Customer Reviews for

The Professional Bachelor: How to Exploit Her Inner Psycho: A Player's Dating Guide

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    Excellent Read

    As a psychology teacher at a large University, I must say there's been quite a buzz about this book amongst the faculty. When you take away the chest pounding and witty shock value, this book is about creating opportunities with the right women, and avoiding the nightmares of dating the wrong ones. The author obviously has a background in psychology, and provides very introspective and effective Alpha male self-improvement advice. We all try to influence the outcomes of experiences with others to our advantage, in every facet of our lives. This one makes you better at it with women, and its uses would be as effective in business.

    As far as imaginative interpersonal relationship tips for you players, this covers multiple areas to make you great with the ladies on your terms. It shows how to shape womens' attitudes, feelings, emotions and behavior towards you. It teaches how to create sexual chemistry and be likable, how to get the upper hand and steer the encounter (like salsa dancing, women want the man who can lead), and how to upper hand in difficult situations and avoid being manipulated.

    Women prefer a man who doesn't get tongue-tied and stumble all over himself at all the wrong moments. This book teaches men panache; how to enhance their ability to carry themselves with confidence and attitude, and how to charm and be smooth with the ladies, ala James Bond. This would mean a well-dressed, classy, guy with charisma who knows exactly how say the right thing at any given moment, creating subconscious emotional and physical attraction. Any women would admit (to other women) the information is very accurate, after all, the author tells you upfront in his discovery phase that it's written from what works from a woman's point of view, as well as contains advice from male seducers.

    People often carry pre-conceived prejudices when they read, and will take what they want out of this. For me, it's a fascinating, entertaining book that makes you think and see how persuasion works in both the male and female mind. Sure there are a lot of comments that can be taken as insults to women, but you'd have to be blind not to notice the entire book, I mean almost every page has some wickedly sharp, LOL cynical comments..and admittedly a lot of the statements about crazy women are very true. I took no offense, since I was usually laughing. I think I work with a lot of the girls he's writing about.

    There are plenty of psycho men out there as well, and it would be nice to have a similar guide for women to help avoid all the guys who make a great first impression, but ultimately turn out to be train wrecks.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Tells it exactly like it is

    A highly charged topic, and sensationally titled piece. The advice works for 14-80 yr. old men. With so many nonsense PUA titles out there, this is intellectually a level higher. No games, pick up lines, or poser stuff. Manipulative Women, feminists and metrosexuals will hate it, because it tells it like it is. The author sees through women with hilarious wit, knows every rope and technique. Written for the Alpha male in a hurry. It's for the 30ish guy with money who's played the field enough to have seen the highly volatile, immature, selfish, controlling dark side of women, and wants to master speed seduction on his terms. Having complete control of his dating and sex life, while maintaining his assets during his pursuits. Many diverse sections covered great psychoanalysis of different female personalities knowing the angles, each girl's quirks and desires. Knowing how the end game will play out before it begins. Knowing when to bail. Like a field general. Great advise on creating a more attractive you, defining your life going forward, rejecting dating hypocrisy. Don't focus so much about getting laid, create the perfect dominant lifestyle for yourself. The sex is just one part of it. Pure alpha, being assertive, dominant, going for who you want, when you want, getting what you want while managing your time, maintaining your sanity, and dignity. The best selling point is his big picture advise how to set up asset protection long before you take things to the next level with a woman. with divorce rate at 50%+, and the women always winning in court, there's tens of millions of men who would have benefited from the advise but didn't take the opportunity to.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book highlights the basic animal instincts of women, and how to influence them into making a decision that they want, but won't admit. Turn off the TV and magazines and ignore what women say they want. When it comes to the chase, what women think and say about what's important in a man is in complete conflict with what they do. Only judge them by their actions. Tate teaches how to perfect what actually does work with women. It shows you how to create subconscious emotions and physical attraction. Literally, what you say is just a tiny portion of what it takes to seduce women. It's how you look, act, carry yourself, create value, flash the attitude actually, even more than that is simply how you respond to her when she's talking how you touch her and look at her is ten times more important than pick up lines. Stroke the girls ego, while creating interest and value in her eyes. The same thing women do to us is what works with them it's all about playing with emotions. When you act sexual, you create sexual chemistry. After you seduce them, then and only then, if you like them a lot, do you start acting like the guy they say they want. Great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a hilarious guide written by a cocky, mildly devious, womanizing psychologist. IMO, this book appeals to me more than the other well-known ones. I'm sure the stuff in The Game works great and all, but it's not my style, and seems like it would only work on low self-esteem chicks in nightclubs. What works with insecure chicks won't get you anywhere with a confident successful girl. This book covers speed seduction techniques with a dozen different female personality types, and gives numerous role-playing pick up styles, tells you what works and what women look for. There's a lot of helpful Alpha Male self-improvement advice here Image, attitude, body language, profiling, approaches, persuasion, influence, and such. The pre-marriage Asset Protection guide rocks, and I will definitely be following through on that. Just reading through it and sorting it out will save 3 or 4 high dollar billable hours by being prepared before going into the office, instead of sitting there handing over cash and nodding like a fool about things I know nothing about. I checked Google and you can download most of the forms and fill them out in advance. For that alone this book saved me a grand, not to mention half my net worth when I get it all taken care of.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Greatest book ever, really helped me from looking stupid.

