Customer Reviews for

The Promise of Stardust

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Love

I don't usually write reviews but I felt I had to for this book. It was very well written with such a unique story line. I truly enjoyed this novel, and after reading a little about the author and her background I became even more intrigued. A nurse writing about a medi...
I don't usually write reviews but I felt I had to for this book. It was very well written with such a unique story line. I truly enjoyed this novel, and after reading a little about the author and her background I became even more intrigued. A nurse writing about a medical controversy, I wish more books had that much depth of knowledge behind them.

posted by 18663718 on May 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

Very goid book, although i was very disappointed that pages were missing at the end that ruined it for me. I dont know how it ended. Of course bn wont make good on it.

posted by 8888649 on August 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Love

    I don't usually write reviews but I felt I had to for this book. It was very well written with such a unique story line. I truly enjoyed this novel, and after reading a little about the author and her background I became even more intrigued. A nurse writing about a medical controversy, I wish more books had that much depth of knowledge behind them.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    When I read the inside cover I goosebumps, so I took this as a s

    When I read the inside cover I goosebumps, so I took this as a sign that this was a book for me.  I am happy that I listened to my instinct.  i was afraid the book would be too "medical" & that the story would only happen in the hospital setting.  I am so happy that I chose this book and I will recommend it to all of my friends!!!  WONDERFUL!!!!!  

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    Could not put it down. Highly Recommended!!! This book makes yo

    Could not put it down. Highly Recommended!!!

    This book makes you never take a day for granted. I absolutely loved this book, a definate page turner, filled w/ indescribable love, and moral dilemas. I was in awe of this book, totally choked me up. I read an average of 3 to 4 books a week and I can honestly say this is by far one of my top 10 fav. I will be keeping an eye out for anything Priscille Sibley writes.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    True Love

    A great book about love; love between a husband and wife, mother and son, father and daughter. When does life begin and end?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    This book broke my heart, yet lifted it at the same time.

    <3

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    This book was exceptional! I had a hard time putting this book

    This book was exceptional! I had a hard time putting this book down. I live in North Dakota and with the new abortion bills and reading this book, it makes one think! Something so simple is so very complicated! It left me thinking even after I was finished reading it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    Beautiful story, it is a book I would recommend to anyone young

    Beautiful story, it is a book I would recommend to anyone young or old.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Wonderful!

    The Promise of Stardust by Priscille Sibley...if you like a book with twists and turns, and something to make you think...READ IT. Reminds me a little of Jodi Picoult, but a little less intense. I was actually holding my breath in the last chapter. Big fan!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Wow

    This was a great novel, very compelling, I would definitely recommend people to read this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Outstanding!

    This book was recommended to me on Goodreads by a friend and I'm not quite sure how to thank her. Having experienced the heartache of a sudden illness resulting in brain death and having helped make the decision to withdraw life support only 5 months ago, I wasn't sure I could even read this novel at first. I can say that I shed quite a few tears during the reading and I could hear the hospital in my mind more easily than I wanted to, but that is the mark of a great author.
    The similarities between my experience and the novel were limited but the bottom line questions are very real. I believe that we all need to swallow our fears about incapacity and death and make our decisions early and make them known, legally if at all possible, so that we can spare our loved ones from the horrible "what if" scenarios. The conversations are not easy, but they are necessary and this novel highlighted one that I had not thought of previously but will be having with my 18 year old daughter... because someday she will probably get married and have children and I don't want to wonder what she would want if she were in Elle's situation.
    I don't like to reveal much about a novel when reviewing it because I think that discovering the details is the best part of the reading experience so I'll end by saying that this was a phenominal, emotional read with wonderful, human and engaging characters that I find myself thinking about after the last page has been turned. I highly recommend this novel and eagerly await another from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Promise Of Stardust is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's

    The Promise Of Stardust is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom’s Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS’s Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author and; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom’s Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    This book is heart wrenching. There are no easy parts. Sibley pl

    This book is heart wrenching. There are no easy parts. Sibley places chapters throughout the book that chronicle the relationship between Matt and Elle as they grow up, and that makes it ten times worse for the reader because you get to see this beautiful and destined love blossom, only to be forced to remember what waits for them at the end. The journey that you will take with Matt is one of the most difficult literary experiences you will face. As a debut novel, this is brilliant. Sibley, a neonatal intensive care nurse, sees plenty of joyous and heartbreaking situations and you can see how much of herself she puts in this story. Read it. Cry. Hug your loved ones. And don't take anything for granted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    I have never written a review but this book needs to be read.  I

    I have never written a review but this book needs to be read.  I felt he love the husband had for his wife through the whole book; i couldn't even put it down.  The last 15 pages had me sobbing.  It is by far the best book I have ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Awesome book!

    I coud not put this book down. Get your box of kleenex, truly heartfelt story of love and devotion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    One of the best books I have read in some time

    What a great book to read and for book clubs to discuss. The author has done a good job of bringing the characters to life and addressing the moral issue in this book. In some ways it is like a Jodi Picoult book with there being a definite moral issue. There isn't a lot of the research that Jodi is known for. Put this on your wish list or waiting list at your library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Great book

    Everyone in our book club enjoyed it. Makes you think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Priscille Sibley does a masterful job of grabbing you on the fir

    Priscille Sibley does a masterful job of grabbing you on the first page and holding you to the very end of the book.  She takes an ethical dilemma that challenges, parents, doctors, lawyers, and court systems throughout our country: the rights of an unborn baby when the mother is declared brain dead, and allows her individual characters to struggle with the needs, wants and desires of the comatose victim.  Without taking sides one way or the other, Sibley, challenges the reader to struggle along with the characters of her novel.  Her personal experience as a neo-natal intensive care nurse shines through as she expertly walks us through the physiological aspects of the many challenges to maintain life under these circumstances.  Well worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    I can easily understand why this book has an average rating of 5

    I can easily understand why this book has an average rating of 5 stars. It IS an exceptional story beautifully written. I read two books a week and The Promise of Stardust is at the top of my favorites with few others. I highly recommend this book and will be closely following this new author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Gripping drama

    Incredible storyline. Characters are very well developed, and the story moves at a nice pace. Will definitely read this book again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    OMG!!!! WHAT AN AWESOME AND TOUCHING STORY!!!!

    This is the best book I have read in a long time!! It had me laughing and crying-a roller coaster of emotion from the first page. I could not put it down and stayed up all night to finish it. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4