Customer Reviews for

The Protector

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Is it the person or the act that makes one a hero?

Eryn McClellan has traveled the world as her family gladly follower her father's military career. She admires him, respects and the military choices he has had to make even though those choices have made her a target for a terrorist group that wants her head literally ...
Eryn McClellan has traveled the world as her family gladly follower her father's military career. She admires him, respects and the military choices he has had to make even though those choices have made her a target for a terrorist group that wants her head literally on a silver platter. The only person her father trusts to keep her safe is Isaac "Ike" Calhoun, a retired SEAL that knows all the places you can hide someone because that is what he has been doing since he left his military career behind. Ike blames himself for a choice that cost soldiers' lives even though he felt it was the right decision. Guilt drove him to where he is now and obligation to the man he served for will have him take care of Eryn.

Ike doesn't want the job but he would never say no to the man that filled the family gap that Ike desperately needed. So he goes in and literally picks Eryn and her dog up and takes her to his remote mountain hideaway. The problem is the FBI wants to keep her safe despite their loose definition of safe from using her as bait. Ike is having none of this idea and his house is safe and the security strong. No one is getting in without Ike knowing about it but the problem is not perimeter safety it is the attraction to Eryn that might get through the wall around his heart.

Ike keeps everything in check, that is how you stay alive but with Eryn's gentle ways and trusting nature he appears to be softening that stance. One touch turns to a kiss which becomes a caress and before Ike knows what has happened he finds himself risking his life and his heart to make sure no one touches her but him.

When the chase begins to identify the bad guys from the less than honorable Eryn has already picked her hero and knows that Ike may not have allot to say but the few words he expresses are genuine and true.

This is a great adventure book mixed with the perfect addition of suspense to romance which keeps you wondering what will happen next. I would have liked more in depth about Ike's family angst but everything else is exceptional.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

OK

This was not up to par with Ms Melton's prior books. Very predictable, almost read like a Loveswept or Harlequin. Def not worth the $10 for a book of only 230 pages. It had a very nice hero, and an engagine heroine but really nothing exciting about this book.

posted by Mocat on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Is it the person or the act that makes one a hero?

    Eryn McClellan has traveled the world as her family gladly follower her father's military career. She admires him, respects and the military choices he has had to make even though those choices have made her a target for a terrorist group that wants her head literally on a silver platter. The only person her father trusts to keep her safe is Isaac "Ike" Calhoun, a retired SEAL that knows all the places you can hide someone because that is what he has been doing since he left his military career behind. Ike blames himself for a choice that cost soldiers' lives even though he felt it was the right decision. Guilt drove him to where he is now and obligation to the man he served for will have him take care of Eryn.

    Ike doesn't want the job but he would never say no to the man that filled the family gap that Ike desperately needed. So he goes in and literally picks Eryn and her dog up and takes her to his remote mountain hideaway. The problem is the FBI wants to keep her safe despite their loose definition of safe from using her as bait. Ike is having none of this idea and his house is safe and the security strong. No one is getting in without Ike knowing about it but the problem is not perimeter safety it is the attraction to Eryn that might get through the wall around his heart.

    Ike keeps everything in check, that is how you stay alive but with Eryn's gentle ways and trusting nature he appears to be softening that stance. One touch turns to a kiss which becomes a caress and before Ike knows what has happened he finds himself risking his life and his heart to make sure no one touches her but him.

    When the chase begins to identify the bad guys from the less than honorable Eryn has already picked her hero and knows that Ike may not have allot to say but the few words he expresses are genuine and true.

    This is a great adventure book mixed with the perfect addition of suspense to romance which keeps you wondering what will happen next. I would have liked more in depth about Ike's family angst but everything else is exceptional.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Loved it

    Loved it! ## This is my first novel by this author, but i will be buying more. The story was great. It had intrigue, suspense and romance. The two leads were tremendous. Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    OK

    This was not up to par with Ms Melton's prior books. Very predictable, almost read like a Loveswept or Harlequin. Def not worth the $10 for a book of only 230 pages. It had a very nice hero, and an engagine heroine but really nothing exciting about this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    Love Marliss Melton's books but not so much this one

    I've read every book by Melton and loved her earliest ones. The first two stories I could read over and over again. I even have a pre-published book signed from Ms. Melton. I always look forward to her books so I was disappointed by this one.

    I didn't find Eryn particularly likable and couldn't quite see what Ike saw in her. I thought Ike as the hero was tall, dark, handsome, dangerous, everything you wanted a hero to be. I felt like I was missing something in the relationship but maybe it was just me.