    Long story short I was in a four year relationship, from the age of 16 to 20, ex cheated. Anyways after about three months and talking to a few girls I started dating one of my co-workers who was an 8 to 9 in looks and wanted to be a model. I am the nice guy and i did not have a lot of experience so i dated her and i was really feeling her, but at the same time I got my hands on this book and finished within three days. When I finish this book, it helped me clearly see that she was really playing me and she was damn good at it. Because of the book and how it talks about the tricks and warning signs and to follow your gut, I was able to see her for who she really was and to stop myself from falling fast for her. For the rest of the guys out there, instead of going out there in the dating world and spending years of trial and error. This book takes all the experience and gives it to you in one book. If i had never found this book I would have fallen in love with the wrong person. This book is a must for all man. You will see the warning signs that a female is not a good one real fast. Like the book says, man spend to much time dating the wrong girls. Men need to focus on being successful while at the same time knowing how to spot the wrong girls and getting the good ones. Feel free to hit me up if u do not believe me. It is also a good idea to get a book on body language since females are better at it then man. Trust me, it really helps.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    Great

    This guy knows what he is talking about. It was an easy read taking some notes and thinking about previous experiences. It might be harder to apply for people who have never dated or never had one night stands, but for those who worked it out sometime before it gives you the keys and lets you analyze the differences of your previous attitude and your attitude now. Best book about this topic for sure

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny, intellectual satire - exceptional PUA advice,

    An extensive formula for speed seduction and relationship dynamics. Covers social marketing, persuasion and influence, creating value/scarcity, building emotional connections, personality behavioral analysis, targeted role-playing, projecting charisma/presence, body language, timing, and much more.

    For those who've take self-improvement/business marketing, this will be a nice refresher course with some added insights. In summation, you'll learn how to create a more attractive you, how to crack barriers and build a warm rapport, how to observe and predict behavior, and subconsciously connect more in conversation.
    I`d actually classify this book as far more than the typical nightclub pickup guide. It goes way beyond that, more into the post hookup and relationship level. It's an introspective psychology tool for identifying the right personality match, maintaining healthy interaction, as well as a guide for recognizing problem situations early and avoiding getting trapped. Whether single, engaged or married, anyone can benefit from the advice.

    Tate clearly wrote this for the lifetime bachelor. If you are in the back of your mind considering marriage, section two covers setting up asset shelters. It covers all the different formulas available; concise, but somewhat complex asset protection tutorials. As a small business owner, I set mine up a few years back and am very familiar with the process and terminology. I had my attorney skim through the pages to see if I needed to add any additional provisions that Tate proposes, but came out fine. For real estate investors, of importance, pg. 232 references an important change - see the Albright 291 bankruptcy Rptr 538 ruling. LLC's need to be multi-member from now on.

    Tate's main theme for this section is to highly encourage men to set up shelters even before engagement, as a self-defense shield against the potential of a girl marrying money with the intent to divorce in a few years. I must say the concept is brilliant. Divorce rate is 50%+, so the advice is invaluable. Best offense is a good defense.

