BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Prophet

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Deja Vu

Although football is a main topic throughout this novel, in this small Ohio town (dominated, it seems, by the high school team) it is anything but a game. Typical of many rust belt areas, when the steel plants closed the population dwindled. But life goes on, especial...
Although football is a main topic throughout this novel, in this small Ohio town (dominated, it seems, by the high school team) it is anything but a game. Typical of many rust belt areas, when the steel plants closed the population dwindled. But life goes on, especially for two estranged brothers, both of whom played for the Cardinals in their youth: Adam Austin, a fullback who was on the last championship eleven, and Kent, who starred as a quarterback after Adam’s graduation, and is now the head coach.

Their subsequent lives have been dominated by an unfortunate occurrence one night when Adam was preoccupied with his girlfriend and Austin couldn’t leave his football duties to accompany their sister, Marie, home from school. It was Adam’s responsibility, and she never made it home. At some point after she went missing the family learned that she had been murdered. Neither brother forgave himself, especially Adam, who maintains the boyhood home with Marie’s room as a shrine. When the culprit is finally captured on a fluke in Cleveland and sentenced to prison time, Kent visits with him in jail and tells him he forgives him, an act which Adam hardly condones.

Thus, the stage is set for a repeat performance when the girlfriend of the star receiver for Coach Kent’s team asks Adam to locate an address for her father who apparently has just been released from prison. Adam gets an address and the girl goes there, only to be brutally murdered. It turns out that Kent had recommended Adam, who has a PI license, to the boy, who had passed along the information to the girl. Each of the brothers feels responsibility, leading to a series of events through which they seek to redeem themselves for present and past actions.

The author has written a suspenseful crime story based on good and evil, selfless acts, and atonement of sins. At no point does the reader know what will happen next, even when it is on the one yard line with goal to go.

Highly recommended.

posted by tedfeit0 on August 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Bit Disappointing

I've read many of Michael Koryta's books, and have loved them all. So when I learned he had a new book coming out, I pre-ordered it, expecting it to be on par with Koryta's other books. Sadly, I was disappointed. It took a while for the story to get even somewhat inte...
I've read many of Michael Koryta's books, and have loved them all. So when I learned he had a new book coming out, I pre-ordered it, expecting it to be on par with Koryta's other books. Sadly, I was disappointed. It took a while for the story to get even somewhat interesting. I'm not a huge football fan, and this book revolves around football, so that was part of the problem. The ending was a big disappointment to me, too. Koryta's other books have all been real page-turners; I couldn't wait to see what would happen next. But this one was a real yawner. Hopefully his next book will be back on par with the likes of "Cypress House" and "The Ridge."

posted by BookLoverDK on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Deja Vu

    Although football is a main topic throughout this novel, in this small Ohio town (dominated, it seems, by the high school team) it is anything but a game. Typical of many rust belt areas, when the steel plants closed the population dwindled. But life goes on, especially for two estranged brothers, both of whom played for the Cardinals in their youth: Adam Austin, a fullback who was on the last championship eleven, and Kent, who starred as a quarterback after Adam’s graduation, and is now the head coach.

    Their subsequent lives have been dominated by an unfortunate occurrence one night when Adam was preoccupied with his girlfriend and Austin couldn’t leave his football duties to accompany their sister, Marie, home from school. It was Adam’s responsibility, and she never made it home. At some point after she went missing the family learned that she had been murdered. Neither brother forgave himself, especially Adam, who maintains the boyhood home with Marie’s room as a shrine. When the culprit is finally captured on a fluke in Cleveland and sentenced to prison time, Kent visits with him in jail and tells him he forgives him, an act which Adam hardly condones.

    Thus, the stage is set for a repeat performance when the girlfriend of the star receiver for Coach Kent’s team asks Adam to locate an address for her father who apparently has just been released from prison. Adam gets an address and the girl goes there, only to be brutally murdered. It turns out that Kent had recommended Adam, who has a PI license, to the boy, who had passed along the information to the girl. Each of the brothers feels responsibility, leading to a series of events through which they seek to redeem themselves for present and past actions.

    The author has written a suspenseful crime story based on good and evil, selfless acts, and atonement of sins. At no point does the reader know what will happen next, even when it is on the one yard line with goal to go.

