BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Promise

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Powerful performance by a quartet of amazing singers.

    This group of talented men has touched my life and enriched it by singing some of the most emotionally charged and high quality musical pieces I have ever heard. This CD, their latest, is by far their best. There is only one song that I skip over and that is "Angelina" because the flamenco style does not appeal to me. However, that is a small thing. The rendering of "Amazing Grace", their only performance in English on this CD, is stirring. I understand why so many people flock to their concerts. I am one of them and I can say they are unmatched in today's musical world. Giants!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Better Than I thought

    Amazing Grace was one of the best version I have ever heard. The whole CD is soothing and relaxing. One of my new favorite groups. Looking forward to there future works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Il Divo Keeps Its Promise

    Prior to receiving this CD, I was only minimally aware of Il Divo, the princes of popera. I had seen them on television several times, and knew that they had amazing voices and harmonies. When I first listened to this, I was blown away. These songs truly showcase Il Divo's incredible harmonies. The instrumentals are expertly arranged. The melodies are deceptively simple, yet compelling. Each song is full of pleasant surprises in harmonies, melodies and dynamics. If you listen, and emerge yourself in the music, you will not only be interested, you will also be lost in the music. With the exception of Amazing Grace, the songs are in Spanish. Regardless if you understand the words, the music emotes the sentiment of the song in a way that makes it easy to understand the message of the music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Strong, Powerful and Moving - Great for This Holiday Season

    Il Divo is back, with a new cd filled with beautifully moving songs. Special note: all of the songs are in Spanish except for Amazing Grace, which is sung in English. This has disappointed some listeners, but I love it! For me, the words are not as powerful as the sound, and the sound does not disappoint. My favorite songs on this album are La Promesa, Angelina and Amazing Grace. <BR/><BR/>This album is great to use as background music for a dinner party. It is equally as nice for relaxing with a book and cup of coffee or tea. If you haven't listened to them before, listen to clips from each song online - you may find a new favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Promise Is Uplifting!

    I really enjoyed listening the Il Divo's new CD "The Promise." The lush vocals were uplifitng and romantic. I particularly enjoyed their rendidtion of the song, "Amazing Grace." It sends a positive message that is welcome in these challenging times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great!

    I enjoyed this cd very much! Very powerful but at the same time very nice to listen to for unwinding at the end of the day! Great Cd!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    These are beautiful songs!

    I love all these songs on this CD. There are 11 songs and even though I like all of them, my favorites are Amazing Grace and Hallelujah. Those are both really beautiful songs and IL Divo sing them so well! The songs on this CD are:<BR/><BR/> 1)The Power Of Love (La Fuerza Mayor)<BR/>2)La Promessa<BR/>3)Adagio<BR/>4)Hallelujah (Aleluya)<BR/>5)L'alba Del Mondo<BR/>6)Enamorado<BR/>7)Angelina<BR/>8)The Winner takes It All (Va Todo Al Ganador)<BR/>9)La Luna<BR/>10)She<BR/>11)Amazing Grace<BR/><BR/>All these songs are uplifting and inspirational. My stress goes completely away while listening to these guys! The lyrics to all the songs are really great and they are unforgetable. I can't help but have a smile on my face while listening to this CD! This is one CD that I recommend to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the most beautiful renditions of Amazing Grace!

    I listen to classical opera, but am in no way a connoisseur. I had heard of Il Divo, but had not purchased their music in the past. Il Divo has an amazing way of melding four voices together in an operatic quartet on this album. Hearing these romantic ballads in Spanish was beautiful, and allowed me to focus on the actual music and voice range of the four singers. This has to be one of the best renditions of Amazing Grace that I have ever heard, amplified by the beautiful background music and the crispness of the voices (Note that Amazing Grace is the only song in English on the album). I will likely purchase additional Il Divo albums in the future after listening to The Promise. Overall, I think Il Divo is many steps ahead of Josh Groban, but not quite at the original Three Tenors. This album is easy to listen to and would make great background music at a wine tasting or similar party, as well as, everyday listening for the classical opera lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Opera for the Masses

    Recently released, Il Divo¿s ¿The Promise¿ is chock- full of intoxicating melodies. The quartet of angelic voices is complemented with brilliantly orchestrated strings, horns and percussion, as well as a captivating appearance of Scottish bagpipes. The language barrier only serves to transport the imagination further, on unfamiliar tracks. Remakes, such as Abba¿s ¿The Winner takes It All¿, Elvis Costello¿s(remake) ¿She¿ and Shrek¿s (my kid¿s interpretation) of ¿Hallelujah¿ are heartening, while the group¿s incomparable, rendition of the legendary ¿Amazing Grace¿ leaves the listener with an emotion that closely mimics being in love.<BR/>Young or old, fan of classical or pop, expert in linguistics or humble housewife, Il Divo¿s ¿Opera for the Masses¿ musical transformations, are relevant to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Just beautiful

    I had never heard of IL DIVO before hearing this CD. Most of their music is in either Spanish or Italian it sounds beautiful in any language they sing it in. Great music to unwind to and relax my favorite song was Amazing Grace it gave me goosebumps. They sing with such emotion and love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Il Divo delivers with "The Promise"

    I won't claim to be an expert on Il Divo. I had not heard of them before getting this CD, but I'm glad to make their acquaintance. I'd describe them as somewhat of a cross between opera (think Pavarotti) and Josh Groban. The album contains songs you'll recognize (Amazing Grace, Adagio), and some that you won't, but they're all by turns soothing, stirring, and easy to listen to. I wondered about the Abba song on the album (The Winner Takes it All), but when I mentioned to my 9- and 11-year olds that a "Mamma Mia" song was playing, they said they didn't even recognize it. It just works. All songs are sung in Italian or Spanish, except for Amazing Grace. This is nice, because it allowed me to just drink in the beauty of the music without trying to concentrate on the words. Give "The Promise" a try. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1