    The last 60 pages are a bachelor's guide to vacationing in Rio de Janeiro, Costa Rica, and Thailand. Heavy on details from logistics, tourism advice, sports options(extreme sports, golf, fishing, etc); the best beaches, hotels, as well as pointing you to all the night clubs and easy hookup chica hotspots that hotel concierge's are clueless about. I've been to Brazil and Costa Rica before, and can vouch the advice is spot on. If you haven't been to Rio, it's a must! A fascinating section to read, and definitely a point-and-click time savor for the best itinerary during limited vacation time. Turns out Costa Rica has all kinds of extreme rafting, rapelling, and zip lining that I missed out on; great sail fishing there by the way.

    Overall, I'd say the Professional Bachelor is a highly recommended read. Only negative, at 300 pages the editor should have trimmed it down, and tightened up the text a bunch; 250 pages would have been just right.

    This is written for guys who are already players, and written as an intellectual's satire. A book you'll re-read often, and will stand the test of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Radical, interesting, and hilarious

    An intriguing, relentlessly un-PC guide for men looking to bed beautiful women while protecting their nest egg and sanity in the process. A great social marketing guide written tongue in cheek, that could easily apply to the business world as well. Half the time between making some great points, he goes off into observational humor and rants, ripping into anything and everything just for the heck of it. He has these funny 'Bachelor Codes', kind of like the man laws, and tons of great quotes from pompous chauvinists in the last century (WC Fields, Jackie Gleason, etc). Cool writing style and personality. He's extremely intelligent, sarcastic, and cynical, because the chase with women can be so ridiculous. Very effective advice for creating attraction and sexual chemistry with women in the first 15 minutes. Tate takes apart the various facets and nuances of the many different female personalities from a psychologist's view, and tells numerous sneaky, sly, fun ways to get past their psychological barrier breakers with straight forward, easy to understand, do-this, do-that language.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2008

    Every Guy Needs This Book

    Excellent guide for setting up asset shelters for divorce protection. A must read primer before hitting the law offices. From simple to complex shelters, it's all covered here. In fact, it's better than some of the seminars I've been to. Many strategies I've heard of before, some interesting new ones this book broke them down and made them simple to understand. In our lawsuit happy country, and the way so many women divorce guys with money at the drop of a hat, only a fool wouldn't have this set up. It's not expensive the book shows how you can even set it up yourself. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    Dr. Tate is an interesting literary anomaly. Eccentric, entertaining, with a strong personality and equally strong views. There's occasionally brilliant raves and insights, uncanny observations and poignant psychological techniques, but honestly I think the joke is on all of us who take TPB seriously. True, I imagine if one spent time on perfecting the attitude and charisma and lessons it WILL improve your social and seduction skills, but underneath his point is the chase is truly a joke. A joke that western women force men to play in order to get through their silly barriers, manipulation and games. His entire PUA course on these pages is filled with heaping portions of cynicism and satire mixed in, which is what makes this book so fun to read. You can pick it up on any page and be entertained. It is crude, in your face, and refreshingly honest. When you read his background, read the final bachelor vacation section, it all becomes clear. As he explains, NONE OF THIS is necessary overseas. Having traveled like Tate, I can tell you first hand an American man abroad is a prize, and we're the seduction targets pursued by gorgeous Latin and Asian women. There are no games, which I think is Tate's whole point. Play the game, or explore better options. You decide.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    Funny, creative and very original

    This book highlights the basic animal instincts of women, and how to influence them into making a decision that they want, but won't admit. Turn off the TV and magazines and ignore what women say they want. When it comes to the chase, what women think and say about what's important in a man is in complete conflict with what they do. Only judge them by their actions. Tate teaches how to perfect what actually does work with women. It shows you how to create subconscious emotions and physical attraction. Literally, what you say is just a tiny portion of what it takes to seduce women. It's how you look, act, carry yourself, create value, flash the attitude actually, even more than that is simply how you respond to her when she's talking how you touch her and look at her is ten times more important than pick up lines. Stroke the girls ego, while creating interest and value in her eyes. The same thing women do to us is what works with them it's all about playing with emotions. When you act sexual, you create sexual chemistry. After you seduce them, then and only then, if you like them a lot, do you start acting like the guy they say they want. Great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1