    Highly recommended.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Coach and The Gladiator makes a stunning thriller for Michae

    The Coach and The Gladiator makes a stunning thriller for Michael Koryta
    fans! I'm a tainted reviewer on this one, have to tell you right up
    front. I've dipped into the well 3 times before and Michael Koryta is my
    new century favorite writer in this suspense thriller genre along with
    the likes of Dennis Lehane, William Landy, and Jeffrey Deaver. There
    are many good writers who can tap into the genre, but there are few
    masters. Michael Koryta is a master of it. His work is complex and
    psychologically blistering! It's pure joy to read. He's so far above
    the average writer we nearly need to create his own category. This is a
    thriller you won't expect, you won't see the outcome ahead, and you'll
    love the trip through the mineshaft to discover it. The psychological
    characterizations of two distinctly different brothers who are torn by
    their own reactions to their only sister's horrific murder when they
    were all teenagers, is genius. Koryta develops both of his characters
    in depth. Adam, the bail bondsman who stepped from the gridiron as a
    rough, hard-hitting giant/hero when his sister was killed, continues to
    embrace his gladiator actions and attitudes, acting often on instinct.
    While Kent took refuge in the coaching side of football, the thinking
    man's controlled side; embracing the spiritual and the mind-over-matter
    concepts while directing those who would use their hearts and bodies to
    win the game. Koryta employs both these men and their persona's to
    catch a killer who seems to "copycat" the kidnapping and
    murder of their sister in the new death of one of the coach's football
    hero's girlfriends. The psychology of the killer is also creative and
    engrossing. Koryta's development of a sociopath/psychopath is
    methodical and fearsome. However, this profile is not the main focus of
    the book. While I was initially yawning about football
    "plays," because I'm not a fan of the technical per se, I
    could see that they were necessary to understanding why the Coach and
    the Gladiator were making their choices in approaches toward the killer
    of the girl. Once I got hold of that fact and how it played into their
    past, the football aspects seemed to flow well for me. "The
    Prophet" ultimately, is not just a book about a serial killer or a
    psychopath, but it is the astute study of a family torn apart and
    changed by the actions of one. It's the story of the ultimate
    sacrifices made by that family; the psychological tortures they endure
    and how it shapes their lives, and the outcomes of that. It's also the
    story of every person's fantasy..."What would happen if a family
    member of a tortured and murdered child got to stalk and kill the
    murderer?" It's not until the last pages of the book that I
    finally put together all of the meanings of "The Prophet."
    This is a book you won't forget, and one you'll be recommending to
    everyone. Men and women alike will love the book. It's already on my
    Christmas list for my family. 5 perfect stars!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Wow, how have I missed this writer?I could not literally put the

    Wow, how have I missed this writer?I could not literally put the book down, which was difficult since I took it on vacation, and there were times I actually HAD to put it down. The characters and the story telling are so nuanced; the unfolding is perfectly timed and rings true, every move every character makes. There was not a moment that I felt that reality was suspended for the sake of the story. I cannot wait to read Michael Koryta's other 8 books. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Superb book, with a unique plot and characters

    It took awhile for me to really lose myself in this book, but then it became impossible to put it down, and the ending is one of the best I can recall. If you are a football fan, this is for you. If you are a spiritual person, it is for you. If you just enjoy a great suspense filled mystery story, it is for you, too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    I am only 75% of the way through the book, but I'm so enthralled

    I am only 75% of the way through the book, but I'm so enthralled that I
    had to review it as soon as possible. I felt obligated to make sure
    everyone knows that you MUST read this book! Michael Koryta's
    storytelling has me depressed that I will not be able to find something
    even close to this interesting and thrilling once I've finished. I am
    actually delaying that inevitable end with a killer's patience. By the
    time I had realized how many layers each character had, "The
    Prophet" quickly showed me that I hadn't even begun to absorb the
    intricacies of the main players in the story. Two brothers lives were
    changed after a horrific event in high school. While one chose to
    internalize his distress, the other became a beacon of success and made
    a mission of his faith. Unbeknownst to the brothers is that a killer has
    come to their town with a point to prove and a chilling history. This
    book has already cost me hours of sleep and two missed train stops
    thanks to how deeply it took me in. I encourage anyone who appreciates a
    bit of mystery and intrigue to buy and read this now. You'll want to
    spread the word just like me in no time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    None of the characters are likable so it is hard to follow the s

    None of the characters are likable so it is hard to follow the story line when you don't care about people in the book. Very slow moving, very boring, couldn't even finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    A Bit Disappointing

    I've read many of Michael Koryta's books, and have loved them all. So when I learned he had a new book coming out, I pre-ordered it, expecting it to be on par with Koryta's other books. Sadly, I was disappointed. It took a while for the story to get even somewhat interesting. I'm not a huge football fan, and this book revolves around football, so that was part of the problem. The ending was a big disappointment to me, too. Koryta's other books have all been real page-turners; I couldn't wait to see what would happen next. But this one was a real yawner. Hopefully his next book will be back on par with the likes of "Cypress House" and "The Ridge."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    My new favorite author!

