Customer Reviews for

The Promise

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Moving & Evocative

    Il Divo's music is new to me, & I was very impressed. They have strong beautiful finely trained voices, whether solo or blending in harmony. A lot of opera is too stylized for me, but these artists sing with real emotion. The backing instruments, particularly keyboards, are also played with true skill & passion.<BR/><BR/>I was particularly taken with the opening number, The Power of Love (La Fuerza Mayor.) Although I only know a little Spanish, I soon found myself singing along. Their interpretation of Leonard Cohen's Hallelujah (Aleluya) gives the song new life. While relaxing background music, at times I was inspired to get up & move, because Il Divo sings with such power & energy. This isn't just for opera lovers, but for anyone who appreciates artists who sing straight from the heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Il Divo makes good on their "Promise"

    As a One2One Network participant, I received this CD in the mail to listen to and review. I currently own "Ancora," which I love slightly more than this album, but that's not to say that this CD isn't another slam dunk. Packed with emotion and sincerity, the name "Il Divo," (Italian for "Divine (Male)) says it all. As with any album, some songs are superior to others. My personal favorites include "Angelina," "Aleluya," and "Winner Takes It All." This album would make a perfect gift for that loved one who wants to dip their feet into contemporary "popera." I can almost guaruntee it will make a lasting impression on a female baby boomer in your life - I bought "Ancora" for my mom (age 55) as a Christmas gift last year and she fell in love with them. We now share a love for Il Divo, particularly Carlos!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Sound

    I found this easy to listen to. Great for dinner party music or just to relax at home alone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Beautiful

    I enjoyed the music on this album, but I don't think it is quite to par with their other music. I found myself constantly turning up the volume so I could make out the words, then turning it down when the music became too loud. Most of the arrangements felt the same to me. The songs began softly, in solo, and eventually built to a very dramatic, sometimes harsh climax with all four singing.<BR/><BR/>In particular, I was not overly fond of <BR/>Track #1 The Power of Love - started so slowly that the words sounded harsh, rather than flowing (later the tempo picks up, and the song is very nice),<BR/>Track #3 Adagio - I felt that the instrumentals were competing with the vocals on this one,<BR/>Track #8 The Winner Takes it All - I don't really care for this interpretation of Abba.<BR/><BR/>That said, I really enjoyed the rest of the album. Particularly,<BR/>Track #2 La Promessa - Gorgeous. Their voices are powerful and tender;<BR/>Track #5 L'Alba Del Mondo - A very subtle showcase of the talent of this group;<BR/>Track #7 Angelina - Wonderful Spanish-style orchestration;<BR/>Track #11 Amazing Grace - So beautiful. The solo on the first verse is incredible, and the bagpipes during the transition are a nice surprise to this classic (definitely not what I expected the first time I heard it).<BR/><BR/>Overall, I was very pleased with the latest offering from Il Divo and I would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sophisticated Sound

    The voices 4 voices of Il Divo are powerful and emotion-filled when they sing. I had never listened to any Il Divo music before this CD so I was completely unsure of what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised to discover how wonderful it is. Every song has something to offer, but my personal favorites are "Angelina" and "The Winner Takes it All (Va Todo Al Ganador)". <BR/><BR/>The CD includes songs in Italian and Spanish, but because of the amazing level of emotion and strength in the men's voices, one does not need to be able to speak or understand the language to fully experience the music. The listener can feel it and embrace it without relying on pesky words and literal translations, which brings a whole new level to music listening. <BR/><BR/>The amazing voices of Il Divo make this a perfect CD to sit back with a glass of wine and lose oneself in the melodies. It is easy to be pulled into the music and forget all the stresses of the real world and life in general. If you're looking for overly-synthesized pop junk, this CD is not for you. But if you're looking for true talent and amazing harmonies, pick up "The Promise" and give it a listen. You won't be disappointed with these sophisticated songs. The operatic tones will fill your ears and heart with the magic of music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Il Divo Does Not Disappoint

    This is the CD I have been waiting for. I am an Il Divo fan and this new CD, The Promise, did not disappoint! Amazing Grace brought tears to my eyes while the Power of Love just made me feel peaceful. I just recently lost my Grandfather last week and this CD helped me get through that really rough patch! I would recommend this Cd to anyone, young or old!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great for entertaining - background music

    I just got to listen to the CD in full over Thanksgiving and it was the perfect setting for this CD. I really wasn't sure what to expect as I had only briefly heard of Il Divo as Simon Cowell's project. I was impressed by the rich voices (and let's face it - good looks on the cover). The CD is not something I would pop in while I'm getting ready for a night on the town - but is perfect if you are having a group over for dinner and would like some rich background music. The songs on the album that really stood out for me was Amazing Grace and La Promessa. The music is full of emotion and when you listen to the sound of their voices blend together it's really beautiful. This is really a CD to sit down, relax and enjoy a glass of wine too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Enjoyable

    There is absolutely no doubt that these four fine gentlemen can sing. It is particularly enjoyable if you understand foreign languages, which I have the good fortune of being able to do. For those who speak english there is the amazing "Amazing Grace". I suggest that you lay back, close your eyes and let the rest of the songs take you away, I guarantee that Il Divo will take you on a journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Another Great Il Divo CD!

    I enjoyed The Promise very much. Although I didn't like the song selection as much as their other CDs, I still enjoyed listening to every song on this one. Amazing Grace, The Winner Takes it All, etc. are all beautiful renditions. Their voices are amazing no matter what song they sing...so what does it matter? Everyone is sure to enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Promise

    This is my first Il Divo CD. The songs are rich and exotic. I would prefer more English songs, but The Winner Takes it All was quite enjoyable to me. I think that was my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    They kept their promise!

    This is the first time I have heard of this group and I was pleasantly surprised. I love hearing a good blend of bass and tenor voices and Il Divo delivered. They each have a gorgeous voice that gets even better in a tight harmony. My favorite songs are La Promesa, Hallelujah and Amazing Grace. I don't know that this will be a CD I listen to over and over but I did enjoy it. This will be a wonderful addition to my playlist favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    worth a listen

    I've heard many things about Il Divo over the years, both good and bad, but this is the first opportunity I've had to experience their music. As someone who's not particularly fond of opera, I found "The Promise" to be a surprisingly easy listen. While it was a little jarring to hear an Abba song being sung in opera (can't even imagine how someone could have come up with that), the majority of the album is pleasant surprise that I've listened to more than once or twice in the last couple of days. My personal favorite track is "Hallelujah" - a song I love when performed by John Cale - and it's hauntingly beautiful here. If you're looking for "pop opera", I think the East Village Opera Company is a better way to go, but Il Divo is still more than worth a listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1