Customer Reviews for

The Professionals (Stevens and Windermere Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I couldn't put this book down!

This is one of those books where I found myself rooting for the "bad" guys. Even though the four young adults in this novel were breaking the law by kidnapping people, they did it in such a humane way that it didn't seem like such a horrendous crime. The characters we...
This is one of those books where I found myself rooting for the "bad" guys. Even though the four young adults in this novel were breaking the law by kidnapping people, they did it in such a humane way that it didn't seem like such a horrendous crime. The characters were so richly drawn that I couldn't help but have an affinity for them. Once they went too far and had both law enforcement and the mob after them, I still wanted them to escape because of the rapport I felt for them. This was an excellent first novel and I look forward to reading more by Mr. Laukkanen.

posted by foothillgal on May 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good and bad moments throughout *No Spoilers*

I'm an avid reader who is frequently looking for a young new author to add to my favorites such as Scott Sigler and Joe Hill. When I saw this book at Barnes & Noble I was instant intrigued by its plot summary.

I enjoyed the fast pace, the character development and t...
I'm an avid reader who is frequently looking for a young new author to add to my favorites such as Scott Sigler and Joe Hill. When I saw this book at Barnes & Noble I was instant intrigued by its plot summary.

I enjoyed the fast pace, the character development and the constant shift of storytelling through three angles of 'professionals.' Because of this I was unable to put this book down.

Unfortunately after completing the 370 pages I am left with mixed feelings. I suppose it was caused by a review I read prior to reading the book. The review gave the book 5 stars and the reviewer was pleasantly surprised by the ending. My expectations increased and throughout reading I was constantly wondering how the book would end. Now that it is over, I have to say I am disappointed.

I give 90% of the book a 4 out of 5 and the remaining 10% of the book a 2 out of 5.

posted by SteveMacqueen on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    I couldn't put this book down!

    This is one of those books where I found myself rooting for the "bad" guys. Even though the four young adults in this novel were breaking the law by kidnapping people, they did it in such a humane way that it didn't seem like such a horrendous crime. The characters were so richly drawn that I couldn't help but have an affinity for them. Once they went too far and had both law enforcement and the mob after them, I still wanted them to escape because of the rapport I felt for them. This was an excellent first novel and I look forward to reading more by Mr. Laukkanen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing debut

    There's been lots of buzz surrounding Owen Laukkanen's debut novel The Professionals, so I was really eager to read it. Oh boy, seriously - run, don't walk to grab your copy - it releases today. Yes, it's that good. Crime, suspense and thriller fans, you're going to love it. (So did Lee Child, John Sandford and more!)

    A four person kidnap crew has been touring the country, snatching affluent men and holding them for ransom. Why? Well, it's the economy. Their university degrees are practically worthless. What started out as an offhand comment has mushroomed. Now they're working the Pender Method - nothing too big - sixty grand - enough that the family can easily raise the funds and won't call the cops. In and out clean - very professional. A few more and they can retire to somewhere nice and warm. Next stop - Minnesota.

    Minnesota - where Kirk Stevens has worked for the BCA (Bureau of Criminal Apprehension) for ten years. "He caught his reflection in the patrol car';s rear window as he waited and he stared at it a moment, a forty-three-year-old career cop with thinning hair and a paunch, his tired eyes betraying a mounting fatigue....Another botched robbery, Stevens thought to himself. Another day in the glamorous life." Just another professional on the job.

    Until the crew hits the wrong man in Minnesota - a husband with connections to organized crime. And his wife sends in her professionals to track down the crew. Stevens is now on the case and it balloons. Then the FBI sends in Agent Carla Windermere and Stevens is called up to help these professionals.

    And where things go from there is a non stop, action packed, read 'til your eyeballs hurt ride. (Really, I had the day off, couldn't put it down and finished it by that night) You would never guess that this is a first novel. You'd think that Laukkanen is a professional. The writing is smooth, the dialogue flows so easily and the characters hooked me from the beginning. The plot? Well, the plot is just freakin' fantastic. The kidnappers owned this book, but Laukkanen has plans for another book featuring Stevens and Windermere. I look forward to seeing what he has in store for book two!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    awesome

    well written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    A good read

    This book is incredibly funny. The plot is good and keeps you on your feet. This story is about a group of college grads who kidnap people to make a living, until they kidnap the wrong man, whose wife has connections to the... I'm not giving it away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Recommended

    I've read Sandford, Child, Burke, etc., and this young fellow is right up there with the pros. Very interesting plot, but the characters pull you in; you're pulling for both the good guys and the bad guys. I read this one at one sitting. I've only done that with three other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The plan of kidnapping that these friends use is pretty genius,

    The plan of kidnapping that these friends use is pretty genius, which alone is worth reading the book. Laukkanen has a good insight into the criminal mind, but meshes that with the minds of four everyday friends who never wanted to hurt anyone. These four characters are relatable and believable, and although they are the bad guys featured in the story, I still found myself rooting for all of them. I know what they are doing is wrong, that is clear, but the way that they are written it was easy to feel for them and to hope they met their goals as well.

    The FBI agent and investigator are both endearing as well. Stevens (the investigator) is living the dream now that he is working with the FBI to chase these guys, but it conflicts with his desire to be home with his wife and children. Adding this internal conflict in the story is something that I think other thrillers often miss. Laukkanen was able to provide the time for the reader to get to know each and every character, not easy to do with so many characters. Even the really bad guys, members of the mob, are shown more closely than I’ve read before. Seeing this story from all of the different angles keeps it interesting throughout. Each time I put the book down I kept saying “I want to know what’s going to happen next” and quickly returned to the story. Whatever Laukkanen writes next, I’ll be reading it.


    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1