Customer Reviews for

The Proposition

Average Rating 4.5
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(192)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great book

This was a truly great book BUT the ending! This book leaves you hanging until March 2013. You do not know the end until then and that pisses me off.

posted by 9145480 on November 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lackluster

Maybe I prefer books written from first person point of view, but something about this book left me feeling like there was more to be desired.

posted by Anonymous on December 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    I cannot wait until March??

    I cannot wait until March??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Great book

    Cant wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Proposition is the first book in The Proposition series by



    The Proposition is the first book in The Proposition series by author Katie Ashley. I really liked this story. It is sexy and endearing. As noted in the book's synopsis, the female lead Emma wants to have a baby but she is not in a relationship and she does not want to use a sperm bank. Her gay best friend initially offers but then backs out. The male lead Aiden offers to help but he wants something in return...his stipulation is that they have to conceive naturally. “I’m talking about a little proposition for us both to get something we really, really want. I give a little, and you give a little.”

    I really liked Emma's character. She is sweet and she has a good heart. Aiden's character has an interesting layering to him and he quickly grew on me throughout the story. The question in this book is: Can a "baby-making" agreement like Emma and Aiden's stay nonemotional? Can a womanizer like Aiden change his ways? The Proposition ends on a cliffhanger and I immediately started searching for the next book in the series, The Proposal. I recommend this book to fans of sexy adult contemporary romance stories who don't mind hearing a woman's biological clock ticking...loudly.

    My favorite quotes:
    "A MWF sex schedule? How efficient," he mused. "Please be serious." A wicked grin flashed on his face. "Fine, pencil me in. I'll be ready and erect whenever you need me."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Yes, I will read it again!

    I really enjoyed the characters and the story. I can't read to read the next one, The Proposal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    OOPS! Sorry - this is part 1 of 2

    both are good books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Proposition was a very good story with a capturing storyline

    The Proposition was a very good story with a capturing storyline. The characters are very believeable as we have all met people just like them. Emma wanted a baby, and Aiden offered her the solution, his cocky, witty, endearing personality reminds me of so many men.
    The only part of the story that I had a problem with was how quickly Emma agreed to the arrangement with Aiden, especially since she was so worried about the anonymity of the sperm bank, and she did not really know him all that well. The cliff hanger ending did frustrate me a bit but honestly left me wanting more. I am looking forward to reading the proposal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Good story but not very thrilling!

    This story began well but took a nose dive towards the end. It was hard to stay interested and not skip a few pages. Emma at times seemed too much with the whole "mountains" visit; for God's sake it's Atlanta not West Virginia! Hopefully The Proposal will be more intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Great Read!

    Very good! Couldn't wait to get the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Great series

    Loved the books but i think both books could have been combined into one. The characters were great and believable. Lots of laugh out loud moments. A must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    I liked it

    Great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Very good love story!

    I really loved this book and the development of the characters and their relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    So happy to find this series!

    I recently discovered Katie Ashley and I adore her! I have read 2 of her books and am anxious to read more. I would highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Great read

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    Loved it. Holy cliffhanger. MEN!

    Loved it. Holy cliffhanger. MEN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Such a great story!

    The story line is great! It is a quick easy read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Good story

    I really like this story. I thought Aidan acted a little immature at times. It was kind of a turn off. I thought he was 20 at first not a 30 yr old man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Love Loved it

    Just great get it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book¿I like. I like the story line, the characters (even th

    This book…I like. I like the story line, the characters (even though the frustrate me sometimes), and the ending had me going nuts. It was a really good read and I cannot wait for the next one to come out! I guess I’m a sucker for the whole pregnancy thing, but I really enjoyed the story behind it. Emma was the home-grown wholesome country girl that is destined to be a great mother that was peppy and polite and you just couldn’t help, but lover her. And Aiden…well Aiden was the typical selfish playboy that started to change…just a bit. There were funny moments, laughing moments, sad moments, and every other emotion you could feel with a story like this. I enjoyed seeing that both characters came from a similar background and ended up so different, both characters have gone through a lot of lose, Emma more than Aiden, but still. Now, it doesn’t really explain how Aiden became how he came—that will be the next book—but I was kind of happy to know that it had nothing to do with his father. His dad is actually a nice guy! (Well I hope so at least) So it was a relief to have something new and fresh and I can’t wait to find out more about him, and see what happens in the next novel.
    Good:
    Emma—He’s wholesome and just wants more family that will love her and depend on her.
    Aiden—the bad boy, that starts to become a little bit good. *Sigh
    Bad:
    Emma—I found it weird that they had agreed to something (Aiden being the “sperm downer”) and immediately after things start to change. Emma occasionally nags at him a lot, and wants him to change to become a boyfriends/husband/father figure.
    Aiden—He also changes a bit after the agreement, but still holds his jerk-iness.
    There was a few to many “Are you serious?”es for my liking, but thankfully it wasn’t really noticeable until the end.
    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):
    Overall the novel as well written, the story line was interesting, and the characters are pretty in-depth with a lot of background history. I liked how different they both were and how much they complimented each other, and changed each other. I fell in love with the characters and their background, and my heart got broken right along with theirs, jumped for joy with theirs and even simply smiled when they did. There were some minor things that got to me such as the way Emma acted. Sometimes I found her to be a bit naggy when she went into the relationship like a contract and knew that she shoudn’t expect more of him. I’m not saying I didn’t want more from Aiden in this story because I did, but I just felt like she made this deal with him and then completely threw it out the window…of course he did do something to make it seem like he wanted more too so I can’t blame her entirely. Katie Ashley takes you onto a new romantic tale and busts your heart right open to the tale of Emma and Aiden, a story I cannot wait to continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Fun, entertaining read!

    This is a laidback read; fun, sexy, and I can't wait for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Awesome

    This book was very well written and flowed nicely. I just wish it didn't give you such a cliff hanger at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4