    I loved this book, from the plot line to the telling of the story with a small town football coach and his personal struggle told in tandem with his brother's in the aftermath of their sister's murder. I am surprised it took me this long to find this author, his stories are well written and satisfying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love the way Michael Koryta writes. His writing flows smoothly

    I love the way Michael Koryta writes. His writing flows smoothly and his descriptions bring vivid images to mind. I read his earlier books, So Cold The Rive and The Ridge, and recommended them to everyone.
    I sat down to read this book with every intention of loving it. But soon I found out that I couldn't follow all the moves in the football games. I don't watch football. I don't know the terms or the players' positions. It made me frustrated. I concentrated hard on the games and followed them as best as I could.
    The main characters, Adam and Kent, were developed well in the book. I felt like I understood them. I had lost a brother at a young age and so I understood their pain that could last a lifetime. Their intense pain and loss affected their future decisions and life choices. The ending was sad. Part of me wished it could've ended on a happier note.
    I liked the story and the characters. All the loose ends were tied up at the end. But the author left part of the ending open for us, the readers, to think about. I am still tormenting about it today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Outstanding atypical thriller

    Intelligently and thoughtfully written. The people and emotions were raw and real. This is the first time I have read this author, but I am on a mission to read all. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Prophecy of the Halfbloods

    A great darkness is falling over the camp. Soon, the camp will be attacked by a force unlike any other. You will have one week to prepare. Four halfbloods, two men and two women, will lead the rest to victory: <br>
    - 1 son of Ares <br>
    - 1 son of Apollo <br>
    - 1 hunter of Artemis <br>
    - 1 daughter of Aphrodite <br>
    The true heroes will be choosen and will lead their camp to victory against those who wish to destroy them.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    THE PROFET is a mystery that seems to say that everyone could re

    THE PROFET is a mystery that seems to say that everyone could reach a point in their lives that could cause them to be the villain that they feel they normally would condemn.  I've read glowing reviews, and reviews that trash this book as being too much about football and not enough about a mystery. I think perhaps those one star reviews are missing something that make this book so much more than just a mystery.  Will not say lots more on that because I believe the real discerning readers will be able to see this for themselves, and realize that this is a great mystery, but it is also a story that is so much more that JUST a mystery.




    The Austin brothers live in the same small town where they were born and raised, but they have had virtually no contact with each other for 22years.  Their relationship stopped one year when their sister was murdered.  Both boys were football heroes, and Adam was supposed to drive his sister home from school every day.  One day in his exuberance, he let his sister walk the five blocks home alone.  She never made it home.  Adam has been living in the guilt of his actions all of these years.  Now as a bail bondsman, he lives a completely different live than his brother, Kent, more commonly known as &quot;Coach&quot;. 




    As &quot;Coach&quot; is driving his high school football team to a state championship title, another 17 year old girl is brutally murdered.  How the brothers handle this tragedy, and seek to solve and resolve this tragedy themselves, is what makes this a brilliant story.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    awesome!!

    as per usual his books are great!! i had a very hard time putting this book down. Can't wait till another one comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Such a great book!

    This is the fourth book I have read by Michael Koryta and in my opinion it was the best. I am not one who gets overly involved with the characters in a book. They are fictional, after all. But I found myself actually caring about what happened to the Austin brothers. To me that is what separates a good book from a great one. Mr. Koryta has a real talent and I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    excellent

    His best ye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Koryta fumbles the ball with this one.

    Having enjoyed a few of Michael Koryta's books before I was looking forward to this one. I found it to be slow moving and I didn't feel the characters acted naturally, they seemed to be over-acting all the time. By the time the mystery was solved, I didn't really care. The last one-third of the book was very convoluted and I wasn't interested enough to re-read in an effort to figure it out.

    Disappointing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2