    I'll continue to read all of Ms. Melton's books but this one isn't a favorite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    RATING:4.5!ANOTHER MUST READ!THE PROTECTOR BY MARLISS MELTON...

    THE PROTECTOR by Marliss Melton is an exciting romantic suspense set in present day Washington,D.C. and the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virgina.It is written with depth and details.The characters will capture your heart and will keep you spell bound.When Eryn McClellan,the daughter of a general operating in Afghanistan,is targeted by an avenging terrorist, for her father's actions in Afghanistan,the FBI steps in.But Eryn's father knows he can only trust her life with someone he trusts: former Navy Seal Ike Calhoun. Ike is a loner living in a romote cabin on Blue Ridge Mountains in Virgina,he his living in self afficted soliture.He blames himself for his team getting killed in an operation in Afghanistan. This is a fast paced story full of action,love,romance,sweet sensuality,revenge,trust,FBI,terrorist,a one man war to defend and keep Eryn safe,redemption,passion and faith. "The Protector" will have you on the edge of your seat while Eryn and Ike fight their growing attraction,try to keep Eryn safe,alive and away from the FBI,who only wants the terroist at all costs including Eryn's life.While Ike gains the strength to confront his past from Eryn he also learns to love and find forgiveness with himself. This is a must read.A keeper. If you have never read Marliss Melton,she is a powerful and talented author who not only has heartfelt stories of heros but they are realistic stories of elite warriors,the U.S. Navy S.E.A.L. "The Protector" is a wonderful story of love,facing your past, and moving forward to find love and happiness.This book was received for the purpose of review from the author.Details can be found at Createspace and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Don't miss this one

    Bestselling author Marliss Melton will not disappoint her many fans with this one! Once again she shows her incredible talent for blending the action thriller and romance genres into an explosive and powerful novel that will thrill lovers of both. The protector may be her best book yet-- and this from arguably the best writer in the genre.

    Do not miss this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    The Protector is worth the wait!

    I've waited a long, long time for the newest book from Marliss Melton and I was definitely not disappointed with The Protector. Ike Calhoun is everything readers will be looking for in a hero, and watching him grow, and develop as he learns to trust his heart, and his instincts again is only the beginning of what makes The Protector an amazing, cannot-put-it-down reading experience! Eryn McClellan is the perfect heroine and she grows to become the person we'd all want to have as our closest friend. Marliss Melton's writing will grip you from the first page, and keep you turning the pages in rapid-fire speed from the first page to the last. The Protector has everything from drama, suspense, action, romance, and and enough passion to steam up your windows!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Overreacting!?!

    About 2/3 through the book and it seems to have gotten rediculously out of hand. The FBI, supported by those in authority have completely lost sight of the real problem and created a whole other problem that really makes no sense. The victim is now more like a prisoner and her chosen protector is sought after as though he committed the crime. REALLY???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    First I have to say I loved The Protector. I've read it three t

    First I have to say I loved The Protector. I've read it three times now. Ike and Eryn are both characters that I love and want to be happy.

    Eryn McClellan teaches ESL and her father is a US General. She's targeted by terrorist because of him. The General asks former Navy SEAL Ike Calhoun, a man he trusts and treats like a son, to protect Eryn.

    Ike Calhoun has left the Navy and the war behind and is living in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Now suddenly he's responsible for keeping Eryn safe. Ike tries to push Eryn away but she's having none of that.

    Together they try to evade both terrorist and the FBI to stay alive. It's a journey that Ike needs to be able to recover from his time in Afghanistan and to be able to love Eryn. This book has a great balance between suspense and romance. Also check out her SEAL Team 12 series and the new series she's just getting ready to begin, Echo Platoon, which is coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    This was the first book of Marliss Meltons's I ever read. I love

    This was the first book of Marliss Meltons's I ever read. I loved it. The main character Ike Calhoun has some major demons to overcome after leaving the service. The one man he owes a favor to calls it in to protect his daughter from the government using her as bait to bring in terrorists. While Ike works to protect Eryn from not only his government but also the terrorists who hunt her, his tough facade slowly begins to fall apart as Eryn's sweetness penetrates his defenses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    It was my first time reading a book in this genre and I was very

    It was my first time reading a book in this genre and I was very pleasantly surprised, I thoroughly enjoyed the plot, the action and the right amount of romance for this book.

    Highly recommended read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Disappointed

    Felt like i had read this before...hero saves girl, takes her to cabin in the woods to hide her, they are found and on the run again......sound familiar? Sorry but this was not a favorite of mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Not worth the money

    Not very good. Loved her first few books but this one lacks something. Heroine irritating and story didn't flow. I don't think self-publishing was such a good idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Great Suspense Romance

    Suspense, Drama, Romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3