've been recommending this book to everyone, and I can't wait for the next in the series to come out! Once again, well done Rick!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    You Will Not Be Disappointed! This Book is a Must Read!!

    I've never been much into science fiction novels or anything that might even be closely considered a "thriller." If I saw the cover of Michael Vey on the shelf in a bookstore, I would never even think about picking it up, much less buying it. But please do not judge this book by its cover if you are not a thrill reader! I'm glad I didn't!

    Reading this book was best decision I could have made. MICHAEL VEY was so captivating and I read it cover to cover in just two days. There was no way I could put the book down because I just couldn't wait to find out what would happen next.

    The story captured me from the very beginning and wouldn't let me go. Each character grabs a hold of you and it's WELL worth the read! I look forward to reading more about Michael Vey!!

    As a teacher I say this book is a MUST-READ for ALL AGES! :) You will not be disappointed!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Teaches and Reinforces Positive Values

    As a parent of two teenage boys and one soon to be teenage daughter, I am concerned with the decline of positive media options available to my family. The story of Michael Vey is very exciting and enjoyable to read, but on a different level the book also teaches and reinforces positive values. It shows that it is okay to love your family and that it is cool to be smart. It encourages personal integrity and the courage to stand up for what you believe. I would recommend this book to parents and their teenagers

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    I initially bought this book for my niece who was in 4th grade l

    I initially bought this book for my niece who was in 4th grade last
    year. I was a little concerned she might be too young so i had my best
    friend a fourth grade teacher read it to see what she thought. She
    thought the level might be closer to end of fourth grade year but said
    it was really good. So i got another book for myself too. I was
    captured in the first paragraph. My niece read finally read it this
    last spring and promptly asked if there was another. I have already
    bought us both the next book. I think i may be more excited to read it
    than she is!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    I urge everyone with young adults to check this book out!!!

    It is captivating! Action packed and full of human emotions. Young people are going to love it! The characters are real and there is a character for everyone to identify with! Its fast pace will keep you on the edge of your seats! Well done Mr. Evans! My granddaughter states it is the best book she has ever read! I wholeheartedly agree with her! Don't miss out on this adventure!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Michael Vey is the best book I read this year!

    I loved the characters in this book. The action was great, it kept me turning the pages all day. i finished the book in one day. I can't wait for the next one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    I AM SPEECHLESS I LOVE IT I FRICKIN LOVE THIS BOOK IV READ IT 7

    I AM SPEECHLESS I LOVE IT I FRICKIN LOVE THIS BOOK IV READ IT 7 TIMES STILL LAUGH AT THE SAME STUFF STILL FEEL LIKE IM THERE IF THE SERIES KEEPS BEING THIS AMAZING IT MIGHT BE THE NEW PERCY JACKSON I ONLY HOPE I ONE DAY WRITE A BOOK AS GOOD AS THIS

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 